We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mileylou”

Checkers Old Munchen
Ranked #13 of 356 Restaurants in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: North Federal Highway
Description: Situated off Atlantic Avenue, Checkers is a German styled restaurant with a Bavarian flair in Pompano Beach. We offer a large selection of authentic German beers and the best in German cuisine.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mileylou”
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful German food! Six of us dined at Checkers Old Munchen and were immediately charmed
by the warm atmosphere. Our waitress suggested we start with an appetizer of potato pancakes. They arrived pipping hot and delicious . My husband and I had the stuffed Wiener schnitzel . Our friends enjoyed a fresh fish dinner as well as pork and brats. Everything was perfectly prepared ! We finished the meal with apple strudel. Matthew, the owner stopped at our table at the end of our dinner to make sure we had a wonderful experience!

Helpful?
Thank Mileylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    81
    24
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good food horrible service”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

good food esp the schveinhaxen but geez the owner and servers need to work on customer service... got horrible treatment and I'm a local! I just keep going back for the food but owner needs am attitude change. he looks like a crazy stalker with a blank stare on his face... he doesn't even bother to ask customers how they're doing

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip33062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great German Food”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Tucked away next door to a little used LP record store in a strip of places along Atlantic Just east of US1. Had a sampler with several types of Sausage, Bratwurst, Red Cabbage, Sauerkraut, and other things, then split a Liverwurst Sandwich with my Honey. We had a German Wheat Beer that was very good. This place has a TON of German beers available , very much worth stopping in. Open for Lunch till 2PM, then reopens for dinner at 5PM M~F only open for dinner on the weekend.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bomba151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very Nice German food”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We went here because it is now the German restaurant that used to be part of Diner by the Sea. Food was very good and large portions and the beers were good. Much more expensive than Diner by the Sea but still worth an evening out

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BobC314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
391 reviews
304 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Germany in Florida”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

I've eaten in Germany and I have eaten here several times. This is good, very good, German food. Great service, generous portions, good variety. Nice touch with soft pretzels and brown bread on table. Great beer selection. My sauerbraten was delicious as was the weinerschnitzel and stuffed cabbage. No room for dessert. Unexpected fine by the beach, give it a try. Parking is a problem and make reservation.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Quinnscommentary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Checkers Old Munchen also viewed

 
Pompano Beach, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 
Pompano Beach, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 

Been to Checkers Old Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing