We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Seafood Supper”
Review of Barbara Jean's

Barbara Jean's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Super Seafood Supper”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We did a double date to Barbara Jean's. We walked in at 9:00 p.m. on a Saturday not knowing they closed at 9:00 p.m. We asked if we were too late and were immediately seated outside as that was our preference. The water view was calming and pleasant. We had the crab cakes, "she" crab soup, grilled shrimp and salmon. It was all good. Most of the food was southern style with a lot of butter and cheese. What doesn't take better with butter & cheese.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    149
    54
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Southern ,,,”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Southern cooking.... If that scares you , they do have burgers , chicken fingers and seafood ( not all fried). We"re southern but rarely eat the standard southern heavily buttered fare. Grilled tuna sandwich was good but nothing special. Kids enjoyed the burger and said the chicken fingers were like Publix. Friendly staff , nice waterfront location. Generous bread basket with spiced and cheese cornbread If you are looking for southern home cooking give it a try

Helpful?
Thank Jay509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great tasting southern cooking but good for the waistline.”
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Barbara Jean's is another quiet gem hidden in Ponte Vedra. It has great tasting southern cuisine but not good for the waistline. Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Soki816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the experience and the food”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

If you're in the mood for some terrific southern cooking, this is the place to visit. I had the Shee-Crab soup, which was fantastic. Nice and creamy with a little tiny kick to it. I also had the crab cakes, and they were very comparable to those that you get in Maryland. Not very expensive and a very casual place to visit. I will definitely visit here next time I'm in town.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank USAWelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good Southern meal”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

This was our first but surely not our last visit to this casual southern dining restaurant. The atmosphere is quaint, yet the views are georious (directly on the intercostal waterway).

My daughter said the chicken fingers were the best she had ever eaten. She loved the broccoli rice casserole as well.

My wife had the pot roast with mashed potatoes and squash casserole and I had the meat loaf. We both tried each others and found the meals to be outstanding.

The service was above average. All the servers seem to work well together. Most were young, yet all were very upbeat and respectful.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank robaconk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbara Jean's also viewed

Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
 
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
 

Been to Barbara Jean's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing