We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property, excellent staff but …” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Santa Barbara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Trinidad, West Indies
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent property, excellent staff but …”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

The reviews are indeed true, the Wynhdam Santa Barbara, is truly a gem. The property itself is clean, well laid out, and a beauty to behold. The room met our expectations, it was clean, specious, and contained all the modern conveniences such as dishwasher, microwave, etc. The view from the room’s balcony was that of the waterfront. The pool area remained clean, as did the hot tub. Towels were easy to access.
The staff is attentive yet unobtrusive, extremely knowledgeable, and above all professional. My room was ready upon check in and the process convenient. At this point I like to make special mention of Glenn who checked us in and then did all within his power to ensure that all of our needs were met. I will also like make mention of Miss Pat, who did not only keep the lobby area in immaculate condition, but was also a great source of information. Thanks Miss Pat!!!
To truly enjoy the Pompano Beach area you definitely need a vehicle, as there is little or nothing to do in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. The public transport system though reliable often requires long waits for connecting buses, in addition to this, the bus service is unavailable after 11 PM. Even the Tiki bar at the hotel closes at sunset, resulting in zero night life.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trini-Rasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    92
    21
    10
    10
See reviews for
103
110
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
207 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

LOCATION
After calling to confirm, this is not the Wyndam on the beach. It's right off A1A and in between the ocean and intercoastal waterway, but it's not ocean front. There is beach access a short walk across the street and the same can be said for access to the waterway.

CHECK IN
The room was ready upon check in and the process was convenient. The gal who checked us in was from Boston and was very friendly and helpful.

ROOM
The room met our expectations. It wasn't super modern, but it was clean and very spacious. We had a 2 bedroom water view room and although our main view was an old tennis court and parking lot, we could see the ocean and the waterway as well. Our room had 2 bathrooms a full kitchen. Because this is a time share, they don't have daily maid service. There are trash and laundry shoots available though.

FOOD
Nothing other than a vending machine on property. They did have breakfast on Tuesday morning but it was mainly doughnuts and pastries, nothing much that was fresh or healthy. No room service, no pubs, nothing on site as far as food or snacks. There was an outdoor bar and grill area and they had prices listed but we didn't ever see it open during our stay.

POOL AREA
Remained clean, as did the hot tub. Towels were easy to access.

CONCIERGE
One word: PUSHY! They make you check in there to get a parking pass when you check in. My husband was gone for almost 30 minutes and it was because Miriam signed our whole family up for a lunch the following day, like a time share presentation. He came back to our room annoyed because she wouldn't let him leave her desk area without confirming a time share presentation time. As soon as he got back to our room I called Miriam and explained we booked through ORBITZ and were told we would not have to attend any presentations. She didn't and wouldn't listen! She was very pushy. Finally, I explained to her my parents and husband and I were only there for 4 days and we didn't want to commit our time and she rudely snapped back "So is everyone else!" - so needless to say, she wasn't helpful or friendly. She made clear she lived there for free and wanted to sell a timeshare. By far the worst part of our stay!

STAFF
The staff was always very helpful and friendly

AMENITIES
They had a pool, hot tub, computer, Wii, newspapers, etc.

FOR THE VALUE AND LOCATION, THIS WAS A GREAT PLACE TO STAY!

Room Tip: Call and ask not to look over the old tennis courts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
207 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

LOCATION
After calling to confirm, this is not the Wyndam on the beach. It's right off A1A and in between the ocean and intercoastal waterway, but it's not ocean front. There is beach access a short walk across the street and the same can be said for access to the waterway.

CHECK IN
The room was ready upon check in and the process was convenient. The gal who checked us in was from Boston and was very friendly and helpful.

ROOM
The room met our expectations. It wasn't super modern, but it was clean and very spacious. We had a 2 bedroom water view room and although our main view was an old tennis court and parking lot, we could see the ocean and the waterway as well. Our room had 2 bathrooms a full kitchen. Because this is a time share, they don't have daily maid service. There are trash and laundry shoots available though.

FOOD
Nothing other than a vending machine on property. They did have breakfast on Tuesday morning but it was mainly doughnuts and pastries, nothing much that was fresh or healthy. No room service, no pubs, nothing on site as far as food or snacks. There was an outdoor bar and grill area and they had prices listed but we didn't ever see it open during our stay.

POOL AREA
Remained clean, as did the hot tub. Towels were easy to access.

CONCIERGE
One word: PUSHY! They make you check in there to get a parking pass when you check in. My husband was gone for almost 30 minutes and it was because Miriam signed our whole family up for a lunch the following day, like a time share presentation. He came back to our room annoyed because she wouldn't let him leave her desk area without confirming a time share presentation time. As soon as he got back to our room I called Miriam and explained we booked through ORBITZ and were told we would not have to attend any presentations. She didn't and wouldn't listen! She was very pushy. Finally, I explained to her my parents and husband and I were only there for 4 days and we didn't want to commit our time and she rudely snapped back "So is everyone else!" - so needless to say, she wasn't helpful or friendly. She made clear she lived there for free and wanted to sell a timeshare. By far the worst part of our stay!

STAFF
The staff was always very helpful and friendly

AMENITIES
They had a pool, hot tub, computer, Wii, newspapers, etc.

FOR THE VALUE AND LOCATION, THIS WAS A GREAT PLACE TO STAY!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

I visit Florida often and have been coming to this hotel often as I find it to be as good as you will find anywhere in Pompano beach/Fort Lauderdale.Although it is mainly timeshare,these condos can be rented for a reasonable cost and are fully equipped with everything that you will need.The staff are really friendly and if you need anything,they will do all they can to provide it .I am going back here in 2 weeks time with my family who live in New York and I know we will be having a good time.Flanigans on Atlantic Blvd close by is a great place to eat.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

First Class / Very Professional Staff, Extremely Clean. Rooms are large , comfortable with free wifi. Do not hesitate making a reservation here. We will definitely be back. Our two kids were never bored. Beach is beautiful, two minute walk accross street.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nolemanOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

I have to say that I'm new to traveling and staying at rentals, I normally stay with friends. My experience was great, I agree with others regarding the a/c units. I had a good view, we enjoyed the beach, the staffp was nice especially Tameka she was very helpful, we caught the bus different places, room was clean. We came to relax it was quiet and we were well rested. One thing I will warn everyone is people will pretend to be your friend but they have one agenda, they want you to buy. One complaint the restaurant that was next door was bad. My time was blessed and well worth the trip.I would recommend staying, but first read all reviews.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JesusAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

We stayed at this timeshare resort during Fourth of July week. Having been in the world of timeshares for awhile, there are some things you expect, and some things you don't. The Wyndham Santa Barbara was okay. I wouldn't call it a resort, however, and those looking for such an experience should look elsewhere.

We have two kids, and we had one of the smaller rooms. One kid slept on the pull-out couch; the other slept on an air mattress on the floor. Our queen bed seemed more like a double. Still, the unit was clean when we arrived, and it was nice that they didn't expect us to clean the place up (though we mostly did) like most timeshare properties. Kitchen, microwave, fridge, and all the amenities. (Just remember that this is Florida, so put away your food. We had little bugs in the sink my the second day, and not because we are slobs, either.) The bathroom was rather cramped, and the shower curtain rod kept falling down and despite stuffing towels in to make it stay up, it did not. Thus, we had wet floors in the bathroom daily. There's a jetted tub in front of the bed, but we did not use it, so I can't review that. Glad that there's a safe in the room. We've been to timeshares where you had free use of a washer/dryer. Here, it's $1.50 per wash/$1.50 per dry. Annoying.

Also, the walls are not too thick. Every night, I was treated to the sound of the people above us, apparently rearranging their furniture.

The front desk was nice. They had to give us regular towels instead of the pool towels; they never seemed to have enough pool towels. (This was fine, however, as they didn't give us enough towels in our room in the first place, so we needed them.) They give you bracelets so that you can swim and use the facilities at the Wyndham across the street and down the block; we never used them. We simply crossed the street and used the nearby beach access., which was rather convenient. The Santa Barbara's pool was very small, and the little bar next to it had smokers, which made the experience rather unpleasant. Who wants to sit in a hot tub or pool while immersed in secondhand smoke?

But OH MY GAWD! How they pressed for us to go to a breakfast meeting to talk about time shares. DON'T DO IT! We once had a vacation ruined the first (and only) time we ever fell for the "We'll give you a Visa gift card if you come and take our survey" and we don't do it now. It eats up your vacation time and they're eager to sell you more stuff. Staff called and left messages for us daily, and when we didn't respond, they left us written notes under our door to join them for the survey. SHEESH. GIVE. IT. UP, Wyndham! It's OUR VACATION.

As an aside, It's a little sad to look out the windows and see the remnants of tennis courts where there must have been other properties.

So, in short: a decent launching place for your South Florida plans, but don't expect this place to provide you with a resort experience. Resort, it ain't. And don't agree to take the survey or you'll be sucked into the vortex.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank wrekehavoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pompano Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort in Pompano Beach, Florida
1.5 mi away
Wyndham Sea Gardens
Wyndham Sea Gardens
#15 of 37 in Pompano Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
#3 of 37 in Pompano Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,172 reviews
4.2 mi away
Wyndham Palm-Aire
Wyndham Palm-Aire
#6 of 37 in Pompano Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 853 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Royal Vista
Wyndham Royal Vista
#11 of 37 in Pompano Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Santa Barbara

Property: Wyndham Santa Barbara
Address: 1301 South Ocean Blvd, Pompano Beach, FL 33062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Santa Barbara 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Wyndham Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Santa Barbara Hotel Pompano Beach
Wyndham Hotel Pompano Beach
Wyndham Pompano Beach
Pompano Beach Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing