We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Service Ever Received”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Service Ever Received”
Reviewed October 19, 2006

My wife and I celebrated our 20th anniversary at The Lodge with 4 nights in a preferref oceanfront room. I have never received the level of true kindness and caring from any other resort/hotel in this country. They were always smiling, helpful, opening doors, asking how we were, etc. This includes staff at the hotel, the gym, the country club, the restaurants, the pool, etc.
The resort was quiet as we picked the right month and I'm sure it's not always that way. The oceanfront rooms are incredible with 2 balconies and all beach and ocean view. As an FYI..the oceanfront suites(which we originally booked) are tucked back in the corners with nowhere near the views offered by the preffered oceanfront rooms. We downgraded from the suites to a better room in our opinion and saved $50 each night.
Food was very good at The Inlet and over at the country club grillroom. We both decided we will be back here many times. We may try a room at the Inn next time just to compare-not the same view but the rooms are great and about half the price as the Lodge.
The only complaint we have is the outrageous price for golf at the 2 courses. The lagoon course is only about 5,300 yards and they asked about $150 for 18 holes and $90 for 9 holes! The Ocean course looks like a true championship course but at $240 we had to pass. We played a very nice local course(Windsor Park) for $38 each.

  • Liked — The staff and the view
  • Disliked — The walkout patios could have been cleaner
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank tdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    53
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
84
149
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2006

This should be a brief report as this was a brief trip. Simply put this property was wonderful. The resort felt very quiet and intimate the entire time we were there.

Arrival and check-in were prompt. I loved the fact that the person at the desk welcomed me by name as I was approaching. A really nice touch. Took a second to get used to not tipping because of the club fee. We ended up doing it a few times anyway.

Bit of a hike to our ocean front suite, but it really wasn't that bad and was worth it for the room. It was gorgeous! Exactly like the photo. Beautiful view of the oceanand we were right by the family pool, but it wasn't a big deal (i.e. noisy of annoying). Nothing was overlooked in our room. Bathrobes, slippers, (laid out each night at turndown along with a sand dollar and other surprises each night we were there) candles by the tub, flashlight, umbrella, water, mini kitchen - everything I'd expect at this type of resort was there.

Brunch was quite good, although I thought there could have been a few more offerings for what they charged.

Can't share much about the beach as I'm not really an Atlantic Ocean Beach fan and were there during "love bug" season. I swear, I just can't make up this kind of stuff. Dozens of black bugs flying connected to each other. It wasn't horrible, but I nixed the pool option after seeing them buzz about. We had a blast in St. Aug anyway. Went to the San Sebastian Winery Saturday evening and had lots of fun/made friends at their jazz-wine bar.

A great escape and I'm trying to figure out when we can return.

  • Liked — Beautiful, great service
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NYDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2006

This is a posh beach resort located directly on a beautiful stretch of Atlantic shoreline. As a 30-year-old couple without children, we had a delightful time over Labor Day weekend. We spent two nights...and could have stayed longer! We valeted the car and never left! It's a super-relaxing, highly romantic getaway...

The place is rather small, and although family-friendly, it never seemed over-run with loud children. In fact, they even have an adult pool with hot tub (near the bar/restaurant) and another children's pool. However, we hung out on the beach and played in the surf! We had lunch both days at the beach restaurant. For dinner, definitely make reservations at the resort's restaurant. Excellent food...we dined there both nights!

This is not a place to visit if you're looking for a late-night atmosphere. Both nights we were curled up in bed watching HBO, asleep before 11pm. This is definitely a refreshing "early to bed, early to rise" type of place. Very relaxing, very romantic, and very wonderful!

Pros:
-Our room, a mini-suite, had a jacuzzi tub and huge gorgeous shower. The room had everything you could ever think of. Candle, matches, soaps, walk-in closet, robes, slippers, king-size poster bed, tv, magazines, sofa, fireplace, window-seat, small kitchen with granite counters, outdoor balcony, etc., etc. We loved the CD player next to the bed, playing a soothing blend of music as we checked in.
-The dinners were SO good...and worth the expensive bill.
-The beach is relaxing, clean, and perfect.
-The service is top-notch. I especially liked the turn-down service with a "menu" of activities the next day left on our bed. (A chocolate on my pillow would have been nice, alas...).

Cons:
- We were snubbed in the lounge. We had stopped in for some pre-dinner drinks the first night, but the bartender seemed more interested in the "older" guests...maybe he thought we were waiting for our parents to arrive? :)

Tips:
- Bring your own boogie board and beach chair! They do rent them on the sand, but save your money if you can!
- Check out the outdoor lap pool at the gym across the street. Not nearly as crowded as the on-site pools and very nice.
-Visit the sauna, steam room, fitness center at the gym across the street...for free!
-Ask whether your room has a kitchen. Ours did, but we didn't know that and had not brought anything. Had we known the room had a fridge, sink, and microwave, we would have brought yogurt, fruit, cereal to enjoy a sunrise breakfast on our balcony.

All in all, we would DEFINITELY return.

  • Liked — jacuzzi
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ER941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeast
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2006

In my experience, the service and luxury here usually come with a higher price tag. Not that it was cheap, but we paid less than $300/night for a beautiful room right on the ocean that beats the Ritz $600/night ocean rooms any day.
Every staff member was genuinely friendly, starting with the reservations agent to Paul at the front desk to the housekeeping and grounds staff to the concierge all the way to the the bellman at checkout.
Dining was expensive. We ate breakfast once, it was really good, but it was $27, so we decided to hit the local restaurants instead. Murrey Bro's Caddyshack, Al's Pizza and Bonefish were all awesome, and there are a million other places in the area to choose from. The town of Ponte Vedra is one of cleanest and nicest in Florida.
A nice feature is the two separate pools, one for kids and one for adults. The pools aren’t huge, but we never had a problem finding a chair. There’s a nice little bar next to the adult pool where you could stay refreshed and even eat if you want.
The beach is beautiful, they groom it every morning and they rent chairs and umbrellas, kayaks and surfboards, etc. all day long.
Our room was right next to the adult pool, which was fine because we never had to walk very far, but the balcony just wasnt terribly private. If you stay here, I would ask for a room near the center of the resort, by the fountain.
The room was super. Very upscale, clean, spacious and bright. The bathroom had a great garden tub and a stand-up shower. The bed wasnt the softest thing in the world but with the window open, listening to the ocean all night, you cant help but sleep like a baby.
Two small complaints... No refrigerator in the room. I think they have them in the suites, but not in our "preferred" room. Also, parking was not really close. Of course you can get valet, but I always feel lazy doing that. The walk was not terribly far, but far enough to not like it.
Speaking of being lazy, they have an incredible fitness facility with tennis courts and a lap pool that we never visited.

Overall, we had such an enjoyable experience that we are considering becoming members. We have been all over Florida to many, many beachfront resorts, but we will be coming back to this one for sure.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Tips/Secrets — Book a room near the fountain
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank loveca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2006

Great relaxing and private getaway right on the ocean. The rooms and service both ecxeeded expectations which were high due to the cost. The dining at the hotel was was extremely expensive and also prepared to pay for many extra's. That being said if you want to getaway it's worth the money.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank atltravelbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2006

This hotel definitely deserves five stars in every category. Everything about it is high caliber and at the same time very personalized. The hotel has a beautiful Mediterranean feel; the rooms are spacious, elegant and cozy (along with excellent bathrooms); everyone at the hotel was friendly and very helpful; and, finally, the food was delicious. My wife and I had a very happy stay and can't say enough for this outstanding hotel.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris_W_Sea_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, FL
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 454 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2005

We've stayed at this hotel four times and the most recent experience was, by far, the best. Excellent staff and facilities and service above all else. Example: On a slow day, Scott, the dining room host, came over and told us about the Right Whales that actually make it all the way down to Florida in the winter to calve. You feel part of a family and an exclusive club. Will we go back? We can't wait.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank BarefootTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponte Vedra Beach
7.5 mi away
One Ocean Resort & Spa
One Ocean Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Atlantic Beach
1,054 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/O...
#3 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,511 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville / Ponte Vedra
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville /...
#2 of 4 in Ponte Vedra Beach
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonville Beachfront
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonv...
#2 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,051 reviews
6.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonvil...
#6 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
554 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte Vedra Beach-Mayo Clinic Area
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte V...
#1 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach

Property: The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach
Address: 607 Ponte Vedra Blvd, Ponte Vedra Beach, FL 32082-2782
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Ponte Vedra Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ponte Vedra Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Ponte Vedra Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Ponte Vedra Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located midway between Jacksonville and St. Augustine, The Lodge & Club is situated in the lovely seaside setting of Ponte Vedra Beach. Framed by graceful palms and rolling dunes, the intimate AAA Four-Diamond boutique hotel has charmed guests with world-class amenities and gracious service since its debut in 1989. Panoramic vistas of the Atlantic provide an awe-inspiring setting for The Lodge's 66 luxurious rooms and suites. Indulgent days are spent enjoying the Atlantic surf, shelling along the beach, swimming, surfing, cycling and sampling The Lodge's inventive cuisine. Nearby, guests have access privileges to oceanfront golf, world-class tennis and a relaxing spa. The Lodge & Club and its nearby sister property, Ponte Vedra Inn & Club, comprise the oceanfront luxury vacation experience known as Ponte Vedra Beach Resorts. Hotel guests enjoy reciprocal access to the amenities of both establishments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge And Club At Ponte Vedra Beach Hotel Ponte Vedra Beach
Hotel Ponte Vedra Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing