We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something Missing”
Review of Fish Shack

Fish Shack
Ranked #1 of 358 Restaurants in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Something Missing”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The King read the reviews before visiting Fish Shack, so we knew what to expect. However, it still did not meet the expectations based on the reviews. The King and Queen have been to other places similar to this so the rating is based merely on quality of food compared to the others. Maybe it was the bread or the oyster crackers that were missing, who knows, but it was less than average compared to the others.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KingAtlanticCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    473
    173
    28
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great affordable seafood!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This little restaurant represents what I like about Pompano Beach....no frills, casual and awesome seafood. The only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is that there isn't enough parking. Must try the cracked conch! Yum.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LizQ61659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcellville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great little local restaurant!”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Just as others have described on here. Small no frills restaurant tucked away in a small strip mall where you'll likely have to get in line with the locals and tourists. Our family of 4 got our food to go since we didn't want to wait in line for a table. It was packed inside at the time we visited by young families, elderly couples and everyone in between. The seafood was fresh and cooked well. Our son loved his 1/2 lb cheeseburger too. For what you get, it all seems reasonably priced. The staff was friendly despite being very busy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, IL
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Freshest Seafood we ever had”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We were in Pompano Beach for the first time in October, 2013. Based on Trip Advisor reviews, we decided to try Fish Shack. We truly had the freshest, tastiest, no frills seafood EVER, and we're both in our mid-60's. Part of the fun is finding the place -- a 4-storefront commercial building tucked behind a commercial center right off the Federal Highway. Fish Shack has two four-top tables, two 2-top tables and 8 stools at the counter. They serve beer (Bud and Bud Light) and wine (red and white). But you are not there for the alcohol. You are there to select, from a limited menu, a fresh-caught fish prepared simply and DELICIOUSLY. One of the specials that night was swordfish steak. I love swordfish but haven't ordered it in a restaurant for years because it invariably comes overcooked and dry. At Fish Shack it was superb. Grilled to perfection, still moist and tender, no fancy sauces -- just great fish.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gayinoakpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Family style comfort food at its best!!!”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This small non-descript restaurant came recommended to us and it was definitely a recommendation we appreciated. As “down home” as you can find, the Fish Shack is tucked away in a small strip center next to a liquor store, there is clearly a following at this small family restaurant. Seating only 21 people, eight of whom sit at the bar, chances are there will be others waiting outside...and waiting is probably what you need to do. But it is worth it!!

This is a no frills restaurant serving all types of seafood from grouper, conch, shrimp, oysters, mahi mahi and more, plus fries, soup, burgers and plenty of variety. All of it is cooked as you like, with fish being fried, blackened, Cajun style or grilled. With most main dishes running $10 to $15 each, fries, salad or coles slaw included, plus $2.00 per glass draft beer, this is great comfort food, a warm friendly atmosphere and very easy on the budget. Don’t be put off by the line or the neighboring stores.
The Fish Shack is family style warmth at its best!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JerryTheRugGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Shack also viewed

Pompano Beach, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 
Pompano Beach, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 
Pompano Beach, Broward County
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
 

Been to Fish Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing