We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely dive with them...”

South Florida Diving Headquarters
Ranked #2 of 41 Tours in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: If you are Scuba Diving or Snorkeling from Palm Beach, Delray Beach, Boca Raton, Deerfield Beach, Pompano Beach, Ft. Lauderdale, Hollywood, Dania Beach and Miami call South Florida Diving Headquarters. We can accommodate large groups with our spacious 45' power cats or small private charters on our smaller 34' dive boat. If you're by yourself, no problem, we can always hook you up with a buddy on one of our daily dive trips. We have something for all ages & skill levels. "You can dive, snorkel or watch from above all on the same boat. "Why Choose South Florida? Because Pompano Beach and Ft. Lauderdale have: Biodiversity South Florida reefs are teaming with tropical fish, the same species seen throughout the Caribbean. Accessibility Come by plane, train or automobile. Three international airports, cheap airfares. No passport required and no entry & exit fees. Quick easy access down A1A from Deerfield and Ft. Lauderdale. Dive Conditions Because of the close proximity of the Gulf Stream, SE Florida reefs are bathed in warm clear water year around. Wreck Diving Capitol The Gold Coast claims over 100 shipwrecks in all depth ranges. Greater Ft. Lauderdale has the most active Artificial Reef Program.Short Boat Rides S. Florida's reef track begins less than a 1/4 mile offshore. You'll have made 2 dives before you could get to the keys! Drift Dives Does the thought of lazily drifting along the reef with the current and surfacing when you are ready appeal to you? Accommodations: We have every style and price to fit your taste or budget. From quaint cottages to luxury 5 star hotels. Rated Top Ten Scuba Diving Magazine rated SE Florida top ten in "World's best Wreck Diving, Marine Life & Value Destination", in 2004.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Definitely dive with them...”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

All around a good experience. Great staff & boats. Not their fault, but there is not much left of the reefs off of West Palm in general. It is a great place for new divers to learn how to dive, to practice, but in terms of beauty, it is really not what it used to be.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oceandiver95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    37
    9
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding as usual, the best dive operation around!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Just did 2 great dive trips with Captain Sean this past weekend and can't wait to return to do them again. On the dive to the "Nursery" we saw and made some awesome videos of 4 Nurse sharks...it is so cool to them in their own environment....2 thumbs up, thanks SFDH!!!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryLFett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Captain Sean and DM Nicole, Max did a great job for us”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

OW checkout dives went very well with the competent , hard working Skipper and crew. Conditions were so so until last dive on Ancient Mariner - which was a superb dive with great vis and almost no current.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disabled Divers Welcomed”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This professional crew is very knowledgeable of local dive sites and their main goal is to make the diver happy. We dove with South Florida Diving Headquarters as well as two other local companies in June. We were so impressed with SFDH, we dove with them exclusively this trip and will continue to do so in the future. They are truly a company driven to provide total customer satisfaction and it shows in everything they do.

We were impressed with the boats and the captains (Dennis and Darin) but was amazed by their willingness to adapt the dive plan to accommodate every skill level as well as the desire of their divers. If you want to go deep, they have that. If you want to float along above some gorgeous reefs, they've got that too!!! If you're looking to spear fish or haul in some "bugs", this is the happening place to be. If you just want to snorkel or go on a bubble watching tour, they can make it happen for you!! SFDH offers discover SCUBA and dive instruction for those who always wanted to, but never quite got around to it. There's never been a better time than now!!!

As a disabled diver, it is important that I have help getting in and out of the water. The crew with SFDH did so without making me feel like I was imposing on them. A special shout out to Donnie....you'll never know how much your kindness and willingness to go above and beyond was appreciated. Because of your desire to help, I know my husband was able to enjoy himself more because he didn't have to worry so much about me. He knew you had my back!!

I recommend this company to any one wanting a laid back, helpful and highly knowledgeable crew of dive masters, instructors and boat captains. The prices can't be beat, but the staff at SFDH is simply amazing!!! Thank you so much guys for a dive trip that was not just great, it was outstanding in too many ways to count!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Should have done a shore dive”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

While visiting my son in Florida, we decided to go on a dive out to the Abby reef with SFDH. Perhaps We are just spoiled by the service provided to divers in Belize, Roatan, and Turks & Caicos, where you have a dive master in the water with you, the staff helps you carry your gear, and the people are friendly and helpful. We arrived early for our dive, and several people wearing SFDH were milling about, but no one greeted us, told us where to put our gear, where to register, or even acknowledged that we were there. After carrying our 6 tanks plus BCs etc., to an area where we thought it would be out of the way, we went about asking where to register. The woman behind the counter was extremely rude to us when we just began to fill out the paper work on clip boards at the counter. Apparently that was not what we were supposed to do! But no one was around to tell us what to do. Once we got on the dive boat, we began to see masses of jellyfish in the water. We had not brought wet suits, as the water was warm, but had we been informed that there was a persistent (the dive master on the boat told us that this is a problem this time of the year) with jelly fish, we would have brought wet suits. When we got into the water for our first dive, it was OK, nice soft corals, some tropical fish, and LOTS of jellyfish. The dive aster stayed on the boat, which I have never had happen, but maybe she didn't want to get stung! During our safety stop we began to look around for a clear path to the surface without getting stung. We were able to get to the boat with no mishaps, until the second dive. It was a much nicer dive (more fish), but also more jelly fish. When it was time to surface we tried to swim up current from the mass of jellies on the surface, but couldn't seem to find an opening where we could surface with out being surrounded. Once on the surface, we were thrown a buoy line (another first) to pull ourselves to the boat. The jellies were sliding down the line and stung my son's girlfriend on the neck and chest. When she dropped to the back of the line, I began to try to pick my way through open spots so we wouldn't get stung again. The dive master, on the boat, began to scream at us, that we needed to get on the boat, and not take so long! I told her that if she wanted to come lead the group through the jellyfish, then we could hurry, but I wasn't going to rush and have jellyfish slide down the line onto my face and chest. Granted they are not responsible for the diving conditions, but they ARE responsible for informing the divers of adverse conditions at the dock where appropriate gear can be brought, or the dive canceled. As I said in the beginning, we are not novice divers, and have dove in diverse places, under a variety of conditions, but the dive masters were always there with us, looking out for our well being. This operation, is a disaster waiting to happen. I can't imagine that PADI would approve of divers diving alone in these conditions.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Ectheriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Florida Diving Headquarters also viewed

Pompano Beach, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 

Been to South Florida Diving Headquarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing