We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a vacation should be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Longwood, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What a vacation should be”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

From the moment you drive up and are met by the valet, you know you are someplace that values service and old-fashioned courtesy. They unpack your car and deliver everything to your room, which is spacious and romantic with all the comforts expected. Nightly turn down with seashells and chocolates, breakfast and high tea on the premises. And of course the views and sounds of the ocean from your bedroom are simply wonderful. Of course the spa just up the road available by shuttle or a pleasant walk is a nice addition to your vacation. There is golf nearby and lots of other activities, but the place is so lovely we were just as content relaxing on site.

Room Tip: Just ask-I think all rooms have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grrlboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    52
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
83
148
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
west hartford, ct
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay and appreciated the attentive staff. Thank you. The food was excellent. I do think there should be a coffee table set up in the morning! That said, I was impressed with the property and beautiful views. It's not the best place for kids since there is only an adult pool yet the staff was very friendly toward them.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnAnS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
590 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

I'm taking 10 weeks I love this place it is pure luxury!! Love the staff most have been here since I've been coming down. Extremely friendly and very professional. The rooms are large and very we'll done. The bathrooms are as big as some hotel rooms, Microtel I just did a review of one of their facilities. Beach is beautiful and not crowed nor is the pool. Food a little expensive buy very good. High tea at 3.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank CRLoveToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

After reading the glowing reviews about this place, we were looking forward to what sounded like a dream hotel. After being there, I cannot fathom people saying this place is better than a Ritz or any other 4 or 5 star hotel I have stayed at.

I am sure this place was nice --like, 25 years ago. Now, it looks tired, it feels tired, it smells tired.

Pro's:
Right on the beach. Lovely! We were there during the week when it wasn't busy, so the place was generally quiet. The staff was very nice and friendly. That's it. Those are the good points.

Con's:
Where to start:

The room: though it had a ocean view and that was awesome, the negatives far outweighed the beautiful setting. The smell: it was so mildewy and musty it literally woke me up at night. I bought some disinfectant spray and that seemed to help a small bit. The bathroom had a huge, globby spider web right by the door that was gross. How could someone possible miss this when cleaning? Everything looked and felt dated and worn. A corded phone by the commode? Really? When was this place last renovated. Everything felt like it needed a good scrubbing from the upholstery to the doors.

We stopped at the lounge and thought we would try the food there before committing to dinner at the lodge's restaurant the next night. The same kitchen services them both. We had a plate of three appetizers. The lobster cheesy selection was inedible. It smelled and tasted like the lobster hadn't been rinsed. The waiter walked past me with a tray of food for the restaurant and it smelled like 5 day old fish.

We had two beach chairs and an umbrella from the hotel. That is a great way to enjoy an afternoon. However, I can only guess the last time the chairs were cleaned. The arms were so moldy, sticky and gross, I was glad to have two towels to try to cover the areas up. Ew.

The area itself is pretty boring. We had hoped to have some nice restaurants and shops to visit. Well, thank goodness for Ruth Chris steakhouse because it was the only highlight of our trip, besides the beautiful ocean. Maybe there are things to do in other parts of Jacksonville. But near the hotel, it's pretty much a big zero unless you golf.

The only reason I am taking the time to write this review is to hopefully help someone else who is thinking this place is going to be better than some place such as a Ritz to think twice. This place is pricey. We were very disappointed after people compared this place to five star hotels. I don't get it --not a bit. It is great that so many people love it and find it a wonderful place for a retreat or for a vacation. But for me, it simply did not live up to the reviews --not even close.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gardenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey, United States
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is an excellent place to stay if you are looking for a relaxing getaway. My husband and I went for a Fr-Tuesday kid-free vacation and it was just perfect. There is not much to do around, so I wouldn't recommend to stay longer. The Lodge is great, our room #325 was perfect: nice, large bathroom, balcony looking out on the beach and king size bed. The staff couldn't be more attentive and friendly. The housekeeping was superb, actually the best of any place we have ever stayed. The beach is amazing: perfect for lounging and long walks. The water is warm and the sand is soft. The nice thing about the beach is that it is covered in shells, which makes for great sea shell hunts as you walk. We ate breakfast at the Inlet twice and it was ok, not fabulous, but not horrible either. The Oasis was ok as well, too expensive for what it was, but convenient. One thing I didn't enjoy was the drinks at the Oasis. We have ordered $45 pitcher os Sangria, and it was very disappointing. There were a few berries floating in it, it tasted of cheap white whine and the volume was laughable: we got 2.5 drinks out of the pitcher as mostly it was ice. Not tasty at all! Drinks overall were a hit or miss, I guess depending on the bar tender. At times they were great, at times I couldn't drink them at all. I didn't get to experience the spa as a day before the day I planned to go, they didn't have any availability, so make sure to book well ahead. Overall, this is a great place to stay if you are looking for a nice and quiet getaway. We enjoyed the beach so much, we are starting to look for a winter home to buy here.

Room Tip: Get the ocean front room, the views and sounds are unbelievable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilano Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is really getting to be old hat, the Lodge and Club always delivers on it's promise of service. We've stayed here several times over the years, even after we bought a house 25 min. south of the Lodge...I've seen other reviews that indicate folks have had issues that did not live up to expectations, and I don't doubt them , but it's never happened to us. We just returned from a long (Thurs-Sun) weekend trip there, and once again the staff made the experience great for us. Our room was ready when we arrived, and the folks at the front desk recognized us by name and seemed truely happy to see us return. The bell staff had our bags in the room and waiting for us when we got there, I still have no idea how they did this so quickly...With the morning grooming each day, the beach has gotten better over the years...great for long walks. Once again I can't recommend this enough...and no, I don't work for them...

Room Tip: Ocean Suite was our best choice, overlooks the pool and beach...large room, fireplace...enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnA51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We suffered from staying here on a public holiday weekend but even so the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful.
The room was great, with a fantastic bathroom and a nice patio outside with an ocean view.
Places are never at their best when operating at full capacity but this was fairly ok. Only gripe would be, with a storm imminent and having placed an order for dinner in the oceanfront patio restaurant, the only response to "what do we d if it rains" was to provide some plastic trays. Maybe a more considered strategy is needed here.
Beach is fantastic and you can walk for miles or swim/surf.
Rooms described as ocean view vary from full frontal to limited view.
Overall really enjoyed this facility though there are few alternative dining facilities within easy reach and none on foot.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a high floor true ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merv1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponte Vedra Beach
7.5 mi away
One Ocean Resort & Spa
One Ocean Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Atlantic Beach
1,041 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/O...
#3 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,500 reviews
5.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonville Beachfront
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonv...
#2 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville / Ponte Vedra
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville /...
#2 of 4 in Ponte Vedra Beach
763 reviews
6.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonvil...
#6 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
550 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte Vedra Beach-Mayo Clinic Area
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte V...
#1 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach

Property: The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach
Address: 607 Ponte Vedra Blvd, Ponte Vedra Beach, FL 32082-2782
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Ponte Vedra Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ponte Vedra Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Ponte Vedra Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Ponte Vedra Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located midway between Jacksonville and St. Augustine, The Lodge & Club is situated in the lovely seaside setting of Ponte Vedra Beach. Framed by graceful palms and rolling dunes, the intimate AAA Four-Diamond boutique hotel has charmed guests with world-class amenities and gracious service since its debut in 1989. Panoramic vistas of the Atlantic provide an awe-inspiring setting for The Lodge's 66 luxurious rooms and suites. Indulgent days are spent enjoying the Atlantic surf, shelling along the beach, swimming, surfing, cycling and sampling The Lodge's inventive cuisine. Nearby, guests have access privileges to oceanfront golf, world-class tennis and a relaxing spa. The Lodge & Club and its nearby sister property, Ponte Vedra Inn & Club, comprise the oceanfront luxury vacation experience known as Ponte Vedra Beach Resorts. Hotel guests enjoy reciprocal access to the amenities of both establishments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge And Club At Ponte Vedra Beach Hotel Ponte Vedra Beach
Hotel Ponte Vedra Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing