We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Kept Secret of Pompano Beach”
Review of Calypso Restaurant

Calypso Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 357 Restaurants in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Brielle, NJ
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret of Pompano Beach”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great fresh seafood in a restaurant filled with locals. Attentive service, interesting menu choices,
Save room for dessert!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoAnnMcW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    122
    28
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great wings”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I am not really a wing person but had to try the Curry wings. Great flavor and value will stop every year during our stay.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank steveweese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mmmm Mmmm good (and fresh)”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I have been a customer of Calypso for almost 20 years. I love to take friends and family there for their first experience (never their last) to see thier faces and hear hear their mmm's. Chuck and Laura are the most hands-on owners I ever met. Their atention to detail, friendly personalities, and awesome menu make this place a MUST VISIT when in South Florida. They are not open Saturday and Sunday.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
“The Best Conch Salad Ever & Laura's Chocolate & Coconut Pie is INCREDIBLE!”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I Love Calypso! Been going here for years! A Locals Secret! Freshest Seafood & Unique Dishes! The best Conch Salad I have ever had! Has fresh thyme in it! I mix some of their homemade Ginger Dressing with the Scotch Bonnet Sauce for dipping! Delicious!

Don't forget to ask for a piece of the Chocolate Coconut Pie Laura Makes - before you order your meal! They run out quick! It is incredible!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D0nna_Mas0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
102 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Neighborhood seafood for everyone”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

What a great place for a lunch or dinner. Seafood is fresh daily and shown on the chalk board. Really laid back place that is perfect for locals or visitors.
We had the smoked fish dip which was some of the best - mostly fish and not extras like mayo or cream cheese.
Grilled fish was perfectly prepared. Shrimp scallop burger was really great - they use egg white so you don't get any unusually egg tastes but the whole things stays together nicely.
Dessert was awesome - double coconut pie. I think the crust is the best part!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calypso Restaurant also viewed

Pompano Beach, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 
Pompano Beach, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 

Been to Calypso Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing