We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good bargain!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Holland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good bargain!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were looking for a 4 day cheap vacation in Florida and this hotel for the price was a good bargain! The have, what they call, European rooms which were much cehaper than the other options. Yes there are no views or balconies, but as we planned to spend most of our time outdoors it did not matter. Rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff were friendly and the pool and the grounds well maintained. The hotel is on the beach and is 15 minutes walk from a few decent restaurants and also there is a convenient store just opposite the hotel. The happy hour on weekdays is decent and drinks are drinks are overpriced as in any other hotel pool bar. They also had live music by the pool during the happy hour. The hotel will arrange for a shuttle from the airport if you do not want to rent a car - car is not needed if you do not have plans to do sight seeing. Overall, decent hotel with satisfactory ammenities.

Room Tip: European rooms, although have no balconies - you do have a partial view of the ocean from the wondow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vodkatonics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberGM11, General Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you vodkatonics for the positive review. Love your online handle. You made the right call since you knew you were not planning to spend most of your vacation in the room and you wanted to save on the room rate. You are quite right about our European room type; it is priced at a value because it is smaller than our typical rooms and there is no view or balcony and is not furnished with a refrigerator or microwave. We do offer a variety of other room options with better views, more space, and amenities at a range of price points.

Glad you were satisfied with the property and your overall experience. Just so others who may read this know; we do feature a live guitarist (pool side, weather permitting) during happy hour Thursday thru Sunday (which is apparently the timeframe of your recent stay).

Glad to hear you would return again. Thanks for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    439
    187
    70
    57
See reviews for
363
554
48
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

It's an older hotel located in a non-crowded area of Pompano. But it's been beautifully updated and provides many services. We stayed in an ocean view suite that was very spacious, quiet, clean, and very comfortable. It overlooked the heated pool and provided a wide view of the ocean and beach. It also had a great balcony where we could sit outside and enjoy our morning coffee relaxing on comfortable padded lounge chairs. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. A minor problem with the flat screen TV was fixed in a jiffy. Regardless of your age or occasion you'll like this hotel a lot. I know we'll be back again soon.

Room Tip: It's a reasonably priced hotel. So go for the ocean view side rooms. They book up fast. So reser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Binge827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberGM11, General Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much Binge827. We love that you loved your stay with us and look forward to having you stay with us the next time your travels bring you back to the sunny greater Fort Lauderdale area. We appreciate the fact that you took the time to post this very kind review. P.S. We love you too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

i was very impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. when we left boston, we were so looking forward to sunshine and warmth; unfortunately this was not the case during our time in florida. as we could not lie by the pool or go to the beach we ended up shopping and eating and drinking. the staff was very helpful and really made the unpleasantness of the weather definitely more tolerable. we got some great recommendations, and one staff member in particular has been most helpful with my (hopeful) plans to move to the area. thank you beachcomber!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peggy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberGM11, General Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thanks for the very kind review and compliments about our staff. Sorry the weather was not better but do at least hope it was better than it was in New England. Good luck with your plans to relocate to the Sunshine State, if you do move down here hope we will have the opportunity to accommodate your visiting friends and family. Thanks again so much for taking the time to post this very nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shippan Point, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

In much need of MAJOR renovations. I was very disappointed. The walls were falling apart, the place is very, very tired. Pretty much the same as their staff.

The place was also filthy. When we got into our room there was all different textures of hair in various places (gross). We rented 2 rooms and asked for them to be adjoining when we made the reservations ( we were traveling with kids) this did not happen, unfortunately. The halls were loud too.

As you can tell from my review, I will not be returning. I visit south florida 4-5 times a year and in fact free up there. I should have known better and stayed inland for 1/4 price.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

...but I will give Beachcomber the benefit of the doubt. Upon arrival, Dorothy greeted us, gave us our key card and made the process quick and efficient.(Off the bat we liked that the resort was not too far from the Ft Lauderdale International Airport). The website where we booked made it sound like ALL rooms had a mini kitchen. This was not the case. We booked an "economy room" for 189.00 a night. The room was very small and seemed even smaller because whoever purchased the hotels furniture accomplished their mission of buying the largest furniture available. I found it odd that a massive amour with lion heads took up 1/4 of the room and only held a small tv and a safe, while the dresser was sloppily stuffed in the corner of the closet. The bathroom was small, which was fine but it did not have a fan (which can be uncomfortable when you stay in a small space and take hot showers or if your travel partner farts).
After a long travel day, we were tired and ready to get settled . The entire closet ceiling is a light, which did not work so I could not unpack my clothes. No worries, I was tired and wanted to go to bed. I pulled back the covers, and there was a HUGE pen scribble across the fitted sheet. The sheets seemed clean, but how could someone NOT notice this mark and put it on the bed anyway? When I go to a hotel, I pretend that I am a guest, not staying in a hotel, but in my own house. Would I put marked linen on my guest's bed? Only if it was a house guest that I didn't want to see again.
To summarize our stay
-I had to ask the front desk 4 times to get the ceiling light fixed before it got done. It took 2 days before I could unpack my clothes.
-The restaurant down stairs was pretty good, we had lunch there a couple times. But I was turned off when I went to the rest room and saw all of the mold ( If this is the rest room that their customers see, what is in the kitchen that I can't see?)
-The hotel has a weird rosemary/mold odor to it that I cannot describe, but I took it home on everything that I brought with me
-The location of the hotel is great, very close to a lot of things without being too deep in the action
-The pool and beach setting is lovely

Room Tip: Do not get a room within 4 rooms of the elevator, we were 4 rooms down and could still hear the weir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank l0ve_2_c_stuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberGM11, General Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Wish that good impression was better with regards to your recent stay with us.

Not sure from review what web site the reviewer booked their reservation with us on but we are very careful to make sure all of our travel partners have the most up to date information about the Beachcomber and we are especially specific about our room descriptions. However, we will review the info with our travel partners and correct any errors if there is erroneous information about anything to do with the Beachcomber’s descriptive content. Quite frankly we do not even use the word kitchenette; the closest we come to this reference is a kitchen area in our 1 & 2 bedroom Villa units. The room type the reviewer reserved was one of our European room types which is our value priced room that does not have a view, no balcony or a refrigerator or a microwave and is smaller than any of our other typical rooms.

We do apologize about the reviewer’s other findings and will investigate how the pen marks were on their sheets. We do outsource our laundry cleaning. Hard to imagine one of our housekeepers would put anything on a bed but clean linen, we will get to the bottom of that as well the other remarks especially about how long it took for us to repair the recessed light in the closet space of this room.

In spite of some of the issues discussed in this review that these folks did enjoy their stay with us and do hope they will consider returning to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Clean, nothing fancy but certainly not shabby, wonderful hotel. Private beach, nice balconies, two pools and a gracious and helpful staff make this secluded hotel a wonderful place to stay.
The free parking and reasonable price add to the benefits.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceFG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberGM11, General Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thanks so much for the 5 out of 5 points review in all categories. Wow! We appreciate your business and that you took the time to post this review. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights and hope to stay longer the next time we are in the area. We had an ocean view room with 2 dble beds the week before Christmas. We arrived about noon, but were disappointed no early check in was available (checked a couple of times at the desk and finally got in just before 3, which is check-in time anyway - interestingly, the lady checking us in made a comment to another worker that she thought housekeeping wouldn't release rooms early to her on purpose). We liked the old Florida look and charm and our room was clean. (I would consider it a pool view though, it really only had a partial ocean view; you have to book ocean front for the real view.) The room had a small fridge and sink area at the entrance (not a kitchenette, but we knew that, and this worked fine for us), and we picked up stuff at a nice Publix a few minutes away by car and enjoyed eating on the sunny balcony. The balconies are open to your neighbours, but we had quiet ones, so no problem with it. Two nice, padded loungers on it. There was a hall to the bathroom with lots of hanging space and a tall dresser next to the bathroom door that was handy. We enjoyed the beach (weather was very warm when we there in Dec) and it was nice to be right on the beach and just walk back to the room for the bathroom or to get a snack. We like sitting on the sand, so didn't rent anything. We saw lots of couples walking at night in the area when driving. Overall a good, quiet stay in a quiet area and we thought good value (received a discount being CAA members as well), and will stay again when we can.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyslippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberGM11, General Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thanks for the nice review we3family. We're glad you enjoyed your stay but sorry we could not get you checked into your room prior to our stated check in time; we do try, but we do have to wait until our guests who have until 11 AM to check out to clear their room and then we need time to clean these rooms for our new guests on arrival. We do realize folks want to start enjoying thier vacation and get to their room as soon as possible, but when that is not possible we do offer to store luggage and encourage those guests who arrive before their room is ready to change into their bathing suits, etc. and relax at our pool, beach, and/or tiki bar until their room is ready.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pompano Beach
1.9 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach
0.5 mi away
Oceans Beach Resort & Suites
Oceans Beach Resort & Suites
#21 of 36 in Pompano Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront
4.8 mi away
Pelican Grand Beach Resort, A Noble House Resort
Pelican Grand Beach Resort, A No...
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,577 reviews
20.3 mi away
Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort
Newport Beachside Hotel and Reso...
#6 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Resort and Villas

Property: Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Address: 1200 South Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL 33062-6609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachcomber Resort and Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beachcomber Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Resort And Villas Hotel Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Hotel Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Resort Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Resort Villas
Pompano Beach Beachcomber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing