We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorial Day Weekend Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville / Ponte Vedra
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Memorial Day Weekend Stay”
Reviewed May 30, 2007

I flew into JAX for business over the Memorial Day weekend and decided to extend my trip by a little for some R&R. After looking at the reviews on Trip Advisor, I chose to fly in a day early and stay overnight in the Ponte Vedra area. The area appeared to be about an hour+ from the airport and a straight forward, easy drive to head to the coast. I was hoping the area would be on the quiet side and interesting enough to wander about a bit with no real plan in mind. I was not disappointed and would like to go back sometime for a longer stay.

I arrived several hours well before check-in time at the Hilton Garden Inn and they immediately checked me in which was great. Grabbed a cup of free Starbucks coffee in the lobby and headed off to my room. My suite had a large balcony with table and chairs -- what a plus after being in the office, in an airplane and in a rental car! It's a definate bonus to be able to step outside and enjoy the nice breeze and sunshine, although there really wasn't "a view".

The bedroom and living room areas are reasonably large and include a comfortable bed, microwave, small refrigerator and small coffee pot, a large wet-bar type of counter, sofa, comfortable louge chair with ottoman, desk and chair, TV in both rooms, and a spacious bathroom with amenities.

The room next to mine had some noisy children for about an hour who apparently were not under adult supervision. I discovered that the walls between rooms are thin in the living area (or these kids had terrific lungs) however, the bedroom was quiet. As someone else wrote here, the tractor trailers delivering to the Publix grocery store nearby in the complex can be a little distracting, however that noise level in my particular room was negligible. Also, I could not seem to get much hot water while in the bathroom, only lukewarm.

For my very short stay, I had planned on hitting the beach for a few hours. But when I took a look at their small pool area with numerous lounges, chairs and tables and plenty of towels, it was clean, empty, quiet and sunny. So, I chose to hang around the pool.

Their staff is very accommodating, professional, attentive and friendly without being intrusive. It's nice that there's a low cost breakfast room onsite. There are many pluses to this hotel right in the complex -- several restaurants that are a stroll away, quite a number of nice shops to browse, large pharmacy and a grocery store so you can put that microwave and refrigerator in your room to good use. There is a library area with many books and a large TV near the reception desk, plus a small biz center with computers.

The standard rates are evidently a bargain for the area; if you want luxury, I'd stay elsewhere; if you need to be right on the beach, then this hotel is not for you. However, it is a comfortable stay in a quiet area, with many options very nearby for you to discover.

  • Liked — Many conveninent options within walking distance
  • Disliked — A little noisey for some
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingLady55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    185
    64
    16
    16
See reviews for
224
205
51
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 13, 2006

This was a very nice hotel, but beware of what room you choose. You could be awakened at 5:30 AM from the Publix delivery trucks.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2006

Be forewarned, if you stay at this hotel, DO NOT accept a room on the back of the hotel. The Hilton Garden Inn is adjacent to a strip mall with a supermarket that has delivery trucks that arrive EVERY MORNING at 5 AM. Some mornings a lot more trucks than others. The BEEP, BEEP, BEEPING, will wake you up as will the noise of truck doors, airbrakes, etc. I asked mgmt about it and they said there was nothing they could do (and when I asked them if they warned their guests in advance, the answer was NO). If you have to stay on the back get some earplugs.

And by the way, the one morning I was there the grass cutters showed up before 7 AM and fired up their mowers and weedeaters. If you're looking to sleep in late --- look elsewhere.

The beds suck by the way. But they do serve Starbucks in the lobby complimentary. You'll need it.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank msh305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2006

Not knowing the area, I chose this location as I had read some good reviews. The hotel is located in a beautiful part of the city just minutes away from Jacksonville Beach. The room I stayed in was clean and tidy and the staff pleasant. Free internet access was a definite plus. The hotel is next to a quaint little shopping center with great stores, a Publix and nice restaurants - all in walking distance. I'd definitely stay here again. The beaches are within 15 minutes of the hotel, St. Augustine is under an hour away, and Orlando is about two to two and half hours away. All of these locations are very easy driving to get to.

I really liked this hotel and would definitely recommend it. It's in a very nice and safe location with easy access to many things.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichelleStieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2005

We arrived Ponte Vedra Beach, "fleeing" from Hurricane Dennis in the Gulf. I called and made reservations ahead of time, but they could only accomodate us for one night.

From the time we arrived, until we checked out we were extremely satisfied with the Hilton Garden. A suite for 149 USD a night is good value. The suite was spacious, clean, quiet, had very comfortable beds and was generally nicely kept up. We were traveling with our two kids, and we therefore appreciated separate bedrooms/T.V's. If you're looking for a good seafood restaurant in the area, I'd highly recommend Aqua Grill (Sawgrass Village) right nearby.

The pool is a bit small, but the kids loved it!

We'll definately be back on another occasion!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misterjbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 4, 2005

This was my first time at a Hilton Garden Inn and I would put this hotel in line with Courtyard by Marriot. We were down for a two day weekend and enjoyed the area and hotel for a relaxing stay. It's about 18 miles north of St. Augustine just off of A1A near a golf course in Ponte Vedra, several miles from public beaches in a very nice, quiet, upscale area. There are some nice retaurants and pubs in an outdoor shopping pavillion next to the hotel in addition to a CVS and Publix.

The staff was courteous and helpful and the rooms very clean. The room was a King with a jaccuzzi. It had a small refrigerator, a microwave, a 2 cup coffee service, complimentary high speed LAN intenet access via wall jack (bring your own patch cable with standard male RJ45's). The connection was very fast and the network picked up my Windows XP Pro notebook without a hitch.

There were a few minor maintenance issues in the room that needed to be addressed. The light fixture cover in the bathroom was missing, the jaccuzzi had a missing air vent cover, and the jaccuzzi drain was cracked so that the water would drain out slowly with the plug in place. These didn't detract from the stay but were worth noting in an otherwise excellent room.

I was very happy with this hotel and will stay here again the next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 27, 2004

Ponte Vedra is a beautiful area and the Hilton was a great deal. We spend 2 nights at the Hilton Garden Inn and would highly recommend the hotel. We were able to be upgraded to a spacious suite. The rooms were clean and mostly quiet. There is a pub with a patio on the ground floor that can get a bit loud, however. So I would stay on a higher floor next time or ask for a room that is not above the pub. The staff was very nice - especially in the breakfast room. Our breakfast was excellent each day.
The hotel is only 3 miles from beach access. There are plenty of grocery stores close to the hotel.
I wish the hotel had better maps and hotel recommendations for guests. Overall, a very positive experience.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponte Vedra Beach
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/O...
#3 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,462 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte Vedra Beach-Mayo Clinic Area
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte V...
#2 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
696 reviews
8.3 mi away
One Ocean Resort & Spa
One Ocean Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Atlantic Beach
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach
The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedr...
#3 of 4 in Ponte Vedra Beach
308 reviews
5.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonville Beachfront
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonv...
#1 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,006 reviews
6.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonvil...
#6 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville / Ponte Vedra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville / Ponte Vedra

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville / Ponte Vedra
Address: 45 Pga Tour Blvd, Ponte Vedra Beach, FL 32082-3081
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Ponte Vedra Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ponte Vedra Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Ponte Vedra Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ponte Vedra Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville / Ponte Vedra 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the entrance of renowned TPC Sawgrass, minutes from beautiful northeast Florida beaches, the award-winning Hilton Garden Inn in Ponte Vedra Beach offers a unique boutique hotel experience with all the amenities and service you expect from a Hilton hotel. Of our 127 large rooms, 61 are suites, some with jetted tubs. Our unrivaled location in the middle of Florida's First Coast of Golf ensures that we're a golfer's haven, but there's plenty more for our guests to enjoy off the links. Several outstanding restaurants, a spa, and a large variety of upscale shops are within a few minutes' walk in Sawgrass Village. If you're in the mood to explore, stroll the beach at Mickler's Landing, hike Guana River State Park by trail or by kayak, or charter a boat for some offshore fishing at nearby Mayport Naval Station or Vilano Beach. Of course, you don't have to leave our northeast Florida Beaches Area hotel to find something to do. Start your day with our breakfast buffet or your own cooked-to-order breakfast. Take a refreshing dip in our heated outdoor pool or a soak in our heated spa. Get your heart pumping in the complimentary fitness center, or relax by the fireplace in the lobby library with a good book. Complimentary high speed wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel, including the business center. If you're planning a business meeting, conference, a beach wedding or social event, the Hilton Garden Inn can accommodate groups of up to 100 guests in more than 1900 square feet of configurable indoor and outdoor meeting space. Whether it's a golf vacation, a romantic Florida getaway, business travel, or a social event, the Hilton Garden Inn in Jacksonville/Ponte Vedra is your ideal destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville / Ponte Vedra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville / Ponte Vedra Hotel Ponte Vedra Beach
Hilton Ponte Vedra Beach
Ponte Vedra Beach Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Ponte Vedra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing