We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Nearby Hotels
$179
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
$129
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$188
$179
Residence Inn
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort(Pompano Beach)(Great Value!)
$190
$181
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Horse Motel(Pompano Beach)(Great Value!)
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shores Resort(Pompano Beach)(Great Value!)
$89
$79
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Cove Motel(Pompano Beach)
$95
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wave Beach Rentals(Pompano Beach)(Great Value!)
$99
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surfside Resort(Pompano Beach)(Great Value!)
$159
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wyndham Sea Gardens(Pompano Beach)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,434)
Filter reviews
1,434 results
Traveler rating
615
477
205
75
62
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
615
477
205
75
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean frontoceanfront roomlounge chairsacross the streetpool areapalm treeshigher flooran older hotellarge balconygreat view of the oceanking bedtiki hutlauderdale by the seathe entire stafffort lauderdalelove this placebeautiful beach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
934 - 939 of 1,434 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2012

First- the view. The view was great. We booked an ocean front (the best they have) and were on the 5th floor above the palm trees.... the 2nd and 3rd floor, and maybe 4th floor would have a restricted view due to the trees. They should cut them down, except one or two. I mean really, pay for an ocean view and see trees? crazy.
Other than that the view is perfect.
The side view rooms have a pretty decent ocean/pool view (south side). I cannot comment on their condition, etc.

Location-- The beach is good, lots of folks around as it's next to a public beach access, but it made for fun watching from the balcony. On rough days we could 'body surf' and calm days the snorkeling straight out from the motel is really satisfactory. There is a reef line running north and south, that has pretty good life and is about 10-15 ft. deep. You 'could' do without a car if you ate at the resturant daily, and had some quick microwave meals, but a car is recommended for sure.

Amenities-- The pool is acceptable. Nothing magical. A chap played guitar pool/bar side most of the week and was good enough to enjoy. There is a charge for beach equipment, but we did not rent any as we snorkeled, swam and dived in the ocean and enjoyed the balcony mostly. They have a nice resturant it looks like, but we did not go. Went locally to other dining options.
There are 3 casinos not too far. One in Hollywood about 30-40 min drive, one in Coconut Creek about 25-35 min... both of those are Seminole casinos. The other casino is a little closer. It's at the Pompano Park racing place (horse racing I believe)... it's the Isle of Capri casino. All had acceptable poker rooms, but for slots I think the Isle is a little looser.

The room--
Bed - The bed was good enough...rates a 7 on a scale of 1-10.
TV - The TV was a joke. Fairly small, only about 8 or 9 watchable channels, and no way to hook a DVD to it at all.
Bath - clean, mostly maintained. Not large by any means. They provided basics if needed. except toothpase.

Furniture-- The furniture was good. The lamp was loose and clumsy, but lit up :) Enough storage for a couple of people, but I wouldn't consider this room for more than 2 by any means.

Condition-- The doors are somewhat hard to open. Some maintenance concerns during the stay, such as the kitchen sink stopped up, and the tub drained slow. The phone stopped working during the first call, and the microwave burned out. They were fairly timely in their responses though. Except for the phone, which I think they forgot about.

Kitchen-- Had a small 4 cup coffee pot. Worked well actually, but small. Microwave was very basic, and died when we used it the first time. The fridge is small but adequate, and had a freezer. The doors of the fridge required pushing shut every time. A two person table, round with two chairs, and was cramped as the kitchen is small. No stove whatsoever, and no grills allowed on site. Umm....go to the restaurant?? I think that's their preference here.
The sink is tiny, barely big enough to wash dishes...if you had any. That is a BIG problem here. You are provided absolutely NOTHING in the kitchen other than the basic appliances I mentioned. No forks, no spoons, no plates, no anything....cups, pots, pans, dishcloths, towels, etc. Nothing. The entire (small) kitchen is bare. We had to buy everything as we were unprepared for this.
If you do venture to go to this resort, take dishes, utensils, and anything else you need.
A week of platic knives and peanut butter isn't the vacation you dream of.

Service-- They provided new towels and made the bed everyday if you let them, which we appreciated. Nothing was stolen from our room, but the staff are neither overly friendly or rude. Just sort of there...
They responded quickly to service needs like the microwave, and the stopped up sinks, etc.
Checking in was fairly easy, and they add a $10 per night 'incidentals' charge on your card, but do not collect if you don't use it. Checking out was quick, but when we loaded our cart and were about to head out the door, they hailed us down and made us stand and wait until we could be 'monitored'. I asked why, and they said it was hotel policy. I understand they need to avoid theft and such, but really?? stand and watch you unload stuff into your car? It made us feel like criminals, especially since we were parked by the front door.

Which reminds me..... If you are out at night, don't plan on finding a parking spot close to the resort. They have an additional parking lot across the street which we had to park in every night.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. The room didn't smell and we didn't see any bugs.. .no one got mugged, raped, or murdered. There was a little maintenance/construction around the area, but nothing intrusive or out of the ordinary. The price was acceptable in comparison, and the best things about our unit was the view, and it was farily quiet away from the elevators, etc. If you go, turn off the A/C and open the front door. Sleeping with the sound of the ocean at night was fantastic.
~ Peace and safe travels to you!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberPompano, General Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

This is one of the most comprehensive reviews we’ve seen in a while; let’s see if we can respond to some of this reviewer’s observations…

 Understand the comment about the palm trees; sorry by law we cannot trim the palm trees on the beach, this is strictly controlled by the state’s Department of Environmental Protection. But what’s a tropical beach without palm trees?
 As for the kitchen area discussed in this particular review; it very important to stress, not all rooms have this set up which is why we do not promote kitchens per se. Some of our Ocean View and Ocean Front rooms have a small area in the front entrance of the guest room that has a small café style table and 2 chairs, with a granite top “convenience area” that is where the coffee maker and microwave are located, and some of these rooms have a small bar sink; there is also a mini refrigerator under the counter top. True, we do not equip these rooms with kitchen utensils or flatware; reason being, these rooms do not have a dishwasher, and we are not set up to properly sanitize kitchenware. State law requires appropriate sanitary standards for kitchenware, etc. in these situations which is exactly why we do not provide kitchen and dining ware. We do recommend to be prepared to add plastic/paper dining ware to your grocery list if you intend to forego the hotel’s dining options (which include a 3 meal per day indoor restaurant, poolside patio and beach all day dining for lunch and dinner, Tiki Bar, and room service available during the restaurant’s operating hours). Also, there are plenty of local restaurants and restaurants that also deliver to the hotel (which we do not restrict as long as it is consumed in your room and not around our pool, beach, and public areas). But yes, do regret we do not stock the rooms with this type of set up like one would set up a full kitchen, and yes the sink is a bar sink, intended for rinsing, not washing dishes like at home and not on vacation. The Beachcomber is a full service resort hotel; not advertised or operated like an apartment or condo-hotel/timeshare type property.
 With regards to the remark about us monitoring the reviewer as they loaded up their vehicle, we do control our luggage carts; we do have staff who assist with baggage handling. Yes, an employee does go with a luggage cart so that we have the luggage cart ready to go for the next guest; if not we lose track of the luggage cart if does not go with an employee (otherwise it could get left in the parking lot, or guest room). By no means are we monitoring a guest, but rather making sure we have luggage carts available for other guests. Sounds like the reviewer might have gotten an idle cart in the lobby and we asked them to let us let an employee assist with their baggage. We do not charge for baggage handling and our employees are told not to put their hand out (if you know what we mean).

We thank the reviewer for this generally positive review and appreciate the time they took to offer their impressions of their recent stay at the Beachcomber. We do hope that others who read this review and see our response also know more about what to expect when making their decision to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

we were there for the week it was amazing! the staff were friendly all the time! very clean rooms, the food was excellent, all i can say is thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank viviana m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The hotel was very nice. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated, the restaurant has awesome food, staff was very helpful. It was a little loud and you could hear every tiny noise.... people talking, doors slamming. The beach was just ok, but we may be a tad spoiled by the west coast of Florida. We did find the area around the hotel a little scary. A lot of police activity.Would have liked to venture out, but fortunately there was no reason to. The hotel really had everything except a fitness center.

Room Tip: Recommend the double bed/ balcony rooms. Very nice. Also stick to the low end of each floor like 103,203,303,404.... less neighbors
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FloridaDentalgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberPompano, General Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Thanks for the good review and glad you enjoyed your stay. First time we’ve seen a remark that someone thought the surrounding area was possibly unsafe and noticed police activity. Our neighborhood is mostly made up of condominiums and time share resorts (our next door neighbor and another diagonally across the street); across the street is a strip mall with a cleaners, convenience store, local restaurant/bar, and some other retail. The local police, the Broward Sheriff’s Department does maintain a high profile because it is both a residential and tourist area. In some ways one might think that the high visibility of law enforcement is a good thing to ensure the safety of the local residents and visitors. The Broward Sheriff’s Department does patrol the main road, Pompano Beach Blvd. (which is SR A1A) and does enforce the traffic laws fairly aggressively though, so watch your speed in the area please.

As for no fittness center on site, this is true, but we do not advertise this as on site, however, we do offer complimentary passes to a very nice and complete fittness center that is about 7 minute drive from the resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We had booked a room in Ft Lauderdale it was unacceptable to stay there. I called the Beachcomber and spoke with Margaret. She was very helpful and understanding of our situation. We were there for the 4th of July and all the good locations were booked or overpriced. I called back to make the reservation and spoke to Brian. He was so wonderful, understood how we were feeling. When I arrived at the hotel Brian immediately assisted me with check in. He upgraded us to a Jr. Suite which was gorgeous. We had a balcony, view of the beach and the swimming pool. Everyone was so nice, smiled and greeted us when we were out of the room. Gloria was so much fun,our server by the pool. She was from the mid-west also. Over all this was a great place, good food, clean, truly a vacation place. My only regret was not booking here in the first place. I can not think of one bad thing to say about the Resort. Brian checked on us to see how our vacation was going, to make sure we were enjoying ourselves. THANK YOU, THANK YOU!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EK10220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberPompano, General Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Glad you found us. Thanks for taking the time to mention some of our great staff members, everyone here really does take a lot of pride in their work and enjoy taking care of our guests. So happy to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate the fact you took the time to post this kind review. Thank you for being our guest, we can't wait to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was very 'old Florida', had a lot of charm and beautiful grounds. Our room was clean and nice, great view from the balcony. The staff was mostly friendly and accommodating, several front desk workers could use a little customer service improvement, it seems when there were issues instead of offering a solution or helping they immediately jumped into defensive mode and got an attitude. All in all it was a good stay. The maid service was good, restaurant was a bit overpriced. I think the Beachcomber has an identity crisis, they want to be an all inclusive resort in a location where that is not needed. Stinger's across the street was a great alternative for dinner and breakfast. I would recommend the Beachcomber, just don't expect the front desk to want to help you right away, it might take you several calls or visits before they actually help with your problems.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ARussofEville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews