We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful time at the Residence Inn. Staff was very professional, helpful, and friendly. Especially Tatiana. Great location only steps away from the beach. Drinks are a little pricey at the hotel bar, but the food and service were very good.

Our only complaint was the hotel spa. It did not seem to match the same level of quality as the rest of the hotel.

Overall our experience was excellent and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Jake0909,
Thank you for your review. I’m delighted to hear that you and your wife had a wonderful time with us at Residence Inn Pompano Beach. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us, and we’re glad our friendly service and beach front location suited your travel needs. I’ll be sure to recognize Tatiana with a special commendation for her outstanding service and hospitality. We enjoyed having you both as our guests and we hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Jenny Johnson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    184
    60
    29
    39
See reviews for
256
120
22
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

.....I took the family here a few weeks ago and had an overall good experience. Having a separate room from the kids and a refrigerator and microwave helped immensely.

The rooms were clean and the two pools were swim worthy as well. The free breakfast in the morning was great, too. It helped a lot not to have to worry about that meal.

The only critique I would have is possibly extending the breakfast hours past the usual 930 weekdays & 1000 deadline. Also, the gym is a little outdated. Some new equipment would be great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoWhiteSox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
ChicagoWhiteSox,
We’re delighted to have had you and your family as our guests, and happy you enjoyed your stay with us at Residence Inn Pompano Beach. We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope you and your family will have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Jenny Johnson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Rooms were large and clean and kitchenette included a large fridge, microwave and 2 burner stove and a few kitchen wares. The balcony was really too small to use. They had 2 small plastic chairs on the balcony but it was cramped. The staff was very responsive to our many requests and were always friendly. We loved the free lounge chairs on the beach and beach towels. The free breakfast was pretty good and the servers kept everything full and tables clean throughout the morning. My only complaints are the restaurant was lacking but you could eat outside near the beach and Valet parking was required and $20 per day. The valets were very responsive and you could call and have your car ready but I felt that I had to keep tipping them. I finally decided to just tip once a day to each shift. The beach was nice but there is nothing in walking distance (within a mile) so you need to drive everywhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aurore M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Aurore M,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us over spring break at the Residence Inn Pompano Beach. It’s great to hear you enjoyed our spacious, clean rooms and found our staff responsive and accommodating to your requests. I apologize for the areas we fell short to meet your expectations and I appreciate your valuable feedback. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope you’ll visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Jenny Johnson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Rooms are spacious and CLEAN! Love the kitchenette to make long stays affordable. Open the front door and the balcony door to catch the ocean breeze. Amazing! I have to mention that the beds are SUPER comfortable - not those cheap mattresses you'll find in some places.

The location is convenient to local grocery stores that we favor and the service was unbelievable! We mentioned it was our delayed honeymoon and the staff spent no extra time making sure we had champagne in our room to celebrate. The staff - unbelievable! <<Shout out to Richard who kept the best bar on the beach>> The breakfast buffet was great as well! And stop by the desk for a night time, home-baked cookie!

You can walk down to the beach and you can see the Lookout Point Lighthouse, pick up large pieces of coral and driftwood. The pool - especially the Jacuzzi - was relaxing. As soon as you walk out on the beach, there is a vendor that rents kayaks, boards and other fun items to make your visit memorable. Don't forget to check out the visitor center for lots of great coupons and offers for local attractions!

Room Tip: We loved our stay there and will be back! Our only change will be to get a suite at the end of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TampaDarlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
TampaDarlyn,
Thank you for your review and complimentary feedback on our great hotel and helpful staff. I’m glad you liked our oceanfront hotel and found the rooms to be clean, spacious and comfortable during your stay. It’s wonderful to hear your kind comments about our staff and their excellence in service. We’re happy to have been a part of your honeymoon celebrations and appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Residence Inn Pompano Beach. We enjoyed having you as our guest and we hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Jenny Johnson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I traveled from Miami to Fort Lauderdale to stay here and all I can say is Marriott should shut this place down. The building itself is dated and the furniture in the lobby is filthy, there was an orange chair as soon as you walked in that was stained black on the seat and arms. The hallways in this hotel are all exterior and the doors to the rooms are solid steel, you feel like you are in a housing project walking to your room. The room we had was absolutely disgusting, the stench of mold/moisture permeated the air. The furniture in the room was dated, scratched/chipped, and dirty. The linens on the bed had runs in the comforter and the "white" of the sheets I pulled back was tinged yellow. The balcony was very small and dirty. The second I walked into this room I called Marriott customer service and they were able to make arrangements to get me to another one of their hotels. The person I was traveling with said that if this was the first Marriott branded hotel she had ever stayed at she would NEVER stay at another one, Marriott needs to either completely rehab this location or sell this property - I am still in shock that this carries their name. I am a gold member with Marriott and was absolutely disgusted by this property. The only saving grace of this location was the staff was extremely pleasant, but that doesn't come anywhere near making up for the mess that this hotel is.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
dpj912,
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize that we were unable to provide you with the exceptional stay you've come to expect from us. Your feedback provides many areas that we can work on in order to improve our guest experience. We appreciate your feedback on these areas and hope you will return and see our improvements. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Chris Floyd, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We took a mini vacation and had the pleasure of staying at the Residence Inn Pompano Beach. What a great hotel. Five stars!! Breakfast was awesome! The staff was amazing and the two room suite was beautiful. The pools and spa are clean and sparkling. The beach was gorgeous and we were only a 10 minute ride to Fort Lauderdale - we had a sneak peak at the Tortuga Festival. We rented a cabana, went for a Banana boat ride and even rented wave runners right on the beach in front of the hotel. This place has it all....and then some!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Kathy H,
We’re delighted to have had you as our guest, and appreciate you taking the time to write a review on your experience with us at Residence Inn Pompano Beach. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and all the wonderful amenities that we’re proud to offer our guests. It sounds like you had a fun mini vacation, and we’re happy to have been a part of it. We hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Jenny Johnson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Like most residence inns, its a great extended stay option except that it offers a bit more in terms of location.

This property is right on the beach. All rooms offer views of the ocean, though most views are not directly facing the ocean. The beach is clean and you can rent cabanas for $19 for entire day. They also have options of jetski, banana boat etc, while snorkeling/scuba options are 5 min drive away. The pools (there are 2 next to each other) are not too big and usually crowded, as is a small hot whirlpool next to the pools. The exercise room is bigger than most other RIs and is well equipped. They have a spa on the property which was pretty good and had good discounts for hotel guests. Their restaurant & bar is average at best. The food was OK while one of the two bartenders I dealt with was amateurish at best (didn't know how to make Long Island tea). The other one was great.

The rooms are like other RIs. Well kept, clean and well furnished. Our balcony was so small that it could not accommodate even 2.

They only have valet parking, which is well serviced but a pain regardless since getting car out may at times take a few min unless you call in advance. They also charge $19 per night (which is excessive) - being a gold member, I got a discounted rate of $12.

Front desk service was ordinary as was the case in general. The hotel was full, so we got no upgrades.

Word of caution - property is old and there are areas where it shows. Also, the property across is very noisy: depending on where your room is located, you may have to hear lot of music.

Overall, good experience. May visit again.

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Satvik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Mptyspace,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us at the Residence Inn. We’re happy to hear you enjoyed our beach front location. I appreciate your feedback and apologize for the areas that we fell short to meet your expectations. We hope you’ll have another opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Jenny Johnson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pompano Beach
0.1 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
4.6 mi away
Wyndham Deerfield Beach Resort
Wyndham Deerfield Beach Resort
#1 of 18 in Deerfield Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,285 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort in Pompano Beach, Florida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Costa Beach Club Resort
La Costa Beach Club Resort
#13 of 36 in Pompano Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
3.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Deerfield Beach - Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
#2 of 36 in Pompano Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront

Property: Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront
Address: 1350 North Ocean Boulevard, Pompano Beach, FL 33062 (Formerly Ocean Sands Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pompano Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pompano Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Florida beach vacation awaits you at Residence Inn by Marriott Ft. Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront hotel located directly on the Atlantic Ocean! Experience majestic sunsets from your private balcony in a spacious suite with fully equipped kitchen. Relax by our two sparkling swimming pools. Our Florida beach hotel blends together the best of any Stay-cation by offering stylish accommodations, delectable beachfront dining- - all tied together with genuine hospitality. Our friendly staff is ready to help you experience the best of what you want from your oceanfront stay, whether it's rejuvenating, relaxing or experiencing exciting activities! We're ideally located just minutes to Deerfield Beach, Ft. Lauderdale, Delray Beach and Boca Raton! Among Florida beach hotels, Residence Inn by Marriott Ft. Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront hotel stands above the rest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront Hotel
Ocean Sands Hotel
Ocean Sands Resort Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing