We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh. Delicious. Simple.”
Review of Blue Willy's Barbecue - MOVED

Blue Willy's Barbecue
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fresh. Delicious. Simple.”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This restaurant doesn't advertise and, although it is on a busy street, it doesn't have much street presence. It's actually hard to find if you're not familiar with it. It seems to rely solely on good food and word of mouth to keep it's steady flow of customers. Each time I, or my family, have visited, the food has been very fresh and delicious, thus we have returned several times. The place itself is very simple, nothing fancy; the service is the same. The food is worthy of the prices.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusanJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    44
    11
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pompano Beach, Florida
1 review
“BEST BBQ in South Florida”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We LOVE Blue Willy's and we have recommended it to at least 40 of our friends (who are also now regulars). My husband is from the South and he is very picky about his bbq. Blue Willy's is the place to go.

Nothing fancy, just amazing food. The pulled pork melts in your mouth, we love their sauces (especially the white sauce), best mac and cheese ever. Also like the coleslaw, brisket, corn break and Sweet Tea. Authentic and delicious. You will leave full and satisfied!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evaw1182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Slap your momma”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Best BBQ joint south of the FL-GA line. My wife and I ordered it all. The pork was moist and tender. The pork ribs were cooked to perfection and had very little fat on them. The Mac and Cheese was as good as any I have ever had and I'm from the south. And the collard greens are as good as momma used to make. The beef brisket was tender but I thought a little on the dry side. Cornbread was heaven. The only thing I missed was my sweet tea. Maybe I missed it on the menu. The outside sign only says BBQ so you might miss it driving by. It's a dive but you will not find any better BBQ in Florida.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TripMember04042017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Barbeque in SoFlo”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I was watching the Travel channel this afternoon and it had barbeque joints on for about 4 hours. So......I was craving good barbeque. As always, I Googled best in South Florida and Blue Willy's had good reviews. I just returned from having a wonderful Beef Brisket Sandwich with coleslaw on top. Now let me forewarn you, the joint is just that......."a joint" and the help is not......"overly friendly or tremendously helpful" but I went for a good barbeque and that is what I got. I had read another fellows review about the décor and help but I don't really care about that. When I go out to eat, and especially by myself, I could give a rat's @#$ about anything but the comida (food) and it was surely worth visiting again tomorrow! I truly enjoyed it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Burgh-Birdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jax beaches
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ummmm, what?”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Had brisket and pork and beans. Really disappointed. Just wasn't very good. Not really juicy, maybe even a bit dry. I'm surprised at these reviews. The people were friendly but do not drive out of your way. If u have ever been to a sonnys BBQ or bonos BBQ, I'd say those were both better than this. I didn't even finish my meal and I eat a ton. It just wasn't very good. Maybe a bad day.

Helpful?
Thank matthewjaxbeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Willy's Barbecue also viewed

Oakland Park, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Pompano Beach, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 
Pompano Beach, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing