We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

Stayed 2 nights at end of 1-week trip to S. Florida and Keys. Not the best Residence Inn I've seen - was recently bought by Marriott from another owner - but still very nice. Shower could've been cleaner (tile grout needed scrubbing). But overall a very relaxing place. Great to have such a short walk to the beach. There were free cabanas for use by guests, and it's nice to have a kitchen. Were surprised to find that it also had a washer and dryer in the room.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jay083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    179
    59
    27
    33
See reviews for
244
113
22
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

We are government contractors on business here in Florida and we decided to stay at the RI by Marriott for the 3 weeks we would be working. We decided to bring out families down to enjoy the room and hotel while we worked our 12-15 hours days. It was great the first few days until we started running into issues with housekeeping not properly cleaning the rooms. They are suppose to change the sheets twice a week. Our sheets have been changed 3(both beds 1 time and 1 bed was only changes another time) times until my wife decided to start washing them herself because she was sick of being told by the housekeeping staff that they wouldn't change the sheets until it was our day to have them changed. Our 3 children(2, 5 and 8) ended up with hand foot and mouth disease the 4th day we where here and spent 4 days in bed throwing up with fevers and a horrible rash. They had only been to the pool, the beach and in our room. The floors are filthy. I don't know how often they steam clean the rooms but from the looks of our socks, not very often! The bathtub was never cleaned. Just rinsed with water and there is still the same dead bug in there that was there when we arrived. The sockets in the bathrooms are unsafe. You try to plug something into them and they trip the safety. They aren't even installed into the walls properly. We complained about housekeeping and received a complimentary lunch at the over priced bistro they have installed into the hotel($10 for 3 small chicken strips and a handful of fries, which is probably the cheapest item they have off the whole 15 items they make). When my wife ordered food for her and our kids, they decided to tell us after the food was brought up that the comp lunch was approved by the regional manage for only 2 people. What topped our trip is when we asked to extend our rooms for a few more nights because our job was requiring us to stay 2 more days. They told us they have sold out and couldn't help us. I called Marriott Rewards and asked if there were rooms available and they said there were 4 available. We proceeded to talk to the front desk and they said that they could accommodate us for the nights we needed. The next morning one of our reservations had been canceled by them. They said they overbooked the hotel and didn't have rooms. They made my coworker, his, wife, 4 year old and 5 month old daughter leave the hotel within 2 hours of them informing us that they no longer had a room for them. They put them up in another Marriott down the road but we are still paying for the room rates. Iv stayed in MANY hotels because we travel the world for our contract and this has been by far the worse experience EVER.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank usmcsgtnewt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Place was well maintained, and clean. Pools are nice, easy access to the beach, which has cabanas (first come first serve basis). Breakfast buffet was decent. I reserved the 2 bedroom suite, which is literally 2 rooms, one room is a large bedroom with a bath, and the other is a larger bedroom/living room/kitchen with a bath. Restuarants and supermarket are a 5 minute drive. 10 minute drive to Ft Lauderdale, 35 minute drive to Miami. Only negative was that it was valet parking, however the valet guys hustled to get the car, so the wait wasn't very long so it's not too much of a negative.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whiteyaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dheinlein, Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 18, 2010
Thank you for your review whiteyaw – we hope you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel!

Yours truly,
Heather Hanley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

I checked into this hotel after checking out of another hotel down the road that I could not stay at. They were very accommodating with my last minute change. The hotel was beautiful and clean. Perfect for a business traveler on the beach. The rooms were great for my stay with beautiful balconies and views of the city and ocean. The bar waitress was very helpful and the nightly specials are a bargain! 50 cent peel and eat shrimp were great! Also on Tuesday and Wednesday evenings they have a FREE small buffet in the hotel bar. Nothing fancy but GREAT for FREE food! Speaking for FREE the morning breakfast is also very nice to grab something on my way out in the morning. I would definitely recommend to anyone staying in pompano as it is definitely the nicest beachfront hotel I saw!

Only downfall would be the $19 valet parking but they are the FASTEST EVER at getting your car! Never waited more than 3-4 minutes AT THE MOST!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TenerAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dheinlein, Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 18, 2010
Hi TenerAmy - thanks for your review and for recommending us! We’re so glad you had a great experience; we’re very proud of our hotel and are 100% dedicated to providing outstanding service to our guests. It’s great you had a chance to join us for our receptions and to try the peel and eat shrimp at Oceano. If you visit again you should give our signature salad a try – it’s a local favorite!

Best,

Heather Hanley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

We chose this hotel for its beachfront location and the reputed good SCUBA diving in the area. A kitchenette and complimentary breakfast buffet were also factors in our choosing this particular hotel.

We loved the beach and the beach shelters and chairs provided for hotel guests (no additional charge). Due to high winds and waves, however, we never got to try the SCUBA diving as we could not find a dive operator that was sending its boats out. The winds and waves persisted for our entire five day stay, killing our SCUBA plans. We made the best of it, however. My 13 year old son and I had a blast playing in the strong waves (make sure you know how to react if caught in a riptide -- a possibility in strong waves), but my wife and 11 year old daughter found them a bit too strong and mostly stayed out of the ocean.

The hotel could do a better job of picking up garbage left on their beach by ignorant guests. We made a habit of leaving the beach cleaner than we found it by cleaning up after touristus ignoramus in the vicinity of our chairs.

The hotel rooms were very nicely furnished with quality bedding and furnishings. The beds and bedding were typical of the Marriott chain of hotels -- above average in quality. We slept quite soundly on them. The kitchenette had a full size refrigerator, two burner stovetop, dishwasher, and microwave. This was perfectly adequate for the simple meals we prepared in our room. We made soup or sandwiches for lunch and had chicken (fried in pan), pasta, and salad for dinner. The dining table was very small for four people, but we managed. The bathrooms were quite nice. Each room had a decent sized LCD TV (approximately 37 inch) and the main room had a desk which we used for our laptop.

The hotel pool area was also quite nice, with two pools (both fairly shallow). Each pool had clear water. There was one BBQ available for guests, which we used once for a hot dog picnic on the patio. One BBQ seemed to be enough, as we never saw another guest using it. Bring your own wire brush, as one is not provided.

My wife took my daughter to the hotel spa for a manicure and fingernail painting. They both enjoyed that and thought it to be good value. They offer other services as well and my wife was considering returning, but did not get around to it.

The complimentary breakfast buffet was average, with coffee, juice, waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage, croissants or English muffins, toast, cereal, yogurt, and donuts. It would be nice if they varied it a bit (bacon once in a while instead of sausage every day, for example) for guests who are there for multiple days. Complimentary copies of USA Today newspaper were available in the lobby each morning. Two internet stations and a complimentary printer were available on the ground floor. We used the printer to print maps to destinations.

As for areas for improvement, the carpets could have been kept cleaner. If we put on clean white socks in the morning, they would be dirty after an hour of walking around the room. We commented about that at checkout. The internet connection could also stand some improvement, as it was painfully slow to browse the web for local attractions (necessary for us since our SCUBA plans were killed by the weather). Finally, the pool could use a proper vacuuming each day. Although the water was clear, the pool bottom always had a significant amount of sand and hairballs. We could see why when we watched the pool guy clean the pools from our balcony one morning. Instead of a proper vacuuming, he just used some sort of bag on a pole to scoop up most, but not all, of the obvious junk on the bottom.

In summary, this was a nice beach resort on a nice beach. We would be happy to return some day, when hopefully we'll have better SCUBA weather. This place could be great if they address the cleanliness concerns (carpets, pool vacuuming, beach garbage) and vary the breakfast menu a little more.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OnTraveler_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

We stayed here for a few nights for our anniversary. The rooms are spacious and well-equipped with EVERYTHING you might need, even washer/dryer. Great ocean views, balcony, comfortable beds. The staff is super friendly and accommodating. The spa was a lot of fun with great staff, as well. Breakfast buffet was excellent, too. Very relaxing weekend! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimbaVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dheinlein, Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 18, 2010
Thank you for your review SimbaVal! We’re so glad you chose to spend your anniversary weekend with us and that you enjoyed yourselves while you were here. Hope to see you again next year.

Cheers,

Team Residence Inn Pompano Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F. Lauderdale
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

I love this hotel, great vibes, relatively new - everything you could ask for. This hotel does the Residence Inn name true justice, actually goes over the top! There are two pools, a nice eatery, spa, and business center in this hotel. You can expect to pay for valet but if your coming to just use the spa it's free! The rooms are modern and spacious and the staff is really friendly. The location is in a quiet part of town but just minutes from Downtown Ft Lauderdale and Las Olas Blvd / BeachPlace. The spa here is a true gem, beautiful ocean views, a great steam room and massage therapists. I highly reccomend!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelInnsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pompano Beach
0.1 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort in Pompano Beach, Florida
4.6 mi away
Wyndham Deerfield Beach Resort
Wyndham Deerfield Beach Resort
#1 of 19 in Deerfield Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Deerfield Beach - Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
#3 of 37 in Pompano Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,195 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront

Property: Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront
Address: 1350 N Ocean Blvd, Pompano Beach, FL 33062-3423 (Formerly Ocean Sands Resort & Spa)
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pompano Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pompano Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Florida beach vacation awaits you at Residence Inn by Marriott Ft. Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront hotel located directly on the Atlantic Ocean! Experience majestic sunsets from your private balcony in a spacious suite with fully equipped kitchen. Relax by our two sparkling swimming pools. Our Florida beach hotel blends together the best of any Stay-cation by offering stylish accommodations, delectable beachfront dining- - all tied together with genuine hospitality. Our friendly staff is ready to help you experience the best of what you want from your oceanfront stay, whether it's rejuvenating, relaxing or experiencing exciting activities! We're ideally located just minutes to Deerfield Beach, Ft. Lauderdale, Delray Beach and Boca Raton! Among Florida beach hotels, Residence Inn by Marriott Ft. Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront hotel stands above the rest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront Hotel
Ocean Sands Hotel
Ocean Sands Resort Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing