We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Worst Dining Experience of my Life” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Christina's Cafe - CLOSED

Christina's Cafe
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst Dining Experience of my Life”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

The food was mediocre at best. Except the Greek soup, which tasted like it was from a Campbells can. One star for semi-edible pita bread.

The place is overpriced to begin with, but occasionally has some good specials. But don't expect the owner, Christina, to honor the specials she advertises. Everything has fine print, be sure to double check.

The waiters are pretty good, but I cannot justify giving Christina's even one star in the "service" category due to how rude Christina herself was to us. She refused to honor a restaurants.com coupon that we had purchased, despite it stating clearly at the bottom "voucher does not expire", and went as far as to lock us inside her restaurant when we tried to leave, leaving the proper amount of money on the table, yelling at us, "Next time just go to McDonalds."

As my mother walked out of the restaurant to avoid confrontation and I stayed to square away the overcharged check, Christina told me "You are a young and beautiful girl-- just don't grow up to be like your mother."

Bottom line: Do not go to Christina's unless you have a very high tolerance for horribly offensive service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    20
    3
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frankfort, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

I've eaten at Greek restaurants from Athens to Chicago. Christina's is authentic and good. Christina meets you at the door and pays attention to every patron. It is small and good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RCGorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
117 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

A very small personable restaurant. The owners greet every guest.
The food is good and very authentic.
I highly recommend it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 183RT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
222 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Lucky that Flanagan's Was Too Busy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Because we weren't planning to go to Christina's. We found this place on Trip Advisor after going to Flanagan's across the street, and we didn't want to wait 40 minutes.
The King ordered the beef stew and the Queen had the chicken marsala. Both were excellent. Besides the quality of our meals, the service was outstanding. There were three waitresses and a busboy, and each took care of us during our dining experience at Christina's. And they all did it with genuine smiles. We plan to re-visit again shortly and will look forward to it until then. Forget about Flanagan's!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KingAtlanticCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Greek”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

There is quite a large selection of items considering the rather petite size of this lovely restaurant in Pompano Beach. Whether you're in the mood for hot or cold appetizers, a Greek salad, a vegetarian entrée, or a meat entrée, you will have plenty of choices. I eat gluten free and vegetarian and always find great selections. On this occasion, I chose stuffed grape leaves and a selection of dips with pita chips (I didn't eat those). My mother's Greek salad was large enough to share and to take some home. I always enjoy attentive service whether my server is Christina herself or another waitress. Ask about any specials.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BooklYoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christina's Cafe also viewed

Pompano Beach, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 
Pompano Beach, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 
Pompano Beach, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing