We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveler rating
31
19
10
10
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
19
10
10
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudget lodgeacross the streetpompano areafort lauderdalegrillbeachocean
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 81 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed in March 2013 for one night and found the place to be dreary. The dark colors in the carpet (and the spread) masked our being able to judge the cleanliness. However, the bathroom door was badly in need of cleaning and/or painting. Also, there was mold along the tile in the bathroom. There are very basic items available in the room - soap and towels. No even a very small packet of kleenex or otherbasic anemities though we didn't think the price of the room was that low. The air conditioning and TV worked okay. However, there are much more cheerful places and we would not stay again. It has been grossly overrated, in our opinion.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Roseysee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed here for seven days over Spring Break. To hotel was really clean, right next to the beach, had an awesome grill to use, a pool, and on top of that, the staff was really helpful and friendly. We even got some great tips on stuff to do in Pompano beach. The convenience store was also a nice bonus for when you forget an item or two. Basically, this place was a fantastic deal, and I'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blake A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Clean? Affordable? Friendly Helpful Staff? Walking Distance to the Beach?

Yes! Yes! Yes and YESSS!!

GREAT PLACE to STAY!! We took advantage of all the amenities they had......bbq-ing options...nice big pool...good prime location....and even close enough to walk to the beach..it was perfect for us!!...We will def come back next year!! Look No More & Stay Here!

Side Note: The adjacent convenient store...came in vey handy for our family of 4!!

Room Tip: The rooms are clean, nicely appointed and quiet. And when we had any needs the staff were friendly and helpful -- they act like they actually CARE!!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budget L, Manager at The Palms On Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Thank you Ann for such kind words.
Can't wait to see you again next year!
Take Care, AP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

There were eight previous reviews and all were good. I don't understand it. We paid $100 for a very inadequate room. Very old. The carpet dark and dreary. Bathroom fixtures obsolete. The shower head fell off while I was showering and the water sprayed out like a bullet, almost flooding the restroom. I was able to cram it back on after getting the water stopped. The water was hard to adjust, very hot, but I finally got my shower taken and then mopped up the water with towels. Coffee in the room would have been so nice. There was no clock to glance at during the night. There were air conditioning issues, either too hot or too cold. I felt as though I did not sleep at all. The only positives I can mention are the flat screen TV and free Internet signal. It was just an old room, old fixtures, dark, dreary and felt dirty. Also, no restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Connie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budget L, Manager at The Palms On Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

First, thank you for choosing to stay at our motel. Let me start off by correcting some misinformation, the room you had rented was well below comparable motel rates in surrounding areas. You paid $85 plus tax when other others were charging $109 and up. As far as the carpet goes, please understand that the carpet is dark red (maroon) just as they are indicated in the pictures provided in numerous sites. Now as for the shower head, we apologize that the shower head was broken when you arrived in the room. We did not know that was the case or we would have not rented you that particular room. Soon as we read your comment we went to the room, saw it was broken, and within a half hour the shower head was replaced. If you had told us you had a problem we could have switched your room or even given you a refund, it is hard for us to know there is a problem like that when we are not told of it. It is our policy to always do our best to accommodate our guests. As far as the water being "hot"... you are welcome! The a/c has multiple options as in "energy saver " and a digital stroller which allows you to control the temperature of the room. As far as the fixtures goes, all the furniture in the rooms had been replaced in Nov. 2012. If you had asked us about any restaurants there are a couple within walking distance. (10 min walking, 2 min drive). Anyways, good luck on your trip hope you have better stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed three nights after a friend stayed here earlier. The hotel is clean, economical, convient to beach and restaurants. Very warm family run safe place to enjoy Pompano Beach. There is a BBQ available. Plenty of seating outdoors. And parking is so close. I preper to support family run businesses.

Room Tip: We liked room 18. Kitchenette and view of ocean.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budget L, Manager at The Palms On Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Thank you for the kind words also. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here.
Hope to you see you again!
Thank you Allyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews