We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must for any golfer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A must for any golfer”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I went on a trip to play TPC Sawgrass with some friends and had heard that this place presented the best overall experience for stay and play. I couldn't agree more. The hotel had a small area they were renovating but other than that everything was perfect. The lobby of the hotel was really nice. If you are wondering how close the course is to TPC Sawgrass, it's literally approx. 1/2 mile from the entrance. What was probably the best part of the hotel is that it is tied to the course and everything revolves around the course which plays right into the golfer's wheelhouse. The pool was also really big and nice. Though we didn't go swimming, if you are taking a family then the kids would really love this pool. I cannot say enough about this place. The staff was very friendly and the atmosphere was great. I recommend 100%.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheasley84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottSawgrass, General Manager at Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for sharing your glowing comments regarding your recent stay at Sawgrass Marriot Golf Resort and Spa. We offer so many amenities and features onsite that it is easy for every member of the family to discover something they love to do. We were recently awarded the 2013 IAGTO Golf Resort of the Year, which is the highest distinction from the International Association of Golf Tour Operators. We’re glad you were able to enjoy all that we provide and appreciate your high recommendation. Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    269
    120
    50
    22
See reviews for
216
213
22
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We have stayed here twice now and will come back. It is a beautiful resort. Stunning waterfalls when you are out on the deck. Friendly and professional staff. Always helpful. Nice restaurants, pubs, etc.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottSawgrass, General Manager at Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
We are so grateful for your wonderful comments about Sawgrass Marriot Golf Resort & Spa. I am pleased that a visit to our property consistently provides our guests with a beautiful, indulgent getaway. As you found, our associates are committed to your comfort and relaxation, and are always available to assist you. I am glad you were able to enjoy our full array of features, including our wonderful dining. It would be our pleasure to have you join us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I spent 3 days at this beautiful resort during a work conference. When my business associate and I arrived the valet staff were very friendly and helpful with all of our luggage and expo items. The front desk staff were also very nice and upgraded our rooms and set up free wifi for us. The room was a roomy and clean suite. Housekeeping was timely and left extra towels and pillows as requested. All our meals were great. The only meal that I was not wowed by was a round of appetizers and drinks from Vernon's. My broiled oysters were cold and appeared to have not been broiled at all. On the whole I would stay here again and hope to get a chance to play a round or two of golf!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottSawgrass, General Manager at Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed review of Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa. With the beauty of the Florida coast as our landscape, we enjoy some of the best that the area has to offer and I couldn’t be happier that you agree. Our resort provides much more to take advantage of, from our outdoor pools, private Cabana Beach Club, Spa and countless recreational activities when your day of meetings is complete. I do apologize if we missed the mark with your one of your dining experiences. If there is ever anything you need, our associates are always happy to help. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again to enjoy all that we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
157 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We stay each year at sawgrass on our way to the beach for spring break. Great pool, grounds and activities for kids. Hotel underwent major upgrades to lobby and restaurants. Rooms and bathroom are spacious for our family of four. My only complaint is the service in the bar and pub . Waiters standing around and we finally just had to go the bar to place our orders. Very frustrating. Best service was out by the pool.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottSawgrass, General Manager at Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay at Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa. It is wonderful to know that you and your family come back annually. I am so glad you enjoy the upgrades we have made to all areas of our property and make good use of our pools and activities for everyone. Please know that I will alert our associates of your dining experience will be shared to ensure that service is prompt on every level. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

The exterior and interior lobbies are quite nice. Opening the front doors you are hit with a spectacular view of a lush waterfall and a manicured garden like vignette. You check-in and ask about an upgrade. Yes we do and it has a lovely lagoon view.. Nice you think. We opened the curtains in our room to see an expansive view of the roof and the walkway to the front door. Not so good and we had to pay $70.00 more per night to get this view and more space in the room. I tried to reason with the girl at the desk explaining what a co-worker had incorrectly sold us. She just smiled and asked if we would like to move. Seeing as we had already spent our extra $70.00 per night that seemed a bit futile. Nothing worse than someone who cannot or will not address your issue ,especially in a hotel! The room service was quick but the food was mediocre. If you like big portions this is the place for you. From 8am to about 4pm someone was hammering above our room. It was a nonstop water torture experience. Bang, bang, bang rest for 2 minutes then again and again until I had to literally cover my ears to relax. The room decor is a whole other ordeal. Brown plaid carpet, golf ball lamps ,( this is a golf resort ), golf ball pictures and a TV that would not swivel as needed to enable you to sit on the couch and watch. You were forced to sit in 2 upright chairs to view it. Remember this is our $70.00 per night upgraded room. The decor was brown and most certainly decorated by a corporate interior designer who was pleased as punch to rid herself of this brown inventory.
The next morning my husband had planned to go to the spa for a facial. We had breakfast in the room. Room service had neglected to read our listing of items necessary to enjoy our meal. Ever try to eat a large bowl of oatmeal with only one tablespoon.of brown sugar? Or only receive two small helpings of jelly between 2 people with 4 large slices of rye toast??Needless to say it was irratating. Before he could even leave for his appt. House keeping was banging on the door to clean.. Hold on a minute we have until 12 noon. Especially since he was going to spend a bit more money at the resort. Room service did return for the tray but when I answered her knock with "come back" she unlocked and opened the door and started to come in. When does room service personnel have their own master keys? Hmm ?

One good thing was the spa. It was lovely. My facial was beneficial, relaxing, even meditative.

We will never again stay at this hotel. To call it a resort is unfair. I suppose if you play golf and are fanatical about it this is the place for you. Wives and non-golfers beware: If brown plaid seems nauseating to you just wait til you have to live in it !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b4yougo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottSawgrass, General Manager at Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for sharing your candid feedback. Whether a guest has a positive experience or otherwise, it is always so important for us to know which aspects of a stay are well received and which may need to be addressed. I am grateful to know you valued the beauty of our public areas and enjoyed such a rejuvenating spa experience. It is truly disappointing, however, that the remainder of your time with us was not as you had expected. I can understand how frustrating it may be if any requests are overlooked and I will address the comments you shared with our associates. Please know that we always hope to provide our guests with the accommodations that would make them most comfortable. I invite you to reach out to our Resort Manager at 904.285.7777 directly if you would like to discuss your time here in greater detail. I do hope that you will consider another stay with so that we can provide you with the type of encounter you deserve as our valued guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2014

I was there for a conference and the golf was amazing, we played the stadium course and because we were 30 days away from the players cup event, we played some temporary greens which was a disappointment.

The hotel while it has undergone renovations, was lacking for a property with such high reputation. The rooms were OK, nothing special nor exceptional. The room safe was a small drawer barely large enough for my wife's wallet to be kept in the safe. Rooms were Ok, not exceptionally clean given they are newly renovated.

Paper thin walls in meeting rooms and guest rooms made it difficult to have meetings or rest as all sounds carry through to other rooms.

The $22/day resort fee only includes 2 small bottles of water upon arrival, other mariott's provide water to drink around the property and daily bottles of water.

The water smells (shower, tooth brushing, etc.) like swamp, they use heavy scented toiletries to cover it up. The water spigot at the gym had mold on it.

No service by the pool and a work out facility lacking in upper body machines other than free weights.

In our room the door lock did not work, having to swipe your card 2-3 times just to get the handle to engage while the green light to enter lite up. lights out, taps leaking, lack of hooks in the bathroom area for robes, bathing suits, etc., and the shower control to direct the water was stuck on shower only.

Shuttle service provided by hotel to beach and surrounding area was great and they were always helpful.

The beach club is nice and we would recommend you spend some of your sun time there if you are enjoying the weather. The beach club though does not have chairs for guests on the beach, private service offerings appear to have that cornered so guests must lay on a towel in the sand if not willing to fork out extra cash for the chair, padding, umbrella, etc.

Staff were amazing and of a high quality I would expect of a property like this.

Room Tip: stay away from the elevators to avoid the most noise and stay on the pool side to avoid the high pit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CFortlage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottSawgrass, General Manager at Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for sharing such a detailed review of your time with us. Our hotel name is synonymous with a great golfing experience at TPC Sawgrass and I am glad you had the opportunity to try out the course, although it is regrettable that you were unable to take advantage of the full experience due to the upcoming events. As you mentioned, our hotel has recently been refreshed, but I do apologize if you were not as impressed with your guest room or if you encountered any issues. Please know that our associates are always on hand to help and I will certainly share your comments with our Maintenance team. We do charge a resort fee and guests are able to enjoy not only two complimentary bottles of water, but also complimentary Internet, Spa and Cabana Beach Club fitness classes, two complimentary cocktails or an appetizer in our Lobby Bar, complimentary bike rental and more. Relaxing in the sun is always welcome and our Cabana Beach Club does offer beach rentals but I regret if you were unaware of this amenity. I do hope that you have the opportunity to come back and try some of the activities you may have missed the first time as it would be our pleasure to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

This place is wonderful, we stayed here towards the end of our road trip and it was just what we needed. Our room was ground floor, we had a little balcony type thing and a view of the front fountain. It was very quiet in the room and the room had all you required. They have a free shuttle service to the beach (the Cabana Club) Oh my it was paradise, we went out into the sea and had a brilliant time, sat and got a little drier and then got the bus back to the resort. We did not eat in the restaurant but we did in the on site pub, the burger is brilliant! Reasonable prices too for hotel dining. Our stay was excellent, Thank you very much.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottSawgrass, General Manager at Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your time at Sawgrass Marriot Golf Resort & Spa. We think your review is brilliant! A day by the ocean to soak in the sun’s rays is such a relaxing time and our complimentary shuttle service to our private Cabana Beach Club only further adds to our guests’ enjoyment. Alice & Pete’s Pub is one of the best places to get a bite to eat in the area. I do hope you will visit us again for another excellent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponte Vedra Beach
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville / Ponte Vedra
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville /...
#2 of 4 in Ponte Vedra Beach
740 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach
The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedr...
#3 of 4 in Ponte Vedra Beach
308 reviews
8.5 mi away
One Ocean Resort & Spa
One Ocean Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Atlantic Beach
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/O...
#3 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,462 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte Vedra Beach-Mayo Clinic Area
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte V...
#2 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
696 reviews
6.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonville Beachfront
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonv...
#1 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 1000 Pga Tour Blvd, Ponte Vedra Beach, FL 32082-3036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Ponte Vedra Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ponte Vedra Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ponte Vedra Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Ponte Vedra Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 514
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the newly renovated Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa, we provide guests all the elements for a winning stay. Accommodations range from newly refreshed guest rooms, to Premium Service Wing rooms and suites and spacious Villas with kitchenettes and patios, located in two-story buildings clustered around scenic lagoons. A spa, four pools and a variety of indoor and outdoor dining options offer choices for relaxing, indulging and mingling. Privileged access to iconic golf at the adjacent TPC® Sawgrass and to our recently renovated private Cabana Beach Club with dining overlooking the Atlantic ocean are each a quick, complimentary shuttle ride. Groups appreciate the convenience of over 61,000 sq. ft. of flexible indoor and outdoor event space, including an exhibit area, 2,500-person capacity ballroom, private beach venue and over 36 meeting rooms. Genuinely warm hospitality, a casual ambience and pleasant weather year-round await at our beautiful 65-acre resort, just 30 minutes from Jacksonville airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawgrass Marriott Golf Hotel Ponte Vedra Beach
Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort And Spa
Marriott Ponte Vedra Beach
Marriott Hotel Sawgrass

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing