We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice would stay again”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stayed here for five days with a friend of mine. The hotel was nice- the decor is dated as several other reviews stated but it serves its purpose. We stayed in one of the rooms facing the smaller (not heated) pool. We liked this spot however the cleaning staff parked their cart outside our room and they started cleaning early. Every day they were out there by 7 or 730. Says something about the cleanliness of the hotel however it would have been nice to sleep a little later on our vacation. The staff was wonderful, very helpful with recommending restaurants and places to go, especially because it rained for the first few days of our trip. I found this hotel to be centrally located only about 15 minutes outside of central ft lauderdale. Definitely rent a car if you are staying here. There is a nice area about 2 miles away with bars and restaurants that are really good/nice which is very convenient. My only other complaint was that they were putting sand on the beach while we were there so there were construction vehicles passing right in front of the hotel all day and we were restricted to where we could go on the beach- would have been nice to know but not a huge damper to the trip. Also shout out to Louis and Javier at the pool- they are the best. All of the staff was very friendly and helpful, the waitresses at the pool are great. That being said the heated pool was wonderful for January- I'm sure that the non-heated is nice for the summer. The food at the hotel was very good, they serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. Overall I would definitely stay here again, but know when you are coming that the decor is slightly dated but that does not damper the stay.

Room Tip: The room facing the smaller pool was very nice we had views of the ocean however it seemed to be the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mfavs13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    451
    190
    71
    61
See reviews for
388
567
50
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We have been coming to the Beachcomber for at least the last 25 years. I have nothing but fond
memories of the place and all the lifelong friends we have made. HOWEVER: some things have changed for the good , others for the bad. The new ocean front Tiki is delightful. Finally having a place to eat right in front of the ocean., however the construction was ill-timed. Doing this kind of work during the xmas holidays with no notification to guests was not wise. It was very dusty and noisy. The food is very good, but the menues are limited. No baked potatoes? No ice cream? The "FAKE COFFEE" MUST GO!!!!!!!!! How can a beachfront resort NOT have fresh ground coffee? Kudos to the restaurant and pool wait staff: Judy, Sharon, Kim, Joleen, Francoise and all the staff make you feel like family. Let's talk about the rooms. The cleaning is to say the least, minimal and poorly done. The rooms are in dire need of upgrading. Seeing mold in the bathrooms is just not cool. I suggest bringing the colors of your lobby into the rooms and getting rid of all that HEAVY DARK furniture. Considering this is a NON SMOKING facility, I suggest guests respect that FACT!!!! Do NOT smoke in the rooms or balconies. If you can't manage to do this, go SOMEWHERE ELSE!!!!!

Room Tip: Pool front ocean view upper to middle floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SedonaSoul1553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We understand that the beach reconstruction is not a project being done by the hotel. However, the hotel could have notified us, prior to our arrival, of the work and let us make the decision if we wanted to vacation in a work zone.

When we checked in on Saturday December 21, 2013 we were not informed that beach reconstruction work was being done right outside of the oceanfront room that we had reserved. When I called the front desk to ask about the construction, I was told that they would stop that day and not return until after the first of the year. At that point, we said to ourselves okay, at least we'll have the beach back for the rest of our stay.

On December 26, 2013 at a little before 7am we were woke up by the sound of heavy equipment as the beach reconstruction project had started again, this continued until sunset. We were not able to enjoy our oceanfront view nor were we able to walk on the beach, as we did not want to risk our safety by walking in deep ruts and dodging heavy equipment.

When we checked out on December 27, 2013 we let the front desk know of our disappointment that we had not been told about this beach reconstruction project and how it had diminished our enjoyment of the beach and ocean on our vacation. We were told that it was not the hotel's fault and that they were not going to offer us any compensation (I had not asked for any compensation). I said we'd called the front desk from our room on December 21st we were told the construction would stop that day and not start again until after January 1st. Staff responded that they didn't know the work would start again, before the first of the year, until the workmen arrived on December 26th. We also found out from staff that the project is scheduled to last until February 2014. Staff said that they could do nothing for us as it was not the hotel's fault and we should contact the hotel manager.

When the construction wasn't going on, we had a beautiful quiet view of the ocean, in a hotel that needs to be updated. When the construction was going on the purpose of our vacation, to have a quiet oceanfront view and to enjoy the beach was taken away.

On December 22, 2013 I called the desk to let them know that one of the cushions on the chaise lounges did not have ties. They said that a new one would be sent up. When we went out that morning, we took a list to the front desk of things that needed to be done: replace the chaise lounge cushion without ties, replace screws in two drawers of the chest of drawers as they were either loose or missing, and the hot water faucet handle in the kitchenette had fallen off because a piece was missing. We also asked for coffee mugs and paper towels. We were told that the replacement chaise lounge cushion was on its way. We were told to stop by the desk when we returned and Brian would give us some paper towels. We were also told the hotel couldn't provide coffee mugs because these would need to be sanitized and wrapped because of law. It was suggested that we go to the dollar store and buy our own coffee mugs. Of all the things on our list, the only thing that was addressed was that Brian offered us paper towels on our return. When, we checked out, I mentioned that nothing was fixed on the list I'd given on December 27th; the response was that the front desk must have been busy and forgot.

Things that need to be updated include:
• Mini-fridge needs replaced, freezer part packed with ice and the door wasn't level.
• Microwave was old, should be replaced.
• Tub mat was old and dirty. It would not grip in the tub, a safety hazard.
• Tub fixtures are old.
• There is no ventilation fan in the bathroom.
• Hair dryer had very little power left, needs to be replaced.
• Bathroom sink counter small.
• Bed pillows were hard and uncomfortable.
• Furniture was chipped and dinged.
• Table in kitchenette top marred beyond repair.
• One leg on ottoman was wobbly and wouldn't line up straight.
• Ironing board cover was stained.
• There was an impression of the iron burned into the carpet
• Second chaise lounge cushion was stained.
• Limited number of television channels.
• Beach towels provided by hotel were hard and scratchy, need to be replaced.

Pros: Wonderful ocean view, when there is no beach construction. A safe in the room.

Cons: Rooms need to be updated and cleaned.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ML1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberGM11, General Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
So very sorry and disappointed to see that ML1702’s stay with us at the Beachcomber was impacted by the Beach Renourishment project and that we fell embarrassingly short on the items noted in this comprehensive review. Believe we’ve covered the reasons for the federally funded Beach Renourishment project that is being run by Army Corps of Engineers and why we had not been given fair warning on the scope or timing. The project had just started during the timeframe of their stay and the limited communication we had with the work crew was inaccurate and changed without notice during the dates of your stay which may be why you were told by our staff about when they would or would not be working. Agree and frustrated that we offered ML1702 bad information and not reasonable notice about the project prior to their arrival, but we also got surprised.

We were recently told that the project is wrapping up in our area by Friday, January 17th or maybe sooner this week and will continue a few miles up the beach north of the Beachcomber and will continue up in that area through February (but no longer on the portion of the Beachcomber’s beach area). Realize this does ML1702 no good, but worth mentioning for those of you reading up on us on Trip Advisor.

Have to accept responsibility for the poor communication and lack of follow up on ML1702’s list of issues and the kind of answers they got. A bit shocked that we would send someone to a dollar store to buy coffee mugs. Although we do provide disposable hot/cold coffee cups in our rooms and not ceramic coffee mugs, we do have coffee cups in our dining room. Typically, if a guest wants a ceramic coffee cup we would simply get some from our restaurant and offer these upon request. All of our room service orders are served on ceramic chinaware along with real silverware, so not like we don’t have a solution for a simple request like that. Also, for what it is worth, whoever may have said sorry, that we must have been too busy to correct ML1702’s list of items; although hard to imagine any of us making an excuse like this, it is totally unacceptable.

We failed and fell short on numerous levels when it came to ML1702’s recent stay. Rest assured that issues like those outlined in ML1702’s review will be addressed and corrected.

Do appreciate ML1702’s business and the time they took to post their comments; we will take their constructive criticism in the spirit intended and work hard to improve where we failed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Mathias-sur-Richelieu
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have stayed twice and enjoyed the experience on both occasions. Very good place to stay and very good services. Nice beach. Nice hotel. Friendly staff. We recommend this hotel. We will certainly return in the future.

Room Tip: The 505 is amazing . The room 607 was very good too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoubleR27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We were at the resort for 3 nights and had great service. The place was well run, and the on-site food and offerings were both adequate and reasonably priced.
The negative side: it surprises me that in a humid climate that there is no ventilation in the bathroom. As a result, there was visible mold growing in the tile grout. There are two pools. Why is only one heated?? It creates friction fighting for preferable poolside lounging.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ejja55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

i have stayed here 3 years in a row the hotel is very well done with great staff STEVE at the TIKI BAR is worth the visit alone and the food is excellent and not overpriced The rooms are large and most have a good view of ocean its also close to ft lauderdale for shopping and stingers bar across the street does a great pizza and comfort GOING BACK FOR YEAR 4 i met visitors that have been going their as a family for last 30 years wow

Room Tip: call hotel front desk to reserve
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ray t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We have known of the Beachcomber for years, eaten at the restaurant as we lived around the corner years ago. We had not had the occasion to stay until last week. I have traveled extensively for business including Gaylord properties but had never been treated as nicely as we were treated at the front desk. The front desk receptionist Julene was helpful and charming, switching rooms upon request when I was the one that reserved the wrong room. The rest of the staff was friendly and helpful even though they were working on the Christmas holiday. We plan to return in a few months.

Room Tip: Their "Euro" rooms are spacious by chain standards but the balcony rooms are large and be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dglennfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pompano Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort
#4 of 38 in Pompano Beach
633 reviews
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach
0.5 mi away
Oceans Beach Resort & Suites
Oceans Beach Resort & Suites
#25 of 38 in Pompano Beach
21 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wyndham Sea Gardens
Wyndham Sea Gardens
#18 of 38 in Pompano Beach
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Resort and Villas

Property: Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Address: 1200 South Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL 33062-6609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachcomber Resort and Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beachcomber Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Resort And Villas Hotel Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Hotel Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Resort Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Resort Villas
Pompano Beach Beachcomber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing