We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Dinner”

Darrel & Oliver's Cafe Maxx
Reserve with OpenTable
Darrel & Oliver's Cafe Maxx is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 358 Restaurants in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fabulous Dinner”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had dinner at Cafe Maxx, as part of "Dine Out Ft. Lauderdale 2012". (participating restaurants offer $35/person, complete meals) Our dining experience, tonight, was wonderful. We had an extensive menu, to choose from: 1st and 2nd Course Appetizers ( I had Banana-Lime Grilled Shrimp and Classic Cafe Maxx Caesar Salad). Main Course: I had Petite Three Peppercorn Filet Mignon and Triple-Chocolate Brownie w/vanilla ice cream and chocolate sauce, for dessert. {There was a choice of 7-8 different offerings, for each course} All the food was delicious and beautifully presented. The wait staff was excellent and took very good care of us.
We will definitely return. (Reservations are recommended)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Racefan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    38
    19
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lighthouse Point, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
“Awesome”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

A must go to! Chef Oliver is the bomb. Whatever I eat, Im always more than satisfied! Beautiful ambiance and great staff. If you don't have reservations you can always sit at the bar. Ron will take great care of you!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Catt16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to dine”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We decided to try this restaurant during Dine Out Ft. Lauderdale month and we were not disappointed. The special menu had lots of creative choices and was actually a 4 course dinner instead of three. Each course was delicious and attractively presented. Please be aware that this $35 fixed price menu is only served Sunday through Thursday.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happyasalark15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Flavors...”
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

The sushi pizza was a great choice to start with... I had the fillet, the steak was great but the potatoes were ever better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank liamsullivan67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse Point, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised!”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I made reservations at Cafe Maxx for dinner on Friday evening with a little trepidation after reading reviews here on TA. Our children had given us a gift certificate for our anniversary so we had planned to use it. I called the restaurant directly and requested a booth, if available. Then I checked out the menu online and thought ,"oh, boy , this is quite pricey and our GC is not going to go very far".

We arrived on time and the host was very pleasant and sat us in a booth near the bar. He even apologized for the noisy group in the bar and said they would be seated soon but that didn't bother us at all.

Our waitress came by and took our drink order and then a little later our appetizer order and let us enjoy both without rushing us in the least before she took our entree order. It was very relax
ing and just the way I like to enjoy my meal.

We ended up having 3 glasses of wine, a vodka cocktail (with a very good pour my husband said) , the crab flatbread, one of the half portion pastas and an entree and the bill totalled $98.

We were very happy with our meal and our experience and plan to visit Cafe Maxx again in the near future.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lhptraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darrel & Oliver's Cafe Maxx also viewed

Lighthouse Point, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 

Been to Darrel & Oliver's Cafe Maxx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing