We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little local restaurant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fish Shack

Fish Shack
Ranked #2 of 355 Restaurants in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Purcellville, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great little local restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Just as others have described on here. Small no frills restaurant tucked away in a small strip mall where you'll likely have to get in line with the locals and tourists. Our family of 4 got our food to go since we didn't want to wait in line for a table. It was packed inside at the time we visited by young families, elderly couples and everyone in between. The seafood was fresh and cooked well. Our son loved his 1/2 lb cheeseburger too. For what you get, it all seems reasonably priced. The staff was friendly despite being very busy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    163
    27
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, IL
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Freshest Seafood we ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We were in Pompano Beach for the first time in October, 2013. Based on Trip Advisor reviews, we decided to try Fish Shack. We truly had the freshest, tastiest, no frills seafood EVER, and we're both in our mid-60's. Part of the fun is finding the place -- a 4-storefront commercial building tucked behind a commercial center right off the Federal Highway. Fish Shack has two four-top tables, two 2-top tables and 8 stools at the counter. They serve beer (Bud and Bud Light) and wine (red and white). But you are not there for the alcohol. You are there to select, from a limited menu, a fresh-caught fish prepared simply and DELICIOUSLY. One of the specials that night was swordfish steak. I love swordfish but haven't ordered it in a restaurant for years because it invariably comes overcooked and dry. At Fish Shack it was superb. Grilled to perfection, still moist and tender, no fancy sauces -- just great fish.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gayinoakpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
129 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Family style comfort food at its best!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

This small non-descript restaurant came recommended to us and it was definitely a recommendation we appreciated. As “down home” as you can find, the Fish Shack is tucked away in a small strip center next to a liquor store, there is clearly a following at this small family restaurant. Seating only 21 people, eight of whom sit at the bar, chances are there will be others waiting outside...and waiting is probably what you need to do. But it is worth it!!

This is a no frills restaurant serving all types of seafood from grouper, conch, shrimp, oysters, mahi mahi and more, plus fries, soup, burgers and plenty of variety. All of it is cooked as you like, with fish being fried, blackened, Cajun style or grilled. With most main dishes running $10 to $15 each, fries, salad or coles slaw included, plus $2.00 per glass draft beer, this is great comfort food, a warm friendly atmosphere and very easy on the budget. Don’t be put off by the line or the neighboring stores.
The Fish Shack is family style warmth at its best!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JerryTheRugGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
160 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“You can't get fish fresher than this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

WOW! Great fresh fish at good prices. It's a small place with a limited menu and there could be a wait, but YOU'LL MISS OUT if you don't eat here! I am really particular on my seafood and it doesn't get any fresher than what Mike servers here. The Fish Shack is off the beaten path, you would never find it just driving by, as it's hidden in a run-down strip mall a block off the main drag. Don’t let the run down appearance and decorations on the outside keep you from trying the place as the food is EXCELLENT.

Friend took me over for lunch and I can't wait to take my wife. You can't beat this and from now on they will be on my list of places to stop when I'm near Pompano Beach. YES, I'll go out of my way to stop by and eat here, it's that good.

So if you are from out of town and reading this, they are open Tue-Sat 11:30-9pm and if you want great seafood and don't mind a local hole in the wall place, you have to stop here. Seating is limited, so if you have a big group plan to wait or split up at a couple of tables (5 tables and the bar area).

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ThePCGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Pulled off the highway for this one based on TA recommendations. Pulled in the driveway and my husband said, "Are you kidding me?" We took the chance and glad we did. Very good fried clams, NE clam chowder, cheeseburgers, grilled fish. Only 4 tables and a counter for 8 - so make sure you go early. Lovely waitstaff - thank you!

Helpful?
Thank Brigett L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Shack also viewed

Pompano Beach, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 
Pompano Beach, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 
Pompano Beach, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 

Been to Fish Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing