We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean/close location”

Pompano Beach Golf Course
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
1,021 reviews
602 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“clean/close location”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

good place, to spend a few hours golfing, close location to pompano beach, affordable rate advised go in the morning to avoid crowd or heat.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank lalocadr19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    17
    18
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Replace the attitude and give service”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Pines golf course is a good place for hackers that want a long day away from family. The rangers don't do their job to manage play of others nor do they care. Will never be top rated unless service improves.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good golf, great price, average service”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Played the pines course a while back. The Greg Norman design course plays pretty tough from the tips. Lots of options off the tee with some interesting holes. The greens are in great shape and in my opinion the best thing about the course. Fairways and rough are not in great shape. Pace of play is slow. Summer, twilight rates are cheap and worth the price. Practice facility is not great but dirt cheap, $6 for a large bucket can't be beat.

My main complaint about this place though was the poor service I received from the starter and course manager last time I tried to play. They didn't allow a friend and myself on the course as a twosome because "the course was too full," yet, when we got on the course there were a bunch of twosomes. We had no one behind us and caught up to a twosome in front of us, otherwise, very few people on the course (it was 5pm on a Tuesday). Seriously? Total power trip I felt.

In general though it's a nice course and for the price it is pretty good golf.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mario d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
155 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fun Affordable Golf”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I try to get back here once a year. Pompoano has two 18 hole courses. The pines which was recently compled and designed by Gregg Norman is just fun to play for the new or scratch golfer. Considering it is a municipal course it is in great shape. Fees drop in April. For 18 holes anda cart $32. Talk about a bargain. The other course The Palms is enjoyable but not quite in as good shape as the Pines. If you go on line you can get a tee time as far in advance of 7 days. Suggest you use it evenif you haven"t gotten here yet. Only advice I can give you is hit the ball straight. Hope you enjoy it as much as I have.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
217 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Very average, uninteresting and unfinished”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Very upset with this course and the attitude of the course president when we complained. Arrived early in the morning early in April 2013. There are 2 courses here and they often have society matches on one of the courses. it was very busy and we were directed ti the Pines course.
We didnt know and were not made aware that the Pines course had only just reopened after being shut or many months. It was expensive by Florida standards, we were not allowed to walk although they were on the Palms course. The course is unfinished and there were no hole boxes or distances or picture of directions that we are used to having in the UK. The holes were boring by Florida standards that is unless you dont want to much water on your course. I suggest that you find one of the excellent alternative courses in Broward or Palm Beach counties to play.
One positive was that they had very acceptable sets of clubs available to hire.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelguidebarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pompano Beach Golf Course also viewed

Pompano Beach, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 

Been to Pompano Beach Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing