We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Stay, But...(only for some).”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach
Certificate of Excellence
PA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Excellent Stay, But...(only for some).”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Stayed at the Lodge for 4 nights starting on 2/18. Arrived late and bell staff, valet, and desk personnel were very courteous. Check-in was easy. Walked to room in the open air, since walkways were not fully enclosed. Room was very nice, a bit small, but accommodating. The reservation I made stated the room had a fireplace and a jacuzzi tub, but the tub wasn't there. The bell person said he could check and see if one was available, but we declined. The non-jacuzzi tub was a soaking version, very deep and comfortable. Loved the glass enclosed shower; plenty of room and excellent amenities. The bed was very comfortable; probably one of the best we've had. Temperature controls in the room worked fine and the HVAC system was fairly quiet. Since we had an oceanfront room, we took a peek and the view was excellent; a quick walk to their private beach, though public access was available off property. But due to the time of year, and the cooler weather, the beach was fairly empty. The rooms had twice daily service. We were very surprised on Sunday morning when we went for breakfast, spent about 45 minutes in the restaurant, and our room was fully done by the time we got back. This fast service was also mirrored on the other days. Odessa, you did a great job!

Only negative on the room; we found out on the 3rd and 4th night that the walls are a bit thin. Occupants in the adjacent room talked a bit loudly and the noise came through the wall. Wouldn't wake you up, but it didn't help getting to sleep.

Restaurant service was excellent; Buddy as the maitre de was an excellent representative of the fine service provided in the Innlet Dining Room. Pricing was very reasonable for breakfast and lunch and food quality was fine and prepared well. The only stickler someone may have is that an automatic 20% tip is added to your food and bar bill. You have no choice in the matter. However, overall service fully met, and even exceeded, the 20% add-on, We had no problem with it, other than the 20% tip added on to a bar bill. That seemed a bit high, unless the bar person also provided food service, which he did on several occasions. For straight drinks though, I'd prefer to allow me to determine the tip. BTW, Kevin behind the bar was also very good and another example of the excellent staff.

We can't comment on the spa, which was located at the sister property (The Inn and Club); however pricing seemed to bit higher than other comparable spa services at other comparable places (Pebble Beach, The Sanctuary at Kiawah, Skana at Turnning Stone Resort, Nemacolin, Lansdowne Resort in VA, etc.). The Health Club had a wide variety of equipment, though I missed my daily upright bike regimen (didn't have one). Most of the equipment in the main room had dedicated TVs attached and the room temperature was quite comfortable. There were the usual water, coffee, tea, towels, etc. services available and staying at the Lodge or Inn gave you free membership. The heated olympic-size pool was located next to the center and accessible through doors from the center to the pool area. Water temperature was fine, though the outside air made the overall experience a bit cold (it was 54 degrees and quite windy on the 20th). One of the adult pools at the Lodge was closed for renovations; it was supposed to re-open on 2/24, but that was not going to happen.

There is access to golf at the Inn (2 courses), but you can also arrange for golf at other area courses, inclcuding the Valley and Stadium course at TPC Sawgrass; just check with the concierge who can make the arrangements.

Overall, this was the kind of trip you're glad you made. An excellent job by all!

Room Tip: If you want a room with a Jacuzzi tub, you need to ask for it. They advertise that the oceanfront r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    52
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
83
148
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
400 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

My wife and I went down to visit for a couple of days for a little R&R - I had never been to the area, so it was something new to explore

The hotel was nice, the staff friendly, and the food was both good and very reasonable priced

Rooms was spacious and a bargain given the winter season - you are right on the beach so you can smell and see the ocean from your room

Not a lot to do in the town (not what we were there for), but plenty to do at the hotel in terms of spa, exercise, biking, etc...

Definitely give it a go if you like this kind of trip - well worth the visit

Room Tip: Book early and look for the deals on the web site - they also have package deals w/ the spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a quick birthday weekend. SO GORGEOUS. And, I had to write a review because we literally live four miles away...but, there is something so magical about being transported to The Lodge. I felt miles away from the ordinary. The views are spectacular and you can wake to the gentle sounds of the waves breaking. The fire place was just perfect to set a cozy mood as we opened champagne and sat on our balcony at dusk - watching the sun go down and feeling the cool ocean breezes. The Lodge is also so meticulously designed - a romantic respite that is intimate enough to feel like a tropical villa, yet has all the offerings of a big resort. The staff is terrific. We felt like royalty...and, we always do. All of my out of town guests and family stay at the Lodge because it's extraordinary. We have a great "getaway" four miles down the road because it is a romantic weekend without having go very far from home!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that opens doors to the courtyard. Very quaint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mbranham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

This is the perfect place for a quick weekend getaway. This was our second time at the Lodge and we were just as impressed as the first time we walked into the lobby. The location is great- right on the beach. We had a regular room last visit, but this time we upgraded to a suite and we were not disappointed. Our balcony overlooked the beach so we could sit on the couch, in front of the fireplace, and have an amazing ocean view all at the same time. Jacuzzi tub was also an added bonus. Twisted my husband's arm to join me for afternoon high tea- served from 3-4:00 everyday. That was a nice treat. Staff is so friendly, room was immaculate. Will stay here again and again when we are in the area.

Room Tip: A suite is definitely the way to go. Fireplace, jacuzzi tub, kitchenette, and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KCGator12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Very, very nice. I stayed here with my family over the Christmas Holidays. Everything and everyone was superb. The suites are roomy, there’s a walk in closet, and the bathroom is all marble. The best part is every room has a view of the ocean. The patio overlooking the Atlantic was something to cry over it’s so beautiful. The Lodge dinning was very good. Christmas dinner is something you don’t want to miss. A winter vacation here is romantic, elegant, and peaceful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randy53_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

This property is very special. The Ponte Vedra Beach area is truly a hidden gem, and the Lodge's location right on this gorgeous beach makes it a highly-desirable destination. The staff is fantastic--helpful, engaging, and committed to making everyone feel at home. The only downside is the age of the rooms. They would benefit tremendously from a face lift, especially the bathrooms. In spite of the dated rooms, the location and the staff still make me give a strong recommendation to this property.

Room Tip: Ask for room 421 with the fireplace and full beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SallyKey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

This was our first stay at the Lodge being that we are "locals". Our suite was spacious and immaculate, and the view was beautiful. The staff was so friendly and the service excellent. My birthday dinner on Sunday evening was outstanding in every way. Our compliments to the chef and wait staff (especially Eric). An added bonus is the afternoon high tea..what a complimentary treat. We will be back.

Room Tip: Resort fee covered internet service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gansclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponte Vedra Beach
7.5 mi away
One Ocean Resort & Spa
One Ocean Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Atlantic Beach
1,041 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/O...
#3 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,500 reviews
5.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonville Beachfront
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonv...
#2 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville / Ponte Vedra
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville /...
#2 of 4 in Ponte Vedra Beach
763 reviews
6.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonvil...
#6 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
550 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte Vedra Beach-Mayo Clinic Area
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte V...
#1 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach

Property: The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach
Address: 607 Ponte Vedra Blvd, Ponte Vedra Beach, FL 32082-2782
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Ponte Vedra Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ponte Vedra Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Ponte Vedra Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Ponte Vedra Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located midway between Jacksonville and St. Augustine, The Lodge & Club is situated in the lovely seaside setting of Ponte Vedra Beach. Framed by graceful palms and rolling dunes, the intimate AAA Four-Diamond boutique hotel has charmed guests with world-class amenities and gracious service since its debut in 1989. Panoramic vistas of the Atlantic provide an awe-inspiring setting for The Lodge's 66 luxurious rooms and suites. Indulgent days are spent enjoying the Atlantic surf, shelling along the beach, swimming, surfing, cycling and sampling The Lodge's inventive cuisine. Nearby, guests have access privileges to oceanfront golf, world-class tennis and a relaxing spa. The Lodge & Club and its nearby sister property, Ponte Vedra Inn & Club, comprise the oceanfront luxury vacation experience known as Ponte Vedra Beach Resorts. Hotel guests enjoy reciprocal access to the amenities of both establishments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge And Club At Ponte Vedra Beach Hotel Ponte Vedra Beach
Hotel Ponte Vedra Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing