We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Sashimi tuna pizza forever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Darrel & Oliver's Cafe Maxx

Darrel & Oliver's Cafe Maxx
Reserve with OpenTable
Darrel & Oliver's Cafe Maxx is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 341 Restaurants in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sashimi tuna pizza forever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

This is a great restaurant in south Florida not much on location but the food and service is great. I have went about four times and I was never let down. The tuna sashimi pizza is wonderful as well as the caviar pie. Come here to wine and dine then go elsewhere for scenery

Helpful?
Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    32
    17
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, good service, casual atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Went on a Thursday night. Two couples. I had the banana and nut crusted mahi mahi. Presentation beautiful. Tasted great. Appetizer was the Kobe beef meatballs. - Wow. My wife and friends each had a different meal and all were great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marvin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“It is always a treat, this is where I celebrate my anniversary every year ;)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I absolutely LOVE this place.

The service is good, the food is AMAZING.
I would not go there with kids, it is perfect for romantic/special occasions.

Prices are high (for me, but it is absolutely worth it), but sometimes they have a fix menu that is a great great deal.
We did the dine out menu, and everything we order was excellent. That day the special they had for main course was chicken stuffed with lobster, mushrooms and sun dried tomatoes. OMG, it doesn't get better than that.
If you have never been, you gotta try it. You'll be pleasantly surprised. Make reservations.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marcela a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“"So good, you will slap your Momma"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Cafe Maxx has been amazing for years. I am like others, taking a little hiatus. Not sure , maybe it's the hundreds of restaurant choices in So Fl. Wish they would drop flyers at nearby homes to remind us.
I do think the outside needs glitz, as the curb appeal is lacking. You truly need a few outside chandeliers.
The food? Super amazing!
Start with the caviar pie and a great glass of wine. Don't forget the bread.
The servers need a little butt kick to serve in a fancy joint like this. Managers are amazing! Valet are very nice and professional.
All appetizers and salad amazing too! Excellent prices, eat here before Houston's. Stop there for a glass of wine after.
Any food items makes you cry with joy. Truly a party in your mouth! "So good you will slap your Momma!"

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank starhotelFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I joined another couple for dinner here recently and had a great meal. We had not been there for years. The atmosphere is relaxed and comfortabl,e but the food is at a gourmet level. Our starters and entrees were all delicious. It is a great sign when you don't think you could ever replicate the dish yourself. They also allowed us to linger at the table and talk instead of trying to push us out. The service was just right. I will definitely go back and would recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillyWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darrel & Oliver's Cafe Maxx also viewed

Pompano Beach, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 
Pompano Beach, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 
Pompano Beach, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 

Been to Darrel & Oliver's Cafe Maxx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing