We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Seafood and Service in Pompano Beach”

Malulo's International Seafood
Ranked #76 of 358 Restaurants in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding Seafood and Service in Pompano Beach”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I am always looking for good seafood restaurants and usually have to travel 20 -40 minutes from Pompano to get good seafood. While I saw the good review about Malulo’s in Tripadvisor, I was skeptical. Well they are right. The food was delicious and the service was more than I could expect. We did not know the restaurant closes at 6:00 pm on Sunday and even though we arrived at 5:50 they sat us down and spend the next 15 minutes helping us order the food. Since my trip last year to Portugal, I was looking for some Octopus. The waitress recommended an appetizer that was spicy, while not over powering. The seafood stew was delicious and it had so much seafood, I had trouble finishing. Can wait to go back again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TNTravel73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    22
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“GEM”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My wife and I stopped in for lunch the first day of our trip. We would never have stopped, had it not been for the raving Trip Advisor reviews. The decor is nothing fancy but cozy and simple. The waiter was very friendly and asked if we had any questions. This was welcome as I was not all that familiar with the cuisine. The food was OUTSTANDING. Fresh, delicious and unique. We shared a seafood empenada and a cilantro/chicken appetizer. I had the seafood pallea and my wife had a seafood soup. Both were full of flavor without being too heavy.

We would definitely go back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Leo Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding -- a highlight of visit to Pompano. I felt at home and loved the food.”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I was visiting Pompano and decided to try Peruvian cuisine -- brand new to me. The room was welcoming and I received a big smile when I arrived. The waiter walked me through the menu ... he offered suggestions suited to my preferences. It was hard narrowing down my choices, but the crabmeat and Peruvian potato appetizer plus the Peruvian version of paella fit the bill. Large portions, fresh and plentiful seafood, and a refreshing Peruvian beer to wash it down. A most pleasant meal and a highlight of my brief trip. I wish I had had time to return -- there was much on the menu that appealed to me. I felt at home, wasn't rushed, and look forward to my next meal at this delightful, friendly restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DanTorontoOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
100 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful Seafood”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This was our first visit, and we decided to try the seafood rather than the Peruvian selections. The seafood was excellent. Everything had a very fresh taste. Prices were reasonable for the high quality of what they offer. This was a Saturday evening and no reservations were needed. We arrived about 6:30 pm, and the service was great. They got much busier, and about 7:30 all the tables were filled and there were a few people waiting to be seated. They could have used another server.

We will be back are are looking forward to trying the Peruvian selections next time..

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dj1766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level Contributor
491 reviews
431 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“We had never been to a Peruvian Restaurant before....”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My lady and I went there for lunch the other day (1/18/2013) Lots of seafood on the menu lots of ethenic recipes as well. We decided on the Octopus appetizer and a seafood soup. We both appreciate good food and can cook as well. Malulo's was exceptionally good. Our waiter was attentive, knowledgeable, and helpful. We had a couple of very good Peruvian beers to go with our meal. I must give kudos to the chef as well. This dude knows how to reduce a soup stock and make it complex. It ain't cheap to do, so I understand the price isn't going to be $5, but this soup, split between us and taken home for another meal was outstanding. Try the Peruvian flan as well.. it is outstanding. We'll be back!!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ciaotebaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malulo's International Seafood also viewed

Pompano Beach, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 
Pompano Beach, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 
Pompano Beach, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 

Been to Malulo's International Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing