We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place...good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We had never been to Pompano Beach before and found ourselves needing a one night stay prior to our beachfront stay in Hollywood. We found this on the internet in the car. My wife called and they had a room!! Staff was wonderful in all areas. We ate dinner on the beach and breakfast on the deck by the pool. Everything was wonderful. The hotel is a little dated, but everything was spotless. We had a 6th floor room directly on the ocean and it was very nice. Dinner was a little pricey but very good. Breakfast was reasonable and excellent. Pool area very clean. Parking can be a little difficult, but we had no problem. All in all, we would go back if in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NDfan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

644 - 650 of 1,415 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2014

My sister and I visited the Beachcomber for lunch poolside and enjoyed a delicious meal complimented by friendly service and a beautiful location. Locals and visitors; don't miss this beachside gem. Great location!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOBrienIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We were somewhat disappointed with our recent experience at the Beachcomber. It was so important for us to have a nice room and we paid a couple of hundred dollars for an upgrade from the European rooms which we had heard are really inadequate. We had an ocean view (more like pool view) room on the second floor. We requested oceanfront and offered to pay the difference. We were told that we would probably be accommodated after the weekend as they had a wedding on the property. There was a note in our room that they were closing off several areas of the hotel and pool area for the wedding - ("Sorry for the inconvenience") Despite repeated requests, we never did get a room change. The air-conditioning unit was really loud and our toilet broke down and flooded the bathroom. My husband took care of the immediate situation and they were quick to fix the problem after that. There was only one ice machine in our building and it was out of order the whole week we were there. We were told we could get ice at the restaurant which was inconvenient. One time we went into the restaurant to get ice and a manager rudely told us to get our ice from the Tiki bar. We told him that the Tiki bar was sending everybody to the restaurant to get ice. He was quite angry about that and said he was going to let them hear about it. Seriously, it takes a week to get an ice machine fixed and then you have to deal with the staff bickering about where people should go to get ice? Not acceptable but when you're on vacation you should just roll with things. One of the bartenders was putting out the rumor that everybody fills there coolers from the ice machine and it was just out of ice. Not so. It had an "out of order" sign on it and we saw techs there at least twice. For the most part the staff were very nice. One morning we went for breakfast and it took well over an hour. We weren't complaining but a new server was going up to every table and instead of apologizing for the long wait, she was telling everybody, "you have to realize we have a whole hotel to feed." We just took it in stride. Minor annoyance but a wrong approach on her part. I'll continue with the cons to get it out of the way and then move on to the pros. I don't think they should charge so much for beach chairs, beach cushions, umbrellas, cabanas, etc. They overprice something that you shouldn't be charged for in the first place unless I'm just used to Mexico. They also make it difficult to keep track of your charges. They ask for your room number every time you purchase a meal, drinks or beach chairs. We wanted to pay by credit card and thought we did with the exception of the one sandwich & two drinks we had on the beach. However, when we checked out, we had charges of $120 that were charged to our room. We have no real way of tracking this because we would have to prove what we ordered or didn't order. We were aware of this practice due to other reviewers but still got stung by it. They also charge your credit card $70 when you check in for "incidentals" and say that they will return it to you at the end of your stay if you don't use it. This whole form of payment made us uncomfortable. We're not cheap at all but we don't want charges to the room or on our credit card without our consent and agreement. If you don't want your sheets changed daily there is a card that you put on the bed that I'm sure you're all familiar with so we can all help out with the environment. We didn't put the card on the bed right away but it didn't matter because they are definitely not into changing sheets. We had to ask for the sheets to be changed during our one week stay and that only happened once. (We had sand in the bed). Stingers across the street is a great place to eat and they deliver to the hotel. The food is good and much more reasonable than the prices at the Beachcomber (although the Beachcomber had a really good turkey, ham & bacon croissant sandwich that you can easily make into two meals). Stingers is also a fun environment. It's a bar, but they serve breakfast, lunch & dinner and sell off-sale liquor. There is a convenience store right there also. The Beachcomber is well-kept. People are bustling around all the time cleaning things up. The pool that is not the main pool was dirty though. It seems like the Beachcomber is trying to be high end but doesn't want to put the money in to make it high end. They have a ways to go. It has a nice beach and is in a good location. I see potential if they step up. Again, most of the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Steve at the Tiki bar is wonderful and so helpful as far as tips on where to go and what to do. We really enjoyed him. I probably wouldn't be grousing as much if we didn't get such a crappy, musty room. Part of the problem may have been that we booked the flight & hotel through Orbitz. I'm not sure about that though because we offered to pay for a further upgrade so I don't know why that would factor in. All in all, I wouldn't stay there again. It was boring. What sounded like elevator music was the daily entertainment. If you are elderly or even a family with small children you would have a more pleasant experience than we had. There are so many other places to choose from. I guess we're a little spoiled from so many out of the country, all-inclusive stays where if you want an oceanfront room, you've got it and you don't have to worry about charges to your room. :) My advice is that you make the most of wherever you go which is what we did. I guess it just depends on what you're looking for. I tried to line up the oceanfront room ahead of time and they wouldn't do it. Oh well, it is what it is and it wasn't great but it wasn't that bad either.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Sollymama_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Just came home from a little road-trip in Florida an this became our favorit hotel :) 2 nice-sized clean pools, The rooms ( we had about 4 different rooms ) were perfekt! clean,big,and very comfy beds. The balconys where perfect facing the ocean or the pool ( afternoon sun) with 2 nice sunbeds. The personal where great! fixed everything with a smile :) restaurant both inside and outside..and amazing to sit by a table with your feet in the sand and eat, facing the ocean. we loved this hotel and will defenite come back. But! not much is happening close to the hotell,you need a car.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zara1051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

On first glance I was not too impressed with the look and feel of this hotel. Older than I expected the lobby area is in need of a major face lift. However, after a day or so, none of this nattered, We stayed 17 nights and could have stayed longer. The room we had was on the 8th floor facing both the pool and the ocean. It was very large with a separate kitchen area and dressing area. The balcony was fabulous, large enough to hold the two very comfy lounge chairs which were there. The king sized bed was extremely comfortable. The pool/beach area was just beautiful and very well appointed with lounges. There were also table and chair combos for a delicious breakfast or lunch poolside or oceanside. The staff was so accomodating for anything you might need. The hotel reverberated with a warm family feeling. Other guests were friendly and welcoming and most had been coming to this resort for several years. I would go back in a minute if the opportunity arose.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing the pool/ocean are recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RBFToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

The hotel grounds are beautiful and extremely clean. Steve at the Tiki Bar is just a super guy and our waitress Judy was awesome. Food was great and the setting can't be beat. I really like the option of having lunch right on the sand or under a new Tiki Hut. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jinx222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed at the Beachcomber Resort and Villa the day after a cruise because we had an early flight out in the morning. Pompano Beach is a little out of Ft. Lauderdale - but I think that is why the price is right. We had a premium room that faced the ocean and it was wonderful! The view is amazing and the mood of the whole place is friendly and serene. It is an older hotel that has been remodeled but still has character. The staff is amazingly helpful! What did they do to make our one day there perfect? We got there at 11:00 - check in wasn't until 3, however, they stored our luggage, took our number and told us they would call when ready. They told us we could change in their bathroom area by the pool, gave us towels and enjoy ourselves. They also booked a shuttle for us at 4:50 in the morning (which both they and the shuttle driver confirmed) that was 20.00 dollars cheaper than the service that took us from the terminal. There is a computer in the lobby where I printed our boarding passes. So we proceeded through the atrium into the beautiful pool area. The grounds are lovely! The vegetation and flowers, palm trees are beautiful! There is a small bar to one side where a bunch of people sit around all day enjoying each others company...the bartender has been there forever and is quite an interesting character who can mix a great drink. (The Key Lime margaritas are AWESOME!) We changed and the kids swam the whole day. There is a second pool in the cabana area we didn't use, but looked as nice. There are rooms all around the pool with private patios with lounge chairs. Everyone was super friendly and the guests all chatted with each other. There are white tables around the pool, which are perfect for parents who want to sit, drink and eat while the kids have fun and swim. They also serve food to the chairs around the pool. There is a nice restaurant inside and a thatched pavalion where they serve food outside beachside. There are also tables right on the beach. There is a beautiful beach with chairs, umbrellas and sun protectors you can rent. There is also an area with chairs and hammocks. I took a nap in one under a palm tree. The wait staff was also very friendly! We had an amazing lunch - the food was top notch! We tried the coconut shrimp, chicken quesadillas (with mango salsa and carmalized onions) - all great! We had room 612. We paid for a premium oceanfront I requested a higher up one at the reccomendations of others - and wasn't disappointed. I think these and the pool side rooms are the best. The interior of the room was dark - but the balcony was awesome! It was a big room, with a kitchnette area, changing and bathroom and bedroom area. The bathroom wasn't well ventilated, but it was very clean. We went across the street in the evening to a pizza place, which was perfect for the kids. At night they had a guitar player and the umbrella tables on the beach were lit up. It was very nice! We really did have an amazing day!

Room Tip: Choose a beachfront or poolside - request a higher level for the beachfront if you want to see the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jzerilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pompano Beach
1.9 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach
1.8 mi away
Plunge Beach Hotel
Plunge Beach Hotel
#9 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach
0.3 mi away
Sea Steps Suites
Sea Steps Suites
#8 of 38 in Pompano Beach
53 reviews
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Resort and Villas

Address: 1200 South Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL 33062-6609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range: $172 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachcomber Resort and Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beachcomber Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Resort And Villas Hotel Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Hotel Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Resort Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Resort Villas
Pompano Beach Beachcomber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing