We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, lacking in service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Willy's Barbecue - MOVED

Blue Willy's Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food, lacking in service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We drove from West Palm Beach to get to Blue Willy's while on vacation with our teens. When we arrived, there was no parking, so we had to park a block away. Its on a very busy street. There are only picnic style tables and a counter to order from. The girl at the register was very low on customer service skills, but the guys working there were really nice. She was quick to take the order and kind of gave us looks when we asked about the items on the menu. I had to explain to her that it was our first time there, so we didnt know about the portions. We ordered Ribs and Pulled Pork and had some great sides. The collard greens and bbq beans were the best, the corn bread was just o.k., kind of on the cold side for me. The food was overall very good, but if you are short on time or out of the area, skip it. We had just come back from a cruise to the Bahamas and were on our way to the Ft. Lauderdale airport, so we thought we would give it a try. Probably worth it, if you live in the area, but not for an "out of state" visitor that's in a hurry. The food came out really quickly, but the girl was definitely not happy assisting first time customers.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank laura5rain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    44
    11
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

If they are serving barbecue in heaven then we bet it's Blue Willy's that is doing the catering.
Absolutely zero atmosphere except two people carving and serving up food -- served on the fine china of the barbcue world-a tray with brown paper on it! Menu is on a chalk board. If you really enjoy the sauces then you will have to bring a super taster with you to suss out the ingredients because Blue Willy's owner is not bottling it for sale. The portions are large, the food is delish and like many a good movie you'll want to revisit it because there is no way you've gotten the complete experience the first time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Betsy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
142 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Hard to find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

If there was a sign we did not see it. But we did find it. Very informal family run place. The BBQ was very good . PIcnic tables indoors is most of the seating . Menu on Board where you order.

Portions were large and enjoyed the food at this very bare bones decorated place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hrw1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hunter
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Receipts Are a Rarity Here, So......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Make sure you bring a calculator so you are not overcharged. The cashier has quick hands and is good at slight of hand, so beware. Especially so, since ordering process is chaotic and disorganized. You need to ask for a receipt or you won't get one. Otherwise, food is tempting and quite good. No complaints there.

Helpful?
1 Thank amgHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Spectacular bbq”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This food blew us away. We thought nothing of driving 38 miles north to find a Sonny's bbq after they closed all their restaurants in Ft. Lauderdale area. But after that, this was a total surprise. The real deal. Wonderful smoked, barbecued meats. Great sides (collard greens, beans, mac & cheese, slaw). Spicy bbq sauce was sublime. Be prepared for a totally "rustic" space that did not even have the restaurant name out front, but it was killer bbq.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank edsatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Willy's Barbecue also viewed

Pompano Beach, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 
Pompano Beach, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing