We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cottages by the Ocean
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We live in Pompano and had to have our house tented for termites. We talked to Patti and she was fantastic. We have two small dogs and two cats. She set us up with two cabins 4 (just for cats) and 6. Since we live inland it was like going on vacation. Beautiful cabins dating back to the 50's but updated to today's standards without losing the charm. The owner met us when we checked in and we had a great internet connection. I worked from #6 and was very happy. Clean neat and everything you need for a beach vacation. Whether you are looking for a place to stay for vacation or a situation like ours, I doubt you could find anything better at twice the price. We love the place and hope to come back for a long weekend when we don't have the issue at home.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
There are newer reviews for Cottages by the Ocean
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 75 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

My Mom and I travel regularly and rarely does a vacation property experience delight like Cottages by the Ocean did. If you are looking for an incredibly comfortable, easy going, tranquil, ideally located and distinctive near-the-sea cottage - then this delivers 100% and is excellent value too. Elaine Fitzgerald and her team care hugely about service quality - from reservations through to the post visit satisfaction survey, it was all flawless. We'll return without a doubt.

Room Tip: We had Cottage 2 and the porch was gorgeous - private and peaceful. Great place to sit when it was r...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValerieT667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Place is good situated near the beach, shops and Miami, Everglades etc. Clean place with all needed for a week or so and possibilities to cook and/or BBQ. If you want more than just a hotelbed and you appreciate the possibilities to cook and to sit outside this is a very good place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Spent two weeks here in October - November 2011. Nice place, Bed was comfy, room was great, staff was friendly, minutes from the beach. Nice patio and BBQ. We enjoyed it a lot. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. Well-equipped kitchen. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yura1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

I choose to stay in this cottage beacuse of all that it had to offer a place you can relax , a feel of home away from home.
I must say I was more than satisfied and definately will be back for another stay
.I got to meet Elaine as she welcomed us on our arrival and she was just addorable.
No complaints, simply beautiful and would recommend this cottage lounge for any couple looking to spend a great time and family.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 48080Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2010

This is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the beach. Our cottage was clean and perfectly appointed for a relaxing stay. The property has pretty landscaping and our cottage had a furnished screened in porch. If you are going to Pompano Beach this is so much nicer than a hotel. The owner and staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SurfTrvlrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2010

Great location, near enough to the beach but off the road enough to be quiet. Very clean and well-kept. Nautical theme for decor. We wanted a restful, warm get-away and this hit the mark superbly!! The weather did not cooperate much, but the cottage's heat was more than adequate. Very nice accommodations!! We enjoyed it immensely!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pompano Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort
#4 of 38 in Pompano Beach
637 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bahama Beach Club Apartments
Bahama Beach Club Apartments
#13 of 38 in Pompano Beach
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
#3 of 38 in Pompano Beach
1,370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oceans Beach Resort & Suites
Oceans Beach Resort & Suites
#26 of 38 in Pompano Beach
23 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Steps Suites
Sea Steps Suites
#9 of 38 in Pompano Beach
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages by the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages by the Ocean

Address: 3309 SE 3rd St, Pompano Beach, FL 33062-5505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Pompano Beach
Price Range: $131 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottages by the Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming complex of six fully restored 1940s studio and one-bedroom cottages is nationally rated as a Superior Small Lodging. It's less than two blocks from our award-winning beach with lifeguards, lighthouse and fishing pier. Enjoy all the comforts of home with king beds, full kitchens, free Internet, BBQ and laundry facilities, screened porches overlooking tropical gardens. Cottages by the Ocean is a small, well-kept property of charming Key West-style studio and one-bedroom cottages. We are a White Glove award-winner and nationally rated as a Superior Small Lodging. Each restored 1940s cottage has a full kitchen, king or queen bed and sleeper sofa, lush, tropical garden views, large screened-in porches or open patio, private BBQ grills, with a central sundeck and coin laundry on site. The Cottages are centrally located on a quiet street in the safe, ocean side community of Pompano Beach, 15 minutes North of downtown Fort Lauderdale and 15 minutes South of Boca Raton. They are less than two blocks from one of South Florida's award-winning Blue Wave beaches (with life guards), and a short walk to dozens of restaurants, shops, nightspots, public fishing pier, snorkel/dive boats, charter fishing boats, jet ski and boat rentals, gym, day spa, drug store, gourmet fish market and more. It’s a five-minute drive to the new Pompano CitiCenter shopping mall, movie theaters, tennis and aquatics complex, dog park, air park for private planes and the Good Year Blimp base, 36-hole golf facility and driving range. The new ISLE Casino (smoke-free), next door to Pompano Harness Track, is a 15-minute drive. I-95 is a 10-minute drive for easy access to all South Florida business centers, shopping and attractions.Very clean, quiet and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cottages by the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages By The Ocean Hotel Pompano Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing