We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not too bad” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Budget Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Budget Lodge
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Pompano Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not too bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

This motel, I hate to say looked sketchy, but since it was my 1st time in Ft Lauderdale I took a chance. It was a good idea too. The rooms are pretty clean, the location is great (being across the street from the beach), if you have a car you are within a couple miles of some restaurants and a Walmart, the cashier at the motel/mini mart was nice and helpful, and finally it was fairly cheap. I didn't pay $100 more like $70 after taxes. Which after going to a few hotels /motels was actually not too bad of a price. All in all I still have another day and night so we'll see if I'm completely satisfied, but as of right now it's good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTfromUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    16
    9
    9
    7
See reviews for
18
18
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed in March 2013 for one night and found the place to be dreary. The dark colors in the carpet (and the spread) masked our being able to judge the cleanliness. However, the bathroom door was badly in need of cleaning and/or painting. Also, there was mold along the tile in the bathroom. There are very basic items available in the room - soap and towels. No even a very small packet of kleenex or otherbasic anemities though we didn't think the price of the room was that low. The air conditioning and TV worked okay. However, there are much more cheerful places and we would not stay again. It has been grossly overrated, in our opinion.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Roseysee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed here for seven days over Spring Break. To hotel was really clean, right next to the beach, had an awesome grill to use, a pool, and on top of that, the staff was really helpful and friendly. We even got some great tips on stuff to do in Pompano beach. The convenience store was also a nice bonus for when you forget an item or two. Basically, this place was a fantastic deal, and I'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blake A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Clean? Affordable? Friendly Helpful Staff? Walking Distance to the Beach?

Yes! Yes! Yes and YESSS!!

GREAT PLACE to STAY!! We took advantage of all the amenities they had......bbq-ing options...nice big pool...good prime location....and even close enough to walk to the beach..it was perfect for us!!...We will def come back next year!! Look No More & Stay Here!

Side Note: The adjacent convenient store...came in vey handy for our family of 4!!

Room Tip: The rooms are clean, nicely appointed and quiet. And when we had any needs the staff were friendly a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budget L, Manager at Budget Lodge, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you Ann for such kind words.
Can't wait to see you again next year!
Take Care, AP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Kentucky
Level Contributor
151 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

There were eight previous reviews and all were good. I don't understand it. We paid $100 for a very inadequate room. Very old. The carpet dark and dreary. Bathroom fixtures obsolete. The shower head fell off while I was showering and the water sprayed out like a bullet, almost flooding the restroom. I was able to cram it back on after getting the water stopped. The water was hard to adjust, very hot, but I finally got my shower taken and then mopped up the water with towels. Coffee in the room would have been so nice. There was no clock to glance at during the night. There were air conditioning issues, either too hot or too cold. I felt as though I did not sleep at all. The only positives I can mention are the flat screen TV and free Internet signal. It was just an old room, old fixtures, dark, dreary and felt dirty. Also, no restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Connie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budget L, Manager at Budget Lodge, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
First, thank you for choosing to stay at our motel. Let me start off by correcting some misinformation, the room you had rented was well below comparable motel rates in surrounding areas. You paid $85 plus tax when other others were charging $109 and up. As far as the carpet goes, please understand that the carpet is dark red (maroon) just as they are indicated in the pictures provided in numerous sites. Now as for the shower head, we apologize that the shower head was broken when you arrived in the room. We did not know that was the case or we would have not rented you that particular room. Soon as we read your comment we went to the room, saw it was broken, and within a half hour the shower head was replaced. If you had told us you had a problem we could have switched your room or even given you a refund, it is hard for us to know there is a problem like that when we are not told of it. It is our policy to always do our best to accommodate our guests. As far as the water being "hot"... you are welcome! The a/c has multiple options as in "energy saver " and a digital stroller which allows you to control the temperature of the room. As far as the fixtures goes, all the furniture in the rooms had been replaced in Nov. 2012. If you had asked us about any restaurants there are a couple within walking distance. (10 min walking, 2 min drive). Anyways, good luck on your trip hope you have better stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pompano Beach hotels

Boulder, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed three nights after a friend stayed here earlier. The hotel is clean, economical, convient to beach and restaurants. Very warm family run safe place to enjoy Pompano Beach. There is a BBQ available. Plenty of seating outdoors. And parking is so close. I preper to support family run businesses.

Room Tip: We liked room 18. Kitchenette and view of ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budget L, Manager at Budget Lodge, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for the kind words also. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here.
Hope to you see you again!
Thank you Allyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We are a family of four .... It was very clean! Carpets clean, rooms smelled fresh not nasty! The shower was great. Just like if we were home! The ocean was literally across the street! We will come back every year. We are very particular and this hotel was worth every single dollar and honestly I can not stress enough, how clean it was, quiet and never once did we feel unsafe. We strongly recommend to stay here. I read reviews constantly and I am very particular. Outstanding place to stay!! We also used there new stainless grill.. This allowed us to go buy some t bone steaks and burgers--great dinners we had!!

Michaud family
Syracuse ny

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nmichaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budget L, Manager at Budget Lodge, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Hello Mr. and Mrs. Michaud,
Thank you for the review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to see you again.
Thank you,
AP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pompano Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Pelican By The Sea Motel
Pelican By The Sea Motel
#13 of 36 in Pompano Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort in Pompano Beach, Florida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Budget Inn Ocean Resort
Budget Inn Ocean Resort
#17 of 36 in Pompano Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.3 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#14 of 36 in Pompano Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
#3 of 36 in Pompano Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Lodge

Property: Budget Lodge
Address: 831 N Ocean Blvd, Pompano Beach, FL 33062-4018
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Budget Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cozy motel is located in the heart of Pompano Beach, just steps away from its white-sand coastline. Here you can bask in the warm sunshine on the patio or while relaxing in swimming pool. Enjoy the free Wi-Fi located throughout the property and in each of the oversized bedrooms or efficiencies which also have a microwave, refrigerator, 32" flat screen TV, Satellite TV with over 200 + channels (including HBO). Guest at the Budget Lodge can enjoy the added convenience of the on-site Foodmart. For more exciting adventures, go stand up paddle boarding, jet skiing, parasailing, or windsurfing. This gem is located just minutes away from Isle Casino Racing Pompano Park, Muvico Theaters, and the Pompano Municipal Golf Course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Budget Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing