We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended!”
Review of Fish Shack

Fish Shack
Ranked #1 of 357 Restaurants in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended!”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We could not believe the quality of the seafood. We had blackened mahi mahi, a grouper sandwich, fried conch among other tasty treats. The fish was succulent and as fresh as we have ever had. Yeah, we had to wait but the $2 beers made that easy to do. Yeah, we had to stand because of limited seating, but that facilitated great conversation with local folks who were also waiting and most helpful about things to do and see in the area (we're from Seattle). The place is a bit tough to find without a GPS since its a block off the main drag and faces a residential area. Its a "must eat at" place if you're in the area. Memorable!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RustyInSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    462
    170
    27
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The real deal”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Drive down the road in any town by an ocean and you'll find the kind of little restaurant that truly and only cares about the quality of the fish and the simplicity of the preparation. But while those places are always there, they are sometimes hard to find amidst the pretenders. The Fish Shack is exactly what you hope to find: High quality fish in classic versions, made to order and served with no fuss or hype. It's a small place and very popular, so either be patient (because you will be richly rewarded) or call for take-out. Their coleslaw could use a bit of revamping, but I now dream about their fried shrimp in buffalo sauce and plan to get back there for some as soon as I land in the area again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelRaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Regulars here”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The food is absolutely outstanding here for that it is five star! But difficult to get a seat as it is VERY small place with only a few tables. You will never go here and not wait, but again the food is outstanding! I am a Cracked Conch fan as well, have had several other fish dishes too, the oysters are the best in town, great quality! I would give it 5 stars if not for the always waiting, forget about taking other people with you like a table of 6 or so, virtually impossible. But for 1 or 2 people, absolutely do not wait, head there now, you will be very impressed!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brucelj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't Hesitate!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I've been here many times both for take-out and dine-in. Never disappointed. The cracked conch is tremendous, are is the conch fritters. Try the shrimp and scallop burger. Everything is as fresh as it can get, and masterfully prepared. Top notch food at reasonable prices.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BradYaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield - Delaware County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The Best Seafood You Can Get, Period.”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

It was a beautiful Sunday afternoon, following a suggestion of my sister in law, we decided to
try a little seafood place that she had tried earlier in the week that she claimed, was impressive.
We pulled up to the restaurant and noticed the were closed. We all got out and read the hours sign and sighed.
Rest assured we would be back and boy was it worth it.

Residing in Cape May, I have
tried many seafood dishes but nothing with pure simplistic perfection such as was presented in the Fish Shack. My brother and his wife ordered variations of the Groper, as I ordered a Cajun yellow tuna steak. Yummy is an understatement. As you see in the pictures, you get exactly what you ordered. No flashy flatware, no excessively over the top ambiance, just damn good seafood at a more than fare price.

But please do not take my word for it, try it yourself. This husband/wife team that run this joint are shooting stars in the seafood restaurant business. I highly urge you to check them out.

Thank you for the experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aldo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Shack also viewed

Pompano Beach, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 
Pompano Beach, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 

Been to Fish Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing