We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Ribs!”

Bobby Rubino's Place for Ribs
Ranked #20 of 358 Restaurants in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice Ribs!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We found this little place doing a driveby on US 1 and decided to try it. Turned out to be pretty good ribs (apparently its what they are known for) and not expensive. Would definetly return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jplandino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    80
    29
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An old favorite that still performs”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I went to this restaurant when it first opened, long before wife, kids and grandkids. Bobby was the driving force behind Tony Roma's when Tony opened his first restaurant on Biscayne Blvd. in Miami. Bobby soon went out on his own with a small chain, Tony went national, the rest is history. I always preferred Bobby's ribs, very similar style. I had not been here in years but dragged my wife in for lunch while on a road trip thru Broward ( my old stomping grounds) Yes, it is not SoFlo glitz, but the food is still great, prices fantastic, service Outstanding! Bobby was all about proper greeting and service. Bobby is no longer with us, but his name and place for ribs carry on in Old Florida style. Visit this last of the chain and enjoy this old gem. By the way, the wife remembered me taking her here years ago and loved it! Best Key Lime pie on the Mainland, as good as many on the island

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyria, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Really Good Once But Has Aged Badly”
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

It's been awhile since we last ate here and having a yearning for ribs decided to make the trip.
The restaurant looks/feels like it's been ridden hard and not well cared for...it's just aged but not well.
We were seated right away and placed our orders with the waitress within 10 minutes but then waited almost 20 more minutes before any food showed up. The vaunted onion loaf was okay and the fried wings were pretty good. The rest of the meal was forgettable. Our racks of ribs, the dinner size at $19.99, were more appetizer sized and were only warm. Baked potatoes were only okay but fixings for them limited both in type and quantity.
The raspberry sweet tea was cloying and getting a refill took some waiting.
The entire place seems to be run on autopilot now and we'll try one of the many other BBQ places in the area next time. Suggest strongly you do the same when the yearning for ribs strikes you. Too bad, it used to be a really good place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wamrazing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Bobby Rubino's Place for Ribs”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stopped here for an early dinner on a weekday while on vacation in Pompano Beach. There was plenty of seating in the restaurant as well as a huge bar area. We were seated quickly and the server took our order right away.
We ordered the bar b q ribs and chicken and both were very good. We enjoyed our meal along with the quick and friendly service. We found a coupon in the local paper, so it was a value also.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jim521r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch out”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

My spouse and I stopped and one of our favorite places for lunch after shopping at the mall for husbands meal was very good as usual I had some trouble with the ribeye steak sandwich I asked them if the meet was cut very thin and that it had very little gristle or fat they said that it was but unfortunately it wasn't I ended up sending it back order bowl of potato soup which had very little potato flavor it tasted more like some sort of cream sauce with bacon onions and cheese my wife felt sick from it later that evening I hope they take a look at this soup try it themselves and see what they think of it and that maybe they should trim the meats a little more for sandwiches people are not expecting half-inch chunks of gristle in their sandwiches

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Denise123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bobby Rubino's Place for Ribs also viewed

Pompano Beach, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 
Pompano Beach, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 

Been to Bobby Rubino's Place for Ribs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing