We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love me some west indies shrimp”
Review of Calypso Restaurant

Calypso Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 357 Restaurants in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Pompano Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love me some west indies shrimp”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

When you talk about a little hole in the wall, you must be talking about this place. If you don't know about you would drive right by it. The food is excellent. Have not had a bad meal. Also try the shrimp/scallop burger.
A little on the pricey side but one not to miss!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    122
    28
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Second Time Around”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Just reinforced my first review impressions. This time for a late lunch - they serve until 4. Where else can you get top notch giant fried conch appetizer, a great choice of West Indies curry plates and my grilled squid sandwich?

Yes, grilled squid. Not your franchised fast-food drive through.

Get on over there, relax your attitude and enjoy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NY-FL-71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Over priced!”
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

My experience is only based on going during lunch. The food is very good but it is over priced, especially for the portions. The wait is always very long for service and a have to account for an hour and a half lunch break. Drinks are in cans and you only get one. Again the food is good but not great. fish sandwich for$16? Give me a break, go to flannigans and get a bigger and fresher priced for$ 12.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Moe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, not so great service.”
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

The food was outstanding. The waitress was not very attentive. And it wasn't like she was very busy, we were one of her three tables. Two 2-tops and one 4-top. My wife was very aggravated that no one would say "you're welcome" to our many thank you's. But the food made it all worth the trip, I doubt we'll go back though.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ledchevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORIDA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Well I think I had high hopes for this bc of all the hype..we went there and tried 2 soups...one was Lime, the other was their famous conch chowder, which I thought lacked immensly! The food we ordered was mostly appetizers..which were good, and most were fried and the batter was tasty, but Id have to say the fish lacked flavor....the size of portions were great and we were stuffed..but it was lacking SOMETHING...although we didnt have any of the main dishes because it was super pricy.....its worth a try

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DUCKEE55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calypso Restaurant also viewed

Pompano Beach, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 
Pompano Beach, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 

Been to Calypso Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing