We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nowhere close to what I was looking forward to”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nowhere close to what I was looking forward to”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

As a Marriott timeshare owner in two resorts I expected excellence from this very popular golf resort, what I got was a blah, boring room in villa 1700 that was far from everything. Was there for five nights, and only first day was pool weather. Jacuzzis and pool were full of leaves. Nobody available at pool cabana, and no skimmers around to clean it myself

Rooms were clean, maid service was adequate, nothing else was good about room. Elevator was slow

After 4 boring days, weather too cold and wet to golf, i booked a massage at the spa. The spa was below average, masseuse was kind but subpar, and extremely overpriced.

During work sessions for my manufacturer they served us food and drinks, and that was all better than average. Main building is much better but overall resort is disappointing.

If you must go there demand main building

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott23KTF20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottSawgrass, General Manager at Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. It can be disappointing when the weather doesn’t cooperate for a getaway. I must apologize if you were not fully impressed with what our resort has to offer during your recent business trip or if some areas were not at their best. During a rainy period, leaves and debris can scatter about, but it is regrettable to learn that our pool area was not at its best when the sun came out. Our Spa professionals always hope to provide the very best in service and desire feedback from our guests in order to create the ultimate relaxing escape while they are receiving a treatment. As you mentioned, our resort features classic guest rooms in our main building and private, villa accommodations when guests desire extra space. I hope if you stay with us again, you will allow us the opportunity to provide you with the style of accommodations you prefer. If you would like to discuss any of the particulars of your encounter in greater detail, please feel free to reach out.

Tom Manno
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    279
    123
    52
    24
See reviews for
231
221
24
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, SC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

A great property for TPC Sawgrass access with many amenities to host corporate outings or small conference events, etc. Apppears to have gone through recent renovation and rooms and facilities very much up to date. Great location/setting for social events such as wedding parties, etc...

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HOOS1ERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottSawgrass, General Manager at Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to detail your experience with us at the Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa. We provide the ideal meeting facilities in the area for not only productive business sessions, but also much needed relaxation and I am so glad to know you enjoyed your stay. TPC Sawgrass is such an amazing course and it is great to provide our guests with such easy access. As you mentioned, we recently completed a wide scale renovation of the entire property and are happy to know you enjoyed the exciting changes. I do hope you will visit again soon.

Tom Manno
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at this resort on several occasions, but on our last visit it is obvious it is in need of a refresh. As a frequent traveler, I hold hotels and resorts to their ratings and the hotel is not worthy of four stars in its present condition. The grounds are beautiful as always, but the décor is very 1990s and the bedding wasn't as comfortable as previous stays. Our television was having problem with the satellite signal and I don't know that there is enough value in the $22 resort fee. If this were a 3 or 3 1/2 stars I wouldn't be as critical, but I'm hoping this will help management give a great asset a little more TLC.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elgin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottSawgrass, General Manager at Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of our hotel. I appreciate knowing you have stayed with us on more than one occasion, but I must offer my apologies if your recent experience missed the mark for you. Our entire property has recently undergone a full renovation, but I do apologize if you were not fully impressed or if you encountered any issues with your guest room television. As you mentioned, we do charge a resort fee which includes a host of exciting amenities for our guests including complimentary Internet access as well as unlimited local and domestic long distance calls, access to our spa and group fitness classes, complimentary shuttle service to our private Cabana Beach Club, two bottles of water and two complimentary cocktails, credit toward a private lesson at the TOUR Academy and so much more. If you would like to discuss your stay in greater detail, please feel free to reach out directly, 904-280-7000.

Tom Manno
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stayed here with a fellow traveller, express purpose was to play the TPC Sawgrass Stadium Course. Staff were fantastic, rooms were recently renovated to a very high standard, we had two bedrooms with a lounge in the middle, very spacious and comfortable. its a 5 min walk to the main hotel and restaurants, the other option is to stay in the actual hotel which is above the resort in the same building. A short shuttle to the course made things easy, the pub at the resort was good fun.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slamminsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottSawgrass, General Manager at Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful review of the Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa. It brings me great pleasure to read about the many aspects of your visit that you enjoyed from our recently renovated and spacious villa accommodations, all the way to your golfing experiences. The TPC Sawgrass Stadium Course is a favorite with many of our guests and for golf lovers, something that should not be missed. Our associates will love to know that their efforts were so impressive and I will be sure to share your comments. We do hope you will join us again for another great stay.

Tom Manno
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

From the conference center, to the multiple pools, and the several bars and restaurants on premise, this is a great place to stay. Standard Marriott rooms, lots of restaurants and shopping within a short drive, Ponte Vedra Beach nearby (and they have a beach club that is included in your stay) and the TPC at Sawgrass in the backyard make this a great facility all around.

Service was quality as well...everyone who worked there was really helpful, so that added to the enjoyment of my stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottSawgrass, General Manager at Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share details about your experience at the Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and found so many of our on-site amenities to be to your liking, as well as noting our convenient location. Providing memorable service is so important to all of our associates and I am happy you found ours to be helpful. Everyone here truly loves what they do. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.

Tom Manno
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudon, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Villas have been upgraded- very nice, spacious and modern. Easy shuttle service to main hotel.
Breakfast buffet very good friendly chef!! Front desk friendly and helpful especially Louise!!
Great place to relax on a long weekend. Look forward to a return visit and spend some time at ocean pool and restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottSawgrass, General Manager at Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your appreciation for the Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa. I am elated that you enjoyed not only our friendly service but also our amazing upgrades. Our breakfast choices certainly provide many options for fueling your day. One visit to our Cabana Beach Club and you will always be a fan. Your recent stay is the type of encounter we hope for all who visit and we would love to welcome you back again soon.

Tom Manno
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here numerous times over many years and have never been disappointed! The property has recently been renovated and our room was pristine and tastefully decorated. The staff is all very well trained and everyone from housekeeping to security were friendly and helpful. Jessica at the front desk was a sweetheart and could not have been a better ambassador for the hotel. She went out of her way to make sure our stay was enjoyable and comfortable.
Although my husband did not golf on this trip, the golf courses here are top notch as are the spa and work out facility.
Whether traveling with the family or as a couple, this is a great place to stay!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KatiedooWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottSawgrass, General Manager at Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your glowing review of the Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa. We always hope to exceed expectations for each and every guest who walks through our doors. I am so glad you have mentioned our recent renovations, as we have updated all areas of the property for your enjoyment. We certainly have some amazing associates on staff and I am grateful to your pointing their service out. Golf is a favorite activity for many of our guests as is a relaxing spa treatment. We value your recommendation and do hope you will stay with us again soon.

Tom Manno
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponte Vedra Beach
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville / Ponte Vedra
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville /...
#2 of 4 in Ponte Vedra Beach
772 reviews
8.5 mi away
One Ocean Resort & Spa
One Ocean Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Atlantic Beach
1,056 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach
The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedr...
#3 of 4 in Ponte Vedra Beach
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/O...
#3 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,512 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte Vedra Beach-Mayo Clinic Area
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte V...
#1 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
718 reviews
7.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonvil...
#6 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 1000 Pga Tour Blvd, Ponte Vedra Beach, FL 32082-3036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Ponte Vedra Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ponte Vedra Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Ponte Vedra Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ponte Vedra Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 514
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the newly renovated Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa, we provide guests all the elements for a winning stay. Accommodations range from newly refreshed guest rooms, to Premium Service Wing rooms and suites and spacious Villas with kitchenettes and patios, located in two-story buildings clustered around scenic lagoons. A spa, four pools and a variety of indoor and outdoor dining options offer choices for relaxing, indulging and mingling. Privileged access to iconic golf at the adjacent TPC® Sawgrass and to our recently renovated private Cabana Beach Club with dining overlooking the Atlantic ocean are each a quick, complimentary shuttle ride. Groups appreciate the convenience of over 61,000 sq. ft. of flexible indoor and outdoor event space, including an exhibit area, 2,500-person capacity ballroom, private beach venue and over 36 meeting rooms. Genuinely warm hospitality, a casual ambience and pleasant weather year-round await at our beautiful 65-acre resort, just 30 minutes from Jacksonville airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawgrass Marriott Golf Hotel Ponte Vedra Beach
Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort And Spa
Marriott Ponte Vedra Beach
Marriott Hotel Sawgrass

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing