We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Oceanfront views without an exorbitant pricetag.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront to your Saves list
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1350 North Ocean Boulevard, Pompano Beach, FL 33062 (Formerly Ocean Sands Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Oceanfront views without an exorbitant pricetag.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

I took my 87 year old father on a mini-vacation since he does not live very far from Pompano Beach. Our room was 911 and the one bedroom had a spectacular view of the ocean while the other one had a very nice view of the skyline as well as the ocean. It was a nice three day visit and the front desk staff was extremely accomodating to us. I also wanted to give a shout out to the maintenance staff/engineering since they helped us out in a very embarrassing situation without ever making my father feel uncomfortable. Thank you for that! Some of the positives to note were the grouper sandwich in the little restaurant, the breakfast in the morning and the time of year we chose since it was very quiet with limited traffic on the streets. The negative would be the spa and quality of the massage. It was probably the worst I have ever experienced in my life. I was so slathered up with oil that, even after a shower, I still cannot get it out of my hair and body. Plus, she talked too much and hurt my shoulder. Do not spend the money there but, otherwise, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Arlene F,
Thank you for choosing Residence Inn Pompano Beach and sharing your recommendations of our great hotel. We appreciate your positive reflections on our staff’s excellence in service and hospitality, as well as the beautiful views from our ocean front rooms.

It’s unfortunate to hear about that your visit to the spa did not meet your satisfaction. Your comments have been shared with our team in an effort to improve our guest experience. We’re pleased to know you and your Father enjoyed your stay overall and we hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thanks again.

Kind regards,
Tom Hastings, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    175
    56
    26
    28
See reviews for
233
109
21
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were on our honeymoon. We had originally had reservations at the tropic cay hotel. After seeing the horrible rooms tropic cay had we left and started heading north. We stopped at the residence marriott and as soon as we told them our horrible experience they pretty much eased our frustration and set us up in a beautiful room overlooking the ocean! Cathy and Kim took great care of us! We even had a cute little fruit plate in our fridge the next day from Michelle at the front desk! We will definately be returning! Customer service was outstanding and the location and rates for what you get were very reasonable! Thank you!

Sincerely
Helen FREESE

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Helen F,
We appreciate you selecting Residence Inn Pompano Beach and thank you for sharing your experience. We are thrilled to know your honeymoon was memorable, and that the outstanding service delivered by our staff played a part. I will be certain to commend Cathy, Kim, and Michelle on their warm hospitality. Thank you again for writing. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future.

Kind regards,
Tom Hastings, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Pros:
We stayed for two weeks and we absolutely loved it!! I'm a beach junkie and this hotel is right in the sand!! It sits east and west, I recommend staying above the 6th floor and as far east of the hotel as possible, less obstructions for your view. The south side of the rooms is all windows offering an amazing coastal view and a walkout balcony with seating. Ate breakfast on the balcony almost every morning. The rooms are equipped with a full kitchen, an on suite bathroom with shower and seperate roman style bath. It also included an in room washer and dryer which was super convenient we were able to throw our dirty clothes in the washer after taking them off. The majority of the staff, those providing customer service were helpful and friendly. We checked in on a Saturday morning and were greeted by the front desk manager (Ms Sahida) who graciously presented us with mimosas. It was a great way to start our vacation!! Ingred the bartender was friendly and Michelle who worked both valet and front desk was also very customer oriented and friendly. Recommend this hotel to anyone who IS NOT not looking for an overkill of a resort style hotel, which by the way, was next door and had karaoke going every night, not my thing. All in all this hotel is in a good location and it was clean.


Cons: The parking is limited so the hotel has mandatory valet parking at $20 a day, on top of that, you feel obligated to tip when picking up dropping off vehicle. We didn't tip everytime, but when we did it generally was $3-$5, as to adjust for not tipping other times. Do not leave valuables in car as I had a $300 pair of sunglasses taken from our vehicle.

Room Tip: I recommend staying above the 6th floor and as far east of the hotel as possible, less obstructions...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Tanya P,
We're happy to have had you as our guest and thank you for choosing Residence Inn Pompano Beach. It's great to know our beach front location and spacious accommodations met your satisfaction. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again in the future. Thank you once again for your writing!

Kind regards,
Tom Hastings, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was great . Rooms were AMAZING (esp for the $). However my experience there didnt allow me to enjoy my stay. Valet didnt fully shut my car off causing battery to die right in from of hotel entrance ( AAA came ) after that I stayed in car while he parked and it he reversed into a pole in my car ( which has sensors ). Wish management was more helpful in helping me solve my issues however they only offered me a free meal. Unfortunate.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FL0RIDAfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
FL0RIDAfun,
Thank you for writing. We deeply regret your experience and assure you this is not something we take lightly. We hope to restore your faith in our hotel and service team and would like to speak with you directly regarding this issue. Please feel free to contact me at your earliest convenience. Thank you again.

Kind regards,
Tom Hastings, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I love staying at this hotel. We have stayed once a year for an event for the past 7 years and everything is always as expected. Since Marriott took over a few years ago it has been nicer to stay though. Staff really has it together. I like being located right on the beach, breakfast is really good and varied. Decent coffee and good valet. Rooms are surprisingly quiet.

Room Tip: Higher floor towards the beach for best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Michaels08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Mrs_Michaels08,
Thank you for your review and continued patronage over the last 7 years at Residence Inn Pompano Beach. It's wonderful to hear you consistently enjoyed a quiet stay, our beachfront location, and the friendly service delivered by our staff. We're happy to be a part of your annual event, and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you again for writing.

Kind regards,
Tom Hastings, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

We had a great time, Michelle at reception and Augusto at parking made our stay really easy. Our room was clean and nice. We had plenty of space for 2 adults and 1 teenager. The included breakfast was a great start of the day ( our daughter had waffle every morning and the coffee was good and hot). Even if you could not park your own car Augusto was always there and quick.

Our check-in with Michelle went smoothly and when it came time to get the free beach blanket there was never a problem .

Thank you

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Catherine080,
We're happy to receive feedback on your experience at Residence Inn Pompano Beach. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our spacious accommodations and complimentary breakfast to meet your satisfaction. Michelle and Augusto will be excited to hear that their efforts in service positively impacted your stay. I look forward to sharing your comments and thank you again for writing a review. We hope you'll return for another visit again soon.

Kind regards,
Tom Hastings, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

not a marriot person, personally, i road tripped with a friend who is and we spent 5 days at this location. both of us are highly sensitive to allergens, and woke up sick. my friends profile has 'allergen free room' and this hotel didnt bohter paying attention, and resulted in some serious problems. the front desk was smily, but nothign happened, and i had to call houskeeping manager, who saved the day. her carefullness and detail oriented cleaning and changing of our rooms was fantastic. until two days later, when the staff FORGOT TO CLEAN OUR ROOM at all. next; the breakfasts. i took a spoonfull of blueberries for my cereal. worse than a bug,, there was an exactly shaped rubber ball (that really couldnt have fallen in by accident) that i almost chocked on, in the blueberries. if it was one of the dozens of kids who were there,and grabbed that, who knows what would have happened.
location- is its great point. i thought the beach was beautiful, much more quiet than miami, low key, and quiet. there is nice seating outside under some palms, overlooking the ocean, and they do have food service attending to you outside

the rooms had full kitchens, comfortable beds, but the 'ocean front' room that we booked was not ocean front ,, it had ocean if you peaked over the parking lot!
id say that if the price was right, i would go there. if it was similar to other places, i would think twice.....

Room Tip: if you have allergy free requests, you MUST confirm more than once. also, if you can, ask for a high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaidee613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
jaidee613,
We appreciate hearing from you and want to assure you that we take all guest feedback very seriously. The service failures you encountered is not typical of our hotel and staff and I sincerely apologize for your experience. I do hope to speak with you directly regarding these issues as guest satisfaction is our highest priority. Please contact myself or any member of our management team at your earliest convenience to further discuss. Thank you.

Sincerely,
Tom Hastings, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pompano Beach
0.1 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort in Pompano Beach, Florida
4.6 mi away
Wyndham Deerfield Beach Resort
Wyndham Deerfield Beach Resort
#1 of 18 in Deerfield Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Deerfield Beach - Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
#3 of 37 in Pompano Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,169 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Sea Gardens
Wyndham Sea Gardens
#15 of 37 in Pompano Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront

Property: Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront
Address: 1350 North Ocean Boulevard, Pompano Beach, FL 33062 (Formerly Ocean Sands Resort & Spa)
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pompano Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pompano Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Florida beach vacation awaits you at Residence Inn by Marriott Ft. Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront hotel located directly on the Atlantic Ocean! Experience majestic sunsets from your private balcony in a spacious suite with fully equipped kitchen. Relax by our two sparkling swimming pools. Our Florida beach hotel blends together the best of any Stay-cation by offering stylish accommodations, delectable beachfront dining- - all tied together with genuine hospitality. Our friendly staff is ready to help you experience the best of what you want from your oceanfront stay, whether it's rejuvenating, relaxing or experiencing exciting activities! We're ideally located just minutes to Deerfield Beach, Ft. Lauderdale, Delray Beach and Boca Raton! Among Florida beach hotels, Residence Inn by Marriott Ft. Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront hotel stands above the rest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront Hotel
Ocean Sands Hotel
Ocean Sands Resort Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing