We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic German Food on the cheap” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Checkers Old Munchen

Checkers Old Munchen
2209 East Atlantic Blvd, Pompano Beach, FL 33062
(954) 785-7565
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 340 Restaurants in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: German, European, Central European, Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: North Federal Highway
Description: Situated off Atlantic Avenue, Checkers is a German styled restaurant with a Bavarian flair in Pompano Beach. We offer a large selection of authentic German beers and the best in German cuisine.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Authentic German Food on the cheap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

ask for the coupons they give out with your bill for your next visit, as much as 50% off the whole bill some nights. The chopped salad is one of my favorites, as is the Wiener Schnitzel...and for dessert, the apple strudel is amazing and HUGE. Great beer selection, but not great for wines unless you like German wines.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LMR1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    60
    18
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coconut Creek, Florida
1 review
“As authentic as my Oma's cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Love this restaurant. Rachel and others behind the bar are great. Matt is always making sure the machine is well oiled. I try to make it before or after the rush because it is indeed packed. No way around it, it's in high demand. Especially in season - (If you don't want to wait, go to Fritz & Franz German restaurant a few miles away. - it's empty there for a reason.)
Love the selection of beer, the stuffed schnitzel, rouladen, and the pork shank. One of the best kept secrets in Pompano. Keep up the good work!

Helpful?
Thank j a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great hidden gem in Pompano Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Went here a week ago with the family for dinner. Placed a reservation for 8 people at 7'oclock. The place was packed but our table was ready by our reservation time. We each grabbed a liter of authentic German beer (drinking from a mini boot) and had some tremendous appetizers. They brought some bread and hot pretzels to the table and we devoured everything. I got the Veal Wienerschnitzel with 2 sides (Spaetzel, and cucumber salad). Everything was great as I cleared the plate. The 2lb lamb shank was enormous, as two people in the group got that entree. We finished the evening with a very tasty Homemade apple Strudel and Kelly's German Chocolate cake. I would definitely recommend going here for some authentic German cuisine, but make sure to make a reservation as this place fills up quickly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Boston_Scaught
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
282 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Checkmate At Checkers.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I had always wanted to come in here, and I finally did with a gift certificate. If you have personal space issues; do not eat here. If you mind waiting for a table on a Saturday night; do not eat here. If you mind waiting with no place to sit and wait; do not eat here. All that being said; this is still a great place to eat. But I certainly learned my lesson not to go when it is crowded for weekend dinner time. I was quoted a 20 minute wait at 6:55 pm. They finally say me down at 7:58 pm. In all fairness; they did offer to let me sit at the bar; but it was too crowded for my comfort. The bad thing is that there is absolutely no place to wait, and you had to stand wherever you could. And when it came time to sit at your table; you have to have other people standing over you while waiting for your their tables. I suppose it's kind of like serving on a German U-boat. And for the last 20 minutes that I was waiting for a table; there were three that were vacant. I was told that they were reserved, but why can't the people that they were reserved for; just be sat at the next available table that became vacant upon their arrival? One thing that was nice is that when I couldn't find a place to park; the owner/manager, Matthew Moore; offered to come outside and direct me to a parking space when I called on the phone asking about where I could park. I declined his kind offer and found a parking space. Out of the seven people that were working there that night; none were Germans. I don't even think they were German ancestry. The two kitchen staff guys definitely were not. It kind of took the fun out of it. But the service was very friendly and professional, and the food was very good. They also seemed to have a nice selection of German beers. I would eat here again. Two rabbit ears up!!
(\ (\
( -.-)
o_(")(")

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lauderdale
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yavol x 5*”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

For myself not ever having the occassion to eat at a german restaurant, I was surprisingly amazed by the whole experience. We dined on the two lbs of slowly cooked (6 hrs) pork shank, stuffing, and red cabbage all washed down with an approximetely 32 oz german dark draft beer contained in a mug in the shape of a boot. Lastly, order the german chocolate cake and if there's any more room, the apple strudel. Five stars!!!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thegreekboy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Checkers Old Munchen also viewed

 
Pompano Beach, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 
Pompano Beach, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 

Been to Checkers Old Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing