We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT a three star, false advertising!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
AL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NOT a three star, false advertising!!!!”
Reviewed September 16, 2009

The beautiful pictues on there website are very misleading. We were put in a very old NOT updated 2 story hut. Old cabinets, small no frills bath (with dead bug), stained ceiling tiles, rusty nails, dirty walls. NO elevator and we were on the 2nd floor and no help offered by staff. Food was TOTALLY over priced!!! 2 horrible hot dogs w/mustard on paper plate $14.00 - no drinks, chips, nothing. Breakfast for 2 over $40. That is ridiculous for toast and eggs!!! The only reason to stay here is if you get it for free and it is a very short walk to beach.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rlsRDU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachjack, Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this review, October 14, 2009
We at the Beachcomber Resort want to take a moment to thank you for your comments and to let you know we value your opinion. We strive to "WOW" each and every guest and hope to have an opportunity to host you and yours again. Kind Regards, The Beachcomber Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    455
    191
    72
    61
See reviews for
392
572
50
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2009

Our room was larger than the usual. It had 2 dbl. beds, large walk-in closet with ironing board and iron, nice bathroom with hairblower. We also had an armoire with TV, safe and coffee maker with coffee. Also had a small refrigerator. Nice easy chair with ottoman for relaxing and reading or watching TV. It was not an ocean front room with a balcony. The service was very good if something wasn't working. Also, had small signs to be used for replacing linens, if desired. It is an older hotel but is maintained very well and kept clean. The outside amenities were great. 2 pools, an outside bar, and the beach right there. Easy traveling access.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gr82sum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachjack, Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this review, October 14, 2009
We at the Beachcomber Resort sincerely thank you for your nice comments about our hotel. We are most pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to a return visit soon. Kind Regards, The Beachcomber Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2009

I stayed at the Beachcomber in August 2009 with a family party of 7yr twins and a 16 & 17yr old. We arrived a day late due to a mix up with out flights so i called the hotel to make them aware of this. They were very friendly and accomodating and the next day when I arrived, they remembered me and my call and had held our room for us. It was one of the villas by the second pool and was conveniently located by the carpark gate for guests.

The room was clean and the location was great for friends and family to visit. Everything we requested they made a good attempt at helping us with. It was clean and friendly, all the children staying on resort felt safe to move around unaided. Everyone was friendly, the guests and staff and the room was kept clean.

The grounds were very pretty and we would definately stay there again at the drop of a hat. Good value for money and they were very flexible, and made us feel comfortable. The free carpark was a treat and it is near Atlantic Blvd, a busy place full of shops and there are 2 local Publix stores nearby.

We stayed for 4 nights (which should have been 5) on the way to a cruise holiday.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JazziMarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachjack, Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this review, October 14, 2009
We at the Beachcomber Resort are thrilled with your comments about our hotel! We strive to "WOW" each and every guest and it sounds like we achieved our goal with your visit! Please come back and stay with us soon! See you at the Beach! The Beachcomber Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

We stayed at this hotel in May of 2009 for 1 night the hotel was a bit weird especially the lobby but the ocean front view more than made up for all the negatives. We decided to give it another try and booked an Oceanfront Room for Labor Day weekend, we were downgraded without being notified because those rooms were sold out. The staff was not helpful at all and expressed no interest in resolving the situation, we had to cancel our reservations and book another hotel with very short notice. Needless to say, we will never be making plans to visit the Beachcomber again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmm879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachjack, Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this review, October 14, 2009
We at the Beachcomber Resort sincerely thank you for your comments. We strive to exceed the expectations of all our guests and it sounds like we fell short of our goal with your stay. We hope you will give us another opportunity to show you we care and we want to make your next stay with us wonderful! Kind Regards, The Beachcomber Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

This was my 4th visit in 12 years but the last one must have been about 8 years ago when the Beachcomber was still part of the Best Western chain. The difference was huge with regards to the lack of upkeep of the rooms. We stayed in room 230, a suite, which hadn´t been cleaned properly as we found the previous guest´s clothes in one of the drawers. Maintenance had to come and change our shower nozzle as practically no water came out. Walls were stained and the bathrooms were not sufficiently cleaned every day. One very important aspect that has changed is that now even though rooms have a kitchenette (only microwave and fridge) and plenty of cupboard space there are no cutlery, plates or glasses to use ! That was a plus before and one of the main reasons I wanted to return to this particular place instead of a regular hotel. Alas! no longer. Front desk staff was generally friendly as well the restaurant and pool area.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGB2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachjack, manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this review, October 14, 2009
We are so happy you have been a return guest to our hotel four times! We sincerely thank you for your patronage. We thank you for your comments and want you to know they are duly noted and will be responded to in appropriate fashion. We value your business and want you to come back for a fifth stay so we can "WOW" you! Kind Regards, The Beachcomber Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2009

I disagree with previous postings. The location is nice but the rooms are awfully small. If you choose to stay here make sure you request double beds upfront, as once you prepay you are stuck in whatever they put you and they will deny any changes. We did not find the management staff friendly. We requested an additional chair to the room, which we have yet to receive a week later. The shower leaks all the time. We found two flying roaches in the room. The towels are not replaced daily (you are always missing wash cloth or face towel). Location is nice, room prices are low now. Beware, you get what you pay for. If you have a few extra bucks, find another place.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dissappointedcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachjack, Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this review, October 14, 2009
We at the Beachcomber Resort kindly thank you for your comments and want you to know they are noted and will be addressed. Our goal is to exceed the expectations of all our guests and it sounds like we fell short with your stay. Please give us the opportunity of showing you the best of the Beachcomber and return soon. Kind Regards, The Beachcomber Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick NJ
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2009

We arrived (our two teenagers and myself) on Sunday 8/9/09 at about 10:30 am at the BeachComber to spend a few days getting them SCUBA certified. Check in was 4pm! And no amount of begging would change their mind. So we went to Plan B--go to Scuba Shop with all our stuff in the rental car. After an afternoon of pool instruction (about 5PM) we returned to BeachComber, were checked in to our double/double room which was dated (worn rugs/old TV/old furniture/and cabinets in kitchenette that looked "ugly") but adequate--since we didn't plan on spending a lot of time in room--balcony nice (4th fl)but "yelling Russians" next door--ice machine only ground floor, hotel restaurant expensive and not open for dinner---not enough parking on site--curt desk staff--stay was ok for price ($92 plus taxes) in this off-season August/watch out "in season"

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPTESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachjack, Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this review, October 14, 2009
We at the Beachcomber Resort thank you for your comments about our hotel. Our check in time is normally 3pm and we are sorry you were unable to be checked in promptly. Our goal is to exceed the expectations of our guests and it sounds like we fell short on your stay. We value your business and hope you will come back and visit us again so we can show you the best of the Beachcomber. Kind Regards, The Beachcomber Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pompano Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort
#4 of 38 in Pompano Beach
635 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oceans Beach Resort & Suites
Oceans Beach Resort & Suites
#25 of 38 in Pompano Beach
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach
1.4 mi away
Wyndham Sea Gardens
Wyndham Sea Gardens
#18 of 38 in Pompano Beach
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Resort and Villas

Property: Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Address: 1200 South Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL 33062-6609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachcomber Resort and Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Beachcomber Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Resort And Villas Hotel Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Hotel Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Resort Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Resort Villas
Pompano Beach Beachcomber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing