We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Caught it during renovations” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Sea Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wyndham Sea Gardens
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Pompano Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Caught it during renovations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

It would have been nice to be in the beach side properties but they were under renovations. The whole property needs a face lift, stay in the ocean palms building for a better experience. The ocean palms building has covered parking, more of a highrise feel and better units. The cabana properties are renovated with new furniture and flat screens but still stay in the ocean palms. Ask for Shek if there is no bellman( giving the bellman off on saturday of labor day weekend is pretty silly), evelyn was also very helpful and hospitable.

Room Tip: Ocean Palms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TangyEvents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    244
    113
    69
    50
See reviews for
246
230
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed in a 2 Bedroom/2 Bath unit in the newer Ocean Palms Building at the Wyndham Sea Gardens Resort. The accommodations were very nice and up-to-date. The only negative was a shortage of lamps and the use of low wattage bulbs. That made the unit nice and bright during the day, but quite dark at night. Parking was inside at one end of the building, and there were always enough spaces. Pompano Beach is a really nice place to stay, with numerous restaurants nearby. Vacationing without a car, however, would be difficult.

The big problem during the winter (we stayed there the middle of December) is that the sun has a very difficult time reaching the swimming pools. There is a beautiful pool adjacent to the Ocean Palms Building. The problem is that the sun is low in the sky in the winter, and the building is quite tall. With the pool located to the west of the building, the sun was gone from the pool area by around noon or 1 PM. Anyone who stayed at the pool after that time had to move their chairs into a nearby parking lot to find any sun. It doesn't feel much like a vacation when you have to get your sun in a parking lot. I would expect that the problem with the sun is not as significant in the summer, when the sun is higher in the sky.

The rest of the resort is set up a little like a motel, with most buildings two stories. The innner courtyard is beautifully landscaped and has a nice bar and grill area. Across the street, directly on the beach, is a separate building with smaller, older units that have been recently updated. The pool at that location is unheated, which makes it quite cold in December.

In conclusion, this resort deserves a solid 4 for the facilities and a 2 for the swimming pools. If you don't plan to spend a lot of time at the pools, this would be a great place for couples, families and friends.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the newer Ocean Palms Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wisnuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

I had to change rooms 3 times because of ants and air conditioning not working. Everytime I inhaled, I thought I was breathing in old stale, dustmite air. I was told by the general manager, because of the ants that there must be a "food source". I guess so, since they were in the bed, desk, bathroom and kitchen. I asked the hotel to spray while I was gone for a day and I got a can of raid. However, the front desk staff were very helpful and courteous but I still ended up with bed bug bites which resulted in skin rashes and hives. I thought I had an allergic reaction to something else but ended up going to my doctor when I returned home because of bumps on my face, arms, and legs that also itched. I thought the rooms were dirty and I could never see because of low lighting. Even though the beach was just across the street, This has to be the worst trip I have been on in which it took a year to save up. I was interested in signing up for a timeshare but not now.

Room Tip: Pictures can be deceiving! Make sure you don't get the rooms during renovations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pompano Beach hotels

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

We were lucky and stayed in a front end studio unit.... with the greatest view of the ocean! It's true the decor is tired and can use a deep cleaning. Everything was livable and there is even a washer and dryer.The beach is beautiful. We really didn't use any of the resorts pools or tiki bar across the street but we did walk through it. I am glad our room was across the street and beachfront.... nice and quiet. Go have fun and don't sweat the small stuff LOCATION LOCATION great beach! oh, there is no balcony to sit , standing room only if that.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olive21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, Georgia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

This resort is divided up into 4 different sections. There are studios in a building right on the beach. The rest of the resort is across the ocean drive. The grounds are beautifully landscaped. There are 3 pools in the resort, 1 by each main area, and there is a little sundries store. Our 2 bedroom/ 2 bath unit was in the farthest building from the ocean, the Ocean Palms building. Our unit was huge and in really great condition. We also liked that there was a parking garage under the condos. We didn't even have to leave the garage to get to our unit---a nice feature if the weather happened to be bad. Our unit was very clean and nicely decorated. It had a huge master suite with jacuzzi tub and shower. The 2nd bathroom was connected to the 2nd bedroom as well as the living area so it could work like another suite bedroom. There was even a full size washer and drier. They offered daily activities, but we were only there for 4 nights and didn't participate in any of the activities. Only negative was lack of wi fi in the rooms. We were able to get it by the lobby. They have a nice outside seating area with electric sockets so we were able to sit outside with our laptop plugged in and use the internet. Wasn't always fast, but did it's job for checking emails. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and won't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slabeaume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

Firstly , Set your expectations: this is not the Ritz Carlton or any other 5 star resort...but it doesn't have to be. The Sea Gardens had everything to make my 1 week stay here very enjoyable for me and my family. (my wife, 8 year old, and 5 year old all loved it here)

Service was great. The people were very accommodating and i had the overall impression that this was a very tight-run ship. When we asked for a room-change from the cabanas to a room with a balcony, the staff moved us to the 'waterfalls' building without even a flinch. The timeshare sales-pitch was over and done in seconds, with an offer to take in a breakfast at another WYndham resort and go through the 1-2 hour demonstration. We politely said 'no' and never heard any more about this for the rest of the week. (there's no people walking around the resort trying to sign you up). Overall, the staff was out of your face and I like that.

The landscaping was very nice, with tropical trees and plants everywhere. several palm trees. You definitely had a tropical feeling to the place
Crossing the A1A to get to the beach was no big deal: walk to the beach sand in 3-4 minutes from our unit. The beach was fantastic..water was warm and clean. No lifeguards at the pools or the beaches. There are boat rentals set up on the beach for wave-runners, kayaks, standing paddle boats and they offer a discount for Wyndham guests.

The TIKI bar was cool, located near the main pool with music playing all day until 8pm. Yes, the bar closes at 8pm which is disappointing, but I totally understand that they don't want guests getting all liquored up into the late hours and disturbing others guests.

The room was fine and well-equipped with cleaning supplies, two TVS and a stereo. Almost all rooms have been renovated and I was pretty happy at the size . It seems the further you get from the beach, the bigger the room. The studios near the beach were going through extensive renovations, but I heard that they are quite small. the rest of the resort consists of multi-bedroom units with very good space.

WIFI is available ! other reviews have said no internet,, but WIFI is free from AT&T hotspot. and I'm guessing this is a new feature.
I stayed at the 'WATERFALLS' building. which is a 4 story building with elevator. there is the ocean palms building which is at least 10 stories and I heard is beautiful. I preferred the smaller waterfalls building with nice balconies overlooking the gardens. My wife and I stayed on the balcony for hours after our 8 year old and 5 year old went to bed. it was beautiful.

I'm a very easy-going person..there are FAR more positives about this place than negative, so my complaints were minimal. 1: the lighting. Across the entire resort they opted to use BLINDING BRIGHT WHITE Compact Florescent bulbs in the rooms and in the gardens. Props to the energy conservation, but wish they used something a little warmer in color and less powerful.

2: I observed there were some people using the facilities that didn't belong to the resort. One entire group of people were sent packing by security guard, and some kid who fessed up that he LIVES in Pompano and his grandmother just brings him here to swim while she reads a book all day.

thats about it. If you're easy going and not picky about details, I recommend this place a s great FLorida destination.

Make sure you have a car, as amenities are not closeby. (restaurants, grocery stores, shopping - all driving distance).

Room Tip: 'Waterfalls' and
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mark89x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

I am appalled at the points I paid, and stayed in the HORRIFIC Waterfall Building. It was FILTHLY dirty! Old, cracked floors, stained carpet, moldy shower curtain, broken blind, bed bugs, hard bed, 1 inch dirt beneath my bed. This was a GROSS room. Never felt relaxed!
Drove down a dark alley to park near our room.
Staff OK, tried to move us, but had no other room

AVOID AT ALL COST

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tami S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pompano Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
La Costa Beach Club Resort
La Costa Beach Club Resort
#13 of 36 in Pompano Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
#2 of 36 in Pompano Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Wyndham Palm-Aire
Wyndham Palm-Aire
#6 of 36 in Pompano Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wyndham Santa Barbara
Wyndham Santa Barbara
#1 of 16 in Pompano Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Royal Vista
Wyndham Royal Vista
#9 of 36 in Pompano Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Sea Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Sea Gardens

Property: Wyndham Sea Gardens
Address: 615 North Ocean Blvd, Pompano Beach, FL 33062 (Formerly Fairfield Sea Gardens Beach and Tennis Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Pompano Beach
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Sea Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Vacatia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Wyndham Sea Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Sea Gardens Hotel Pompano Beach
Wyndham Hotel Pompano Beach
Wyndham Pompano Beach
Pompano Beach Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing