We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Find another place...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skewers by Tento - CLOSED

Skewers by Tento
Cuisines: Brazilian, South American
Dining options: Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Find another place...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had tried the restaurant for the first time on a Friday night. Not many people there. The board outside stated two 1/2 price entrees. I asked the server about it and he was unaware of it, so I asked him to step outside and read the board. He came back and validated it. The food came after a long wait. The Jerk Pork Ribeye had too much thyme and the Braised Short Ribs were extremely dry. When the bill came, I noticed that we were charged full price on both entrees instead of the 1/2 price that we previously discussed. The waiter took the bill and had it fixed, but glad we noticed. We will not return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lindaeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    1
    0
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
256 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“But it was Fun”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

It is clearly not a Braziian restaurant. Not even close. It was overly crowded. The service was awful. The food was worse. The steak was uncuttble. The salad bar was bare. Couldn't even get water glasses. They didn't have the one we wanted. But the place was fun.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Crowd didn't ge there till late”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Drinks- decent caprihna. Service- very good even when our waiter got a large birthday party after we placed our order. Chef came out multiple times and worked the tables. Food- rib "wings" we're actually a few absolutely delicious BBQ ribs as an appetizer. The risotto under the ribs (cream and crystal hot sauce) was to die for. Coulda stopped there portion wise but we ordered the skewers. I had two meat- steak and sausage, my wife lamb and chicken. Fantastic meat and vegetables. We'll be back. Got them to serve me the crime brûlée martini in a rocks glass for dessert, it was so good i needed a second one ;)

The place was pretty empty at 7 on a Sat but by 830 the crowd had all shown up and the place was pretty full awaiting the band. Too bad the birthday guy who got up to sing mustang Sally was better than the lead singer, but that's not the restaurants fault.

Helpful?
1 Thank tuckyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLA.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“good food, reasonable price, slow service, noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Tasty skewers of seasoned meats and nice sides / salad bar. Slow service and noisy, but reasonable prices.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JOHNJAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good Eats”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

My wife and I loved it. The service was excellent and so was the food. The Manager came over to see how we were doing. They made a nice strong drink and the dessert was good too. It's only been open for a few months and I have heard of some growing pains but at least for this night they seemed to have everything figured out.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wooster68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skewers by Tento also viewed

Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
 
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
 
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing