We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hidden gem.”

Cypress Nook Bavaria Haus Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 358 Restaurants in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Bavaria Haus is a local hidden treasure full service German-American restaurant. Since 1958, this free standing restaurant resembles an old style house and cottage. Hugh oak tree canopy covers outside dinning patio. Self parking in our lot.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Wonderful hidden gem.”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My first German restaurant..Very Authentic because I went with a person of German Ancestry that knows about their food..The owner was very pleasant,the ambiance was old country,

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank parent34646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    100
    23
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DFW
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem, unbelieveable Find”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Outstanding full service restaurant from Breakfast to lunch to dinner......authentic, family owned and operated. Great service, reasonable pricing....small but quaint. BE PREPARED TO WAIT! THERE IS A REASON.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eaglehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I tired of seafood, so we thought we would try the Cypress Nook. It is a small place with about 10/12 tables. We arrived about 7:45 and the place was packed. We only had to wait a few minutes and a table became available. My wife had the sauerbraten with red cabbage and German potato salad and I had the same except I had spinach and noodles for sides. They served so much food we cold not eat it all. The service was very good and the prices were very reasonable. I would highly recommend this restaurant .

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cozy environment, delicious food!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I'm going to give you the entire story, because other reviewers are providing a disservice by not writing the good, bad and ugly. My husband and I went for dinner 8/24. There was a huge line but we were informed right off the bat ALONG WITH EVERYONE else that this is a family owned and run restaurant and the chef had an emergency and is out of town. Everyone had the option to leave, and yet most everyone decided to stay because as I saw in their hands they wanted to use their coupon. Some customers waiting started to really get angry and voice their opinion, but my take is that if you are so unhappy that you can't wait then leave or get a refund for your coupons, but don't stay and then complain and ruin everyone else's night with your nagging...Once we got in the place it looked exactly as depicted minus the table cloths, which seeing the pictures posted here obviously shows some kind of group event rather than a nightly service as the tables in the picture are put together. Anyway, the tables were nice, with beautiful little flowers painted on them, and we did get cloth napkins.=0)One of the owners was our server and you could tell on her face she was overwhelmed with running the restaurant by herself, but she tried her best to make everyone happy. She had 3 young helpers getting her drinks. It was a bit chaotic, but AGAIN THE GUESTS WERE WARNED OF THE SITUATION...The food took some time, but when we did receive it was delicious. My husband had a pan fried schnitzel with a jaeger sauce that was just divine and apparently made to order.=0) He had home made spaetzle and red cabbage as his sides, both of which were to die for. The portions were huge and I wish I have taken a picture, but I was starving. Let's just say that you get enough food for 2 meals... I had the sauerbraten with cucumber salad and sauteed fresh spinach, which reminded me of my childhood. It brought back fond memories visiting my grandmother in Germany and having her equally delicious sauerbraten...For dessert we order and apple strudel hot out of the oven with vanilla ice cream. One word, "HEAVENLY"! And we got a great discount buying a coupon online...Recommendations,1)Call ahead and see how long the wait is 2)Go on a weekday, because I'm sure there wont be a wait or at least not as long...Lastly, this family owned this little "Nook" for 34 years, so believe me you are going to get good food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elegant926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Nice little spot in pompano Irish/German food, its pretty good food and a cozy atmosphere, bring cash tough because they don't take credit cards

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jplandino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cypress Nook Bavaria Haus Restaurant also viewed

Pompano Beach, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 
Pompano Beach, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 
Pompano Beach, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 

Been to Cypress Nook Bavaria Haus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing