We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wyndham Sea Gardens Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Sea Gardens
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Pompano Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Batavia, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Wyndham Sea Gardens Resort”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This was our first stay at the Wyndham Sea Gardens in Pompano Beach. We vacationed there for ten days in late May. It was a long enough vacation to relax at the resort and beach, and still enjoy some great day trips along the coast and south Florida. The weather was fantastic for late May.
Our room was in the Waterfall building, so we had the advantage of having a newer renovated one bedroom with the lock off. It was just my wife and I, so we were very comfortable with that accommodation. The room had a nice balcony overlooking the tropical gardens and was away from the pool areas so nice and quiet when you sat out there to relax.
The resort actually has four swimming pools, and a short convenient walk to the beach area from our building. The pool areas were always clean and had seating in both the sun and the shade. The beach provided some nice sunrises and walks to the pier and the lighthouse. The resort also has a small Tiki Bar in the middle of the garden near the large pool with grills nearby.
The resort has a fitness room that provides a small variety of equipment and weight machines. It was never really crowded, that you had to wait for a machine. The grounds were mostly clean and well kept with staff visibly cleaning and maintaining the gardens and parking areas. The brick walkways along the gardens and outside tile areas by the buildings could use more regular power washing.
The Wi-Fi was one of the best I’ve had at a Wyndham resort as far as strength and coverage. We always had coverage in our room, on the balcony and at the pool area. Hopefully Wyndham is finally figuring out how to provide solid Wi-Fi for it’s members and guests.
The resort does need some much needed updating and renovation. Especially the front entrance off Ocean Blvd. could definitely use a curb appeal makeover. Wyndham may be faced with the challenge of finding the balance between bringing new properties with additional inventory for members and keeping their existing properties up to brand.
We enjoyed our vacation stay at Sea Gardens. It was very relaxing and having an updated room helped a lot. The staff was very friendly and helpful to make our vacation in south Florida very pleasant.

Room Tip: WaterFalls Buildings were recently updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jim521r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, General Manager at Wyndham Sea Gardens, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Jim R.-

Thank you for this great feedback. This will allow us to continue to enhance the vacation experience at Sea Gardens. Please let us know if there are opportunities to make your stay better in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    253
    120
    72
    55
See reviews for
255
244
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Our caveat is that we were using the "time share" portion of this resort and wanted a balance of "beach time" and enjoying Florida. We enjoyed the ability to walk across the street to the beach, wander in and out of the pool, and easy access to Lauderdale/Miami.

Location: you are in a little community. It is a very short walk to the beach and a little one over to the boardwalk. It is so nice to see the families out on the boardwalk grilling, playing games, and enjoying the beach. There is a lovely little ice cream shop there, a sushi place, and a few bar/grills. We did a lot of our own cooking at the resort (we had a full kitchen) when we didn't go over to Fort Lauderdale or Miami for dinner. That was the beauty of the location: it was a very quick ride to all the attractions.

Grounds: very pleasant. The grounds are done up with palm trees, little paths, ponds, etc. The unit we were in had a great balcony where we could watch the birds and listen to the ocean breezes. The multiple pools were very nice, though I do agree the piped in music was NOT relaxing (we got endless 90's pop music). We did enjoy the shuffleboard by the pool decks, it was a cute touch. And the game room was decently stocked with movies and games. We did not do any of the activities.

Our room was nothing to write home about. It was clean, open, the linens were fresh.
Staff was very friendly and professional. Overall it was a very enjoyable trip, just what we wanted.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lsquared79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, General Manager at Wyndham Sea Gardens, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear squared79:

Thank you for the kind words. We will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I am pleased you enjoyed our resort's gardens, waterfalls and pools. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Unfortunately I have to rate it a 3 star mainly because of constant construction and upkeep noises going on all week long. Upkeep is a great thing but when you have to listen to leaf blowers everyday it really takes away from the relaxation. Stayed in the Key West building which looks freshly painted on the outside and having some rework done to stair wells. There is a nice scenic ocean front walkway just south of resort which has constant trimmer and leaf blower noise everyday as well. Today they decided to rip up the entire street that runs next to the resort. It is just very loud. Possibly this is just a bad time to vacation in this area because this seems to be when all the renovations are going on.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jlax27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, General Manager at Wyndham Sea Gardens, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Jlax-

I am sorry to hear you experienced some difficulties with the exterior renovations of our Key West Building during your visit with us. While this is certainly not our Wyndham standard, the renovations are necessary to maintain the property's useful life and could not be delayed. We strive to provide top of the line accommodations for all our guests and your feedback will help us to do so.

Additionally, the work you refer to as taking place out on the street was repair work through the City of Pompano, and, while not related to Sea Gardens in any way, certainly did not help you relax and enjoy your vacation experience!

Thanks once again for your valued feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Our family stayed at the Wyndham Sea Gardens in Pompano Beach for our April vacation. There are several buildings on the property, and our room was in the "Ocean Palms" building at the rear of the resort.

We enjoyed our stay, but it wasn't the best.

The resort is mostly older buildings, some of them seem to have been renovated. Our building, the "Ocean Palms", is the largest and newest on the property. Many reviews have complained about the beach being too far away from this building.We did not view this as an issue. Although it is the furthest building form the beach, it is only a 5 minute stroll through the gardens and past the pools. You do have to cross the sometimes busy street to get to the beach. There is an outdoor pool, 1 of 4 on the property, and a hot tub right at the Ocean Palms building. Parking is under and inside the building.

This place seems to be a combination of a hotel and a timeshare resort. Some units are 1 room studio traditional hotel units, and others are larger 1 and 2 bedroom timeshare units.

I will try and outline some of the good and not so good features...

The good:

Our room was a 2 bedroom unit. It was very large and had a full kitchen (complete with all appliances and everything you could need for cooking and eating in your room). The cookware, plates, glasses, etc. were all very clean and ready for use.

We had a big dining room / living room area, and a good size balcony. Each bedroom had it's own bathroom and shower. The master bedroom had a king bed and a large, walk in shower. The very long vanity had 2 sinks, and there was jaccuzzi tub next to the bed. The other bedroom had 2 double beds and the bathroom had a tub/shower and a single sink. All the beds were comfortable, and the sheets and pillows were great.

The pools were all in good shape and very clean. The beach is very nice, it's public but not overly crowded. Chairs and umbrellas (overpriced), and watersports are all availabe to rent at the beach. There is a Tiki Bar with limited hours. The garden areas are lush and well kept.

One of the days during our stay they had a hot dog and burger cookout where the staff grilled dogs and burgers on a couple of grills in the Tiki Bar area. This was good but overpriced for what it was. They also had an "Ice Cream Social" one afternoon. Again, it was OK but overpriced. It was not much of a social, only a few people came, and then left with their ice cream.

The staff was responsive and friendly.

The not so good:

Even though we were in the newest of the buildings, our room was worn and dated and needs to be updated. The mismatched furniture was mostly worn and dirty, the handles on the white refrigerator were a dingy yellow color, and the throw pillows on the couch were so soiled my wife put them away in the closet for the entire time. The bath towels were old and thin, and some were torn. Our room could have been cleaner. There were bits of food between and under the couch cushons, and a couple of small areas of mold on the shower tile grout. The furniture was just not very clean, and there were a few hairs on the bathroom floor.

The lighting in our room was terrible. Wyndham is making a push to be envirinmentally friendly (which is good). I guess this is why every light in our room had the new twisty type CFL flourescent bulbs in them, and the light from all of them was very harsh. I know there are better bulbs that they could have used.

Our balcony was good size, but no lounge chairs for relaxing. It had 2 small rather uncomfortable metal chairs and a small table. While our 8th floor room was called an "ocean view", our view was mostly looking down at the (not very attractive) roofs of the other buildings. Yes, we could see the ocean (and the sunrise) past the other buildings in th distance, but this was hardly the relaxing, tropical ocean view one might expect at a resort.

They have also used the same type of harsh fourescent lighting I described above throughout the entire resort, inside and out, even in the garden areas. Not a very nice touch for evening walks.

I'm not sure why the water pipes that feed the garden area fountains are left visible, not very attractive in the tropical setting.

The Tiki Bar was not open most of the time, and never after 8:00pm (why??).

There are absolutely no, stores, shops or restaurants nearby within wakling distance. This is a major drawback. They do have a very small and pretty much useless attempt at a sandwich / ice cream store / gift shop on site. It was rarely open and when it was they did not have much to offer. We drove to a Publix supermarket and stocked up for the week. We did a lot of cooking in our room, which is not everyone's idea of a vacation.

I do not understand why a "resort" of this size does not have any place to eat! Especially since there is nothing close by.

The main pool area, in the center of the resort was fairly crowded and there were not enough lounge chairs. There was always music playing in this area. I love all kinds of music, but this was mostly obscure rock that none of us knew. No mainstream oldies, classic rock, or current pop to be heard . On top of that, the nearby Tiki Bar had it's own large speakers blasting out different music, as though they were trying to overpower the pool music. Not very condusive to relaxing by the pool in the sun.

After check-in you have to go to the concierge to get your "resort info" and "free gifts". This is when they push you into one of those timeshare sales pitches. We signed up for a morning appointment so that we could get it out of the way, and also because we wanted to get the free gift. The sales presentation is at another Wyndham property down the road, so you need to drive there. Once there, you listen to a presentation with a group about why you should by a Wyndham timeshare. Then you are assigned to a salesperson who tries to close the deal. We did not buy. Our free gift was great... We chose the Jungle Queen Riverboat Cruise which was great, and it included a feast and a (hokey but fun) show.

All in all, this is an average resort.

It feels kind of like a "resort wanna-be"... It wants to be a resort...
It has the potential to be better, but it just isn't.

There are better places where you can go to spend your valuable vacation time and hard earned money.

We would not choose it again for our vacation.

Green Features: Wyndham Sea Gardens is making an effort and working to be more "green". However they have chosen to use very harsh CFL light bulbs throughout the property and in the guest rooms. The provide ways to properly dispose of recyclable trash.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, General Manager at Wyndham Sea Gardens, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Hi Donnie-

I am sorry you had to spend even a minute of your vacation dealing with a less-than-perfectly clean environment. I know there is a certain level of satisfaction expected when staying at our properties and you did not receive this. Please be assured I will have our Housekeeping team address these concerns moving forward to avoid any future occurrences of this nature. Thank you for making us aware.

I do also appreciate your feedback regarding your stay with us, as it provides me insights to where we may be able to improve our operation and the vacation experiences provided guests such as yourself.

Thank you.

Sean Cannard
Resort General Manager
Wyndham Sea Gardens Beach & Tennis Resort
sean.cannard@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Middlesex, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Great facility in a relatively quiet section of the beach. Our 2 bedroom unit had everything we needed for a great stay. Beds were comfortable too! Even had washer and drier. Beautiful 2 bath unit. A couple more comfortable chairs in the main living area would have been nice. Location was nice; An easy walk to the Pompano Pier.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joehadenough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, General Manager at Wyndham Sea Gardens, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Joehadenough-

Thanks very much for the kind words provided regarding your visit with us at our Sea Gardens Beach & Tennis Resort. I am pleased you and the family enjoyed your visit and were able to relax at the beach!

Until next time,

Sean Cannard
Resort General Manager
Wyndham Sea Gardens Beach & Tennis Resort
sean.cannard@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

It all depends on what you are looking for in a week stay. My husband & I booked for a week. Upon driving up, I was disappointed. The section we were given was not what was pictured (private balcony, newer outside look). It wasn't rickety but not my vision. However, let's get to the meat of my review. The room was great. Clean, well maintained, and full kitchen. The greenery/scenery was beautiful. Right across the way to the beach of the better half of Sea Gardens. Very family oriented with activities. We did not have problems with a "party" scene. All staff were helpful and courteous. But do be prepared for the sales pitch to the new Wyndham resorts down the road. We went and took tickets for the Serenity Cruise. We were not buying another time share.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shayinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bergen, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I'll start off by saying that we went as 4 adults & 2 children and this was exactly what we needed.
The Hotel is located in a quiet area, has 3 pools (2 heated), beach was great and right across the street (walking distance) and the room was very big with a full kitchen with every necessity we needed.
Since we were traveling with small kids and had a car rental, it was easy enough for us to get around to where we wanted and we also used the kitchen to cook meals which is a plus for us when we travel as a full family.

The reason I did not give it 5 stars is because it's not a luxury hotel and you would need a car as there isn't anything around the hotel itself to explore. In addition, renting beach chairs was expensive in our liking, $20.

Highly recommended for families with kids looking to explore the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoronBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pompano Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort
#4 of 38 in Pompano Beach
632 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Costa Beach Club Resort
La Costa Beach Club Resort
#9 of 38 in Pompano Beach
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
#3 of 38 in Pompano Beach
1,343 reviews
4.4 mi away
Wyndham Palm-Aire
Wyndham Palm-Aire
#6 of 38 in Pompano Beach
987 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wyndham Santa Barbara
Wyndham Santa Barbara
#1 of 17 in Pompano Beach
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Sea Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Sea Gardens

Property: Wyndham Sea Gardens
Address: 615 N Ocean Blvd, Pompano Beach, FL 33062-4608 (Formerly Fairfield Sea Gardens Beach and Tennis Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Pompano Beach
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Sea Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Sea Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Sea Gardens Hotel Pompano Beach
Wyndham Hotel Pompano Beach
Wyndham Pompano Beach
Pompano Beach Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing