We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“good value for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good value for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

my kids and I stayed here for a few days before going on a cruise. The rooms were dated, but clean with a programmable safe and a small refrigerator in the room. The layout was admittedly odd, but didn't effect my opinion. The bathroom was also dated, with what appeared to be a recent visit from bathfitters. It was rated as a 3 star and I think that was spot on. The restaurant was ok, but we only ate there once. Toward the weekend, it got a little loud as my balcony was over the poolside bar. Since it is a marina as well, boats pull up by the dock adjacent to the pool for those looking for a drink and a meal...I had a partial ocean view despite being a block away from the beach; This by far was the best part of the stay. It being only a block from the Pompano Beach, meant that it was a short walk, so we didn't have to pay for parking. The beach was absolutely gorgeous and in itself was worth the stay. There is a Walgreens and a CVS near by (CVS is a short drive, but Walgreens was an easy block and half walk) where you can get your sunblock and other necessities at realistic costs, including cheap snorkeling stuff. In the end, I had a decent stay with friendly staff and I would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    117
    37
    10
    28
See reviews for
96
127
21
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Great view of inter coastal and ocean. Only block from beach. Go to the beach and then come swim and eat at patio bar while boats ride past you on inter coastal.
Great friendly staff and extremely helpful.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The hotel is not a five star but the view from my 6th floor room was out of this world. I could lay in my bed and watch the bridge open & close while boats plied back and forth all day long. It is priceless in that regard. I had a room with a kitchenette which came in very handy because I could fix breakfast or lunch, or even warm up leftovers from dinner. Most restaurants serve good portions and if you are not staying in a place with a microwave, your doggie bag goes to waste.

Staff was helpful, and the room was always fresh and clean. I was able to get Wi-fi everywhere which was great. The location was perfect, it was close to just about everything, Church was less than ten mins away, the beach is mins away. I went to Hillsboro beach, but there are so many others across the street.

One important thing to remember is that you need a lot of quarters for the meters everywhere you go including the beach. Parking is an adventure. Also, the Sands hotel does not provide beach towels or beach chairs, you pay about $11 an hour for a nice comfortable beach lounge wooden chair and umbrella.

Pompano is hopping, you can go anywhere and everywhere in less than half an hour, in every direction, north or south. You can walk to get the best rum & raisin ice cream in Fort Lauderdale, and sit on the bench enjoying it with a fantastic view of the ocean.

I was there to purchase a house in Coral Springs and found it very convenient. I explored quite a bit of the surrounding area and even though I will reside in Coral Springs, I will utilize the beaches in Pompano. It was amazing to see how many boats pull up at the Sands for bar food and drinks. Overall, I enjoyed staying at the Sands. After all a vacation is to go out and enjoy, so much of my time was spent enjoying the sights, sounds and ambience that South Florida had to offer.

After a day that included a trip to Las Olas Blvd or the beach, being exhausted when I got back to the hotel, I was able to make myself a refreshing cup,of tea, sleep in a nice clean bed and look forward to the next day of exploring. It's a nice clean place with a view to die for on a budget that would not break the bank. Go for it, it's worth it!

Room Tip: Corner suite has amazing views. Elevator works fine so anything from the 6th fl up has awesome balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trini847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Went down for a for pre-anniversary celebration and dive weekend.
A+ on the location, right on the Intercostal Waterway, 2 blocks to beach, really walkable in fact, and east to I95. Killer view from 8th floor.
Facility is an older building but, for the most part, well maintained, we really liked the colorful paint job they did, perfect for the setting. Surprised that we didn't have a frig or microwave.
MUST go by the outside bar and pool and watch the boats go by, morning and sun sets, all great. Didn't try the food but it looked good, the mixed drinks were good. Get jumping at night, fun place.
Staff were all friendly and professional.
Will definitely return here. thanks folks.
Recommended by dive school, glad they did.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardHFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugerties, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Great view and pool, bar and restaurant on the inland water way with a good view. It is dated but clean. Ask for a room with a refrigerator and microwave. Although they said all rooms have wifu the wifi did not work from the room of all our 17 peoples rooms. We had to go to the lobby to use it. The restaurant had bar food at a bar food price. A two block walk to the beach. No breakfast available at the hotel, we had to walk a few blocks for breakfast. It is a 300 ft or so to the SCUBA diving boats and you get a reduced rate if you are diving. If you are morning diving you should bring a breakfast to eat before diving, thus the microwave and frig. If diving take the SCUBA Time boat.

Room Tip: Request a refrigerator and microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackhatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were booked for 3 nights and ended up checking out after 1 night. When booking we were told because he is in a wheelchair he wouldn't be able to shower ( no roll ins) this was ok, as we were told he could get in the bathroom to wash. Upon arrival he was unable to roll into the bathroom, the staff insisted that his chair was too wide, and they were grandfathered in with handicapped regulations, and that all the rooms were the same (THRESHOLD TO BATHROOM) I was very upset, he is injured Marine, A 35 yr old paralyzed veteran. His chair is smaller than the average wheel chair. It's custom made. The staff were non apologetic about their rooms situation. Being "GRAN FATHERED IN AND ALL". If your in a wheelchair beware. And if your a disabled vet they don't give a s***... Thank god we booked through a third party so we were able to get 2 nights reimbersed... All rooms should be up to handicapped codes and standard regulations... btw the room also smelled like roach spray, in Florida that is some times unavoidable..

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

If u don't mind a non updated hotel then this place is great!!
The hotel bar is fabulous n loads of fun whole watching the boats cruise up n down the intercostal !!!
Food is bar food but delish!!! Pool for dipping n drinking at the bar and local music n djs make it a fun lil place !!!!
Lots of locals here at the bar and bar staff is very friendly n fun!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Butterat68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pompano Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
0.4 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort in Pompano Beach, Florida
0.6 mi away
Pelican By The Sea Motel
Pelican By The Sea Motel
#12 of 37 in Pompano Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
#3 of 37 in Pompano Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,196 reviews
1.2 mi away
No photo provided
0.9 mi away
Sea Horse Motel
Sea Horse Motel
#4 of 37 in Pompano Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach

Property: Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach
Address: 125 N Riverside Dr, Pompano Beach, FL 33062-5026
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Harbor is the complete Florida resort that includes 3 popular restaurants and a full service marina with fishing charters, snorkel & scuba diving trips, small boat and jet ski rentals plus monthly boat trips to tour the historic Hillsboro lighthouse. A million dollar renovation was just completed in 2014 that includes many improvements to our Superior rooms, a beautiful new public lobby and more. Come enjoy the best waterfront views and the friendliest staff in beautiful Pompano Beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing