We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Trip, Amazing Resort, Excellent Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Santa Barbara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wyndham Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Trip, Amazing Resort, Excellent Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

We had an amazing time at the Wyndham Santa Barbara. The rooms were amazing, very comfortable and spacious. The staff had truly helped to make the trip! Thank you to everyone at the resort, especially the front desk staff, and Patrick at the concierge you helped to make our trip extra special! We were asked to do a survey at the other resort as well and found it to be a very informative trip, the gentleman we spoke with was very kind to us and did not try any high pressure sales tactics, he merely explained what Wyndham was all about and answered all of our questions, not to mention we received a great gift!! Thanks again to everyone we will be coming back very soon!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandtime23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    102
    21
    10
    10
See reviews for
110
116
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland, Fla.
Level Contributor
229 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

This is a Wyndham "Hotel" that is really a time share. If you are not already an owner, the main purpose of the concierge/info. desk staff is to get you to sign up for a free breakfast or a tour of this property and the "sister property" across the street. DON'T DO IT ! We said no, no again and again and again. Their main job is to sell you a Time Share, and they are very persistent.( We unfortunately had our first trip to Cancun in 1981 ruined by "signing up" for a free breakfast & tour of a Sheraton, and had NO idea it was a T.S. presentation, that lasted all day! That has helped us to say NO! to all subsequent invitations for "free stuff"-it is a ploy.)

The Wyndham property across the street is right on the beach, and Santa Barbara guests are given a beach towel and wrist bracelet so they can use the pool and beach area there if desired. Sounded great, except the pools at both hotels are very small. They do not have a sit down restaurant, and I had to wait in line with about 15 other people, for over 30 mins., to get two grilled fish sandwiches. The nice woman behind the grill needed some help, and she just couldn't keep up with all of the orders. I felt very sorry for her. The tiny deli has a very basic , cheap selection of mayonnaise & cabbage(slaw?), mayonnaise & potatoes(pot. salad?), chips, cookies, and ice cream.
The Tiki Bar was on the beach, and it was nice to get a drink and take it down to the beach. We had our own chairs, but they had chairs, umbrellas,and jet skis for rent. We enjoyed walking on the beach-the water is beautiful.

The room itself was decorated nicely, had a wonderful kitchenette, as well as a couch, coffee table, oversized tub, and small balcony with 2 chairs & a table. The problem was that the air-conditioner cycled all night long. When it came on it was very loud, and the air blew right on us. Then, after a few mins. it went off, and stayed off for about 15 mins. If there had been a fan that would continue to blow when the AC was cycling on & off, or if the rooms had overhead ceiling fans, it would have helped keep the room cool and cut down on the noise. Needless to say, we did not sleep for two nights.

To sum it up, the employees of both properties were very nice and friendly, the location of the hotel is good, and the rooms are nicely decorated. We liked the in-room safe, and having a frig. and sink. Also a big plus-free parking.

This is not a resort however, it is Time Share apartments, and unless you are just having a 1-2 night stayover, I would go elsewhere for a vacation. It is a good place for just a few days. Don't forget to bring a floor fan and ear wax.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank geezerhippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

beautiful view right across the street from the beach very friendly staff
would come again
Norman with the staff was dedicated to make our stay even better with his unbelievable willingness to go out of the way for us
Thanks Norman

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe60827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herning, Denmark
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

Very nice appartment with at jetted tub and a super view from the living room. Great and helpfull staff

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KTDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax County, VA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

Full disclosure: We own two fixed weeks at Santa Barbara, a 2BR unit in mid-summer, a 1BR unit the first week in January. I don't want to sell either one.

Wyndham Santa Barbara is not a hotel. It is a timeshare resort. Yes, they will rent on a nightly basis but most of the guests are Wyndham owners or their guests and may be more mature than at many resorts.

If you have children who need planned activities, Santa Barbara might not be your best choice. Royal Vista across the street is more of a full-service resort, has a bigger pool complex, and is on the beach. Otherwise, Santa Barbara can't be beat. However, the Fort Lauderdale area teems with things to do.

Staff is the best we've seen at any timeshare resort, anywhere. Front desk, concierge, maintenance, housekeeping, and management are all spectacularly friendly and efficient.

One and two bedroom units are the same size. They just carved a second bedroom out of the one bedroom unit. What means is the 1BR units are huge! Full kitchen, sleeper sofa in the living room and bedroom, whirlpool tub in the bedroom, two full baths, two balconies.

If you get a choice, ask for a unit that ends in 01 as high as possible in the building. These units are on the SW corner. You get a good ocean view between some buildings across the street, sun from morning to night, and a great view of the intracoastal waterway from the corner balcony. (One of our weeks is in Unit 801.) Also, a window over the kitchen sink overlooks the ICW and is so pretty that washing dishes could become fun!

I agree with two complaints. AC units are loud and you get some noise from the unit directly above, over the dining area.

Santa Barbara is a can't-miss resort.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank UmpChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

We stayed for 12 days in a one-bedroom apartment. It was like a second home. The place is very clean, everything worked well and the view from the two balconies was spectacular. The kitchen is fully equipped which makes it easy to cook and save some money. The staff, from the reception, concierge, to the cleaning crew was top notch, helpful and always courteous. The pool area is nice although we only spent a small amount of time there since the beach is right across the street. You get to use the facilities at the Wyndham Royal Vista which has the beach and it's nice too, although we preferred the serenity of the Santa Barbara to the hustle and bustle of the sister property. It's close to everything. We have no complaints about this place and hope to stay there in the future.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camundongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago il
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

I stayed at this property twice, both time in studios. The air conditioner is LOUD! AND it only turns on if there is people in the room. There are sensers so if you go out to the balcony for a long time, or leave the room to go out, the air conditioner will only start working when you are back in the room. We have stayed in many Wyndham properties and had the WORST sleep at the Santa Barbara. Location, amenties and staff are all good, but the noisy rooms is a big drawback unless you are a very good sleeper.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yunshii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pompano Beach
1.9 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort in Pompano Beach, Florida
6.6 mi away
Wyndham Deerfield Beach Resort
Wyndham Deerfield Beach Resort
#1 of 19 in Deerfield Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Wyndham Sea Gardens
Wyndham Sea Gardens
#15 of 37 in Pompano Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 587 reviews
4.2 mi away
Wyndham Palm-Aire
Wyndham Palm-Aire
#6 of 37 in Pompano Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 875 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
#3 of 37 in Pompano Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Santa Barbara

Property: Wyndham Santa Barbara
Address: 1301 S Ocean Blvd, Pompano Beach, FL 33062-6901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Santa Barbara 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Wyndham Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Santa Barbara Hotel Pompano Beach
Wyndham Hotel Pompano Beach
Wyndham Pompano Beach
Pompano Beach Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing