We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is very good, but the scene's the thing”
Review of Houston's

Houston's
Ranked #10 of 358 Restaurants in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Food is very good, but the scene's the thing”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Sit outside and watch the boats, and the bridge going up and down -- awesome atmosphere! My wife always gets ribs and they are still good. Other things including burgers are tasty. TIP #1: you can order food and the delicious cocktails at the outside high tables right by the water. Fine for just two or three people. TIP #2: This place is jammed in winter, arrive REALLY early or be ready to wait. They don't take reservations. (Waiting isn't all bad with the scene on the water.) In summer you can get a table inside any time, but you are here to sit outside!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    584
    361
    124
    55
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houma, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect place”
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Houston's is on the water. You can eat inside or out. Valet parking is available also. Outside you have a waterfront view, but you do have to worry about birds landing on the deck after a dropped morsel of food. Window seating inside was perfect for me. I had grilled artichokes appetizer. First time The service and food absolutely great. This was a dinner outing for two

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Medcare2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Good food!”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

My husband and I went to this restaurant yesterday for lunch.
We sat inside (even if there is a nice patio outside). The room inside was quite big and the kitchen is open, so that it can be fun to see the cooks at work ;-)
The staff was very friendly and smiling all the time.
In the menu, there was a great choice of appetizers, meat dishes, fish dishes, burgers and their specialties.
My husband chose to eat a fish burger: big piece of fish fried, served with coleslaw: very tasty.
I chose to eat a veggie burger: rice, beans and oats with a sweet tasty sauce. Very flavorful too.
We ordered also the kale salad (the best part of the meal in fact: fresh kale with a peanut sauce, very delicious) and a side of coleslaw. (Very good).
For the drinks: my husband had a lemonade and I chose to have a diet coke with no ice (but for this I was a little bit disappointed because they brought me a little bottle of diet coke, and it was not like usually, free refills on sodas! Very odd?). The prices are "normal" for this kind of food (about 30US per person).
But, finally we were happy for having lunch there. I recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eliselev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I still crave the homemade buttermilk ranch dressing. Excellent filet, awesome ambiance. The riverside dining at night is beautiful. Must see!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Maybe the wait is long (reservations for up to four are accepted but hard to get) but the food is always good. We return often, the service is very attentive. Some people classify it as pricey but for the quality is in-line with the charge.

No matter what you will order, I am sure you will be pleased. There are certainly more trendy places but if you are in the neighborhood, this is one of the best, if not the best choice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CandyManMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houston's also viewed

Pompano Beach, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 
Pompano Beach, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 

Been to Houston's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing