We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay, marred by problems on arrival”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Pompano Beach
uk
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good stay, marred by problems on arrival”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We (family of 5) stayed here last August for 3 nights.

I initially booked a pretty standard room but 8 months before travel I cancelled the room and re booked in one of the 2 bedroom suites with floor to ceiling windows facing right over the beach. This, as expected, was significantly more expensive than the original booking. On arrival we checked in and on emerging from the lift realised that our allocated room was towards the back of the hotel, knowing I'd booked ocean front I immediately returned to the reception without even going into the room.

We then entered into a discussion with the chap on the desk who kept shuttling in and out of the office to speak to his boss who initially refused to come out to speak to us. Eventually he emerged and kept trying to blind us with the difference between ocean front and ocean view. I kept showing our reservation which clearly stated a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom suite....every time I asked "has the room you have given us got 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms?" he dodged the question. He also acknowledged that I had cancelled our initial room and re booked at a much higher price. I admit I was absolutely furious! He then agreed that we could have the room we had booked but it would take about 45 minutes to prepare(not a problem)....what really irritated me was that he was trying to argue that he was giving the room to us as a gesture of good will and I was incorrect about the room types. He did offer us all a drink and something to eat while we waited which was a nice touch.

Anyway the 2 bed ocean front suites are fantastic (I think there are only nine in the hotel), we enjoyed the rest of the stay and found all the staff pleasant and accommodating, walking straight out of the hotel on to the beach was just lovely. We found the breakfasts good too, but we do tend to be early risers which can have advantages when it comes to breakfast buffets!

So to summarise, a nice hotel....remember it's a Residence Inn, not some luxury brand, and I still rate it well even taking into account the fuss over room allocation.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank dan12335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
dan12335,
It’s great to hear from you! Thank you for writing a review on your experience with us at Residence Inn Pompano. We appreciate you and your family choosing to stay with us, and we're glad you enjoyed your ocean front view and our location on the beach. I greatly apologize for the frustrations you encountered during your check-in but I am happy to hear our staff was helpful in accommodating your requests. We hope you and your family will visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Jenny Johnson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    191
    67
    30
    40
See reviews for
276
125
22
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
st .helens
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

fantastic acommodation location great soooooooooo close to beach food very good staff very helpfull.will go back very soon i hope rooms clean beds very fresh we all enjoyed it very much we had a good size balcony

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calSt_helens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
calSt_helens,
We're happy to hear from you, and we're glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us at Residence Inn Pompano. It's great to know that you enjoyed our beach front location, clean rooms and our helpful staff. Please plan to visit us again soon. Thanks again for writing.

Sincerely,
Jenny Johnson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago,Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We just returned from Pompano Beach Residence Inn and had a wonderful time. The staff was outstanding and accommodating throughout our stay. The rooms were clean and the breakfast was always fresh and delightful. Our kids loved the beach and the pools. We would definitely stay here again. The assistant manager Michael was more than generous in understanding our medical issues and helped make our stay so much better. Kudos also to the front desk staff who were always answering our many questions with a smile and helpful advice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Utahgirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHotels, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Utahgirl72
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us at Residence Inn Pompano. I appreciate your wonderful comments about our staff and their excellence in service. I will make sure Michael receives a special commendation for his outstanding service in understanding your medical issues and improving your experience. I'm pleased to know that the kids had a good time at the beach and pools! We hope you'll have another opportunity to visit us again for more family fun. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Jenny Johnson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This by far was the worst Marriott stay ever. The website looks fantastic. Not so upon our arrival. The only thing this hotel has is great staff. The lobby and the common areas are fine, but I found the rooms to be dirty and poorly cared for. This hotel has been given a facelift but in my opinion it received a band aid. You can only cover a bad situation for so long. The staff are well aware that the rooms are disappointing and did their very best to accomodate us. Our view was that of a building under construction as well as the sounds. The balcony space was also pathetic as well as filthy. See photos below. We spent our first day in Florida looking for other accomodations and decided to check out of this hotel early. Don't waste your time here! By the way, the building that is being constructed is the "new" Mariott. That in itself should say something.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2ayearOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, Direector of Hotel Operations at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 18, 2016
I do apologize that your previous stay with us wasn't an amazing one. We'd love to make it up to you and have your next stay with us as near to perfection as it can be. The Residence Inn Pompano Beach is under new ownership and is wrapping up an extensive renovation project in early 2017 and the hotel is even more amazing than before. If you return to the area, please consider us your "newest" home away from home in the Pompano Beach/Fort Lauderdale area. We'd love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have been coming to this hotel for 5 years now. Every year we came back because of the great location, beautiful beach, excellent customer service, and gorgeous rooms. Apparently, it seems we have overstayed our welcome. When we called to make a reservation before our trip, we were promised that we would receive the special rate that we had been paying for the same type of room (the 2 bedroom suite) for the past 5 years. Upon arrival (driving from NY to FL), and after waiting an hour in the lobby (completely exhausted), we received a handicapped room that we did not request, although management insisted that this was the room we had booked. 2 middle aged adults and 2 teens made the reservation--where was the need for a handicapped room? When we got to the room and turned on the TVs, we got a fuzzy screen that the technician could not fix. One of the closet doors came apart at the hinges so it couldn't be closed properly. Regardless, everything was decent until about the last 3 days--we weren't going to complain about trivial matters such as the TV and closet doors. However, room service came at such random times; sometimes at 9 AM, other times at 2 pm. They didn't change out the towels every day, which we really needed since everyone took a shower at least once a day. All room service really does is empty the trash, replace the towels, and make the beds. The windows are dirty, they never vacuum, you'd think that with such big (and expensive) rooms, they would take better care. On the second to last day at the hotel, our key cards randomly stopped working out of nowhere, and while we were sitting IN our hotel room, another family opened the door-- the hotel had BOOKED our room to ANOTHER FAMILY without telling us. Moreover, they had not even sent in room service that day yet, and that family intruded on our room at about 4 pm. We called room service at 5 pm asking if they could please come and replace our towels at the least, they told us that there was no room service at 5 pm. Someone came and dropped off some towels for us. So, they booked a room that someone was staying in already, and didn't even have it cleaned. How does a hotel not keep track of what rooms are occupied? When speaking to the manager on the phone, she said she "didn't know what happened". If we hadn't been in the room, that family could have robbed us of everything and left to check into another room for all we knew. This hotel stay was a slap to the face. We will not be returning to this hotel where there seems to be some sort of disconnect between management and the hotel operations. The beach is beautiful, the pool is great, but the hotel itself is just not worth the time and the money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beachbum3650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, Director of Hotel Operations at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 18, 2016
I do apologize that your previous stay with us wasn't an amazing one. We'd love to make it up to you and have your next stay with us as near to perfection as it can be. The Residence Inn Pompano Beach is under new ownership and is wrapping up an extensive renovation project in early 2017 and the hotel is even more amazing than before. If you return to the area, please consider us your "newest" home away from home in the Pompano Beach/Fort Lauderdale area. We'd love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. paul, minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is our 3rd time at this property. Obviously, we like it. 3 adults and 3 children occupied an oceanfront suite with 2 balconies and a gorgeous view of the ocean and surrounding area. Our grandchildren love the complimentary breakfast buffet and the two small pools and hot tub as well as the ocean just steps away. My daughter also loved the mojito Richard made for her!

Every staff member with whom we interacted went out of her or his way to make us feel welcome and helped us with whatever we needed and always with a smile. Thanks to Jenny, Michael, Fallon, the breakfast staff, Richard, and Michelle and the other valet staff. Thanks also to all the "behind the scenes" staff who help keep the place clean and running. While we were there, a nearby transformer blew out; the management staff on down did their best to minimize any discomfort.

It is definitely a plus to have a vehicle since no stores and few restaurants are in walking distance for most visitors. There is an onsite bistro and bar, though. However, you can take a city bus to many places if you wish. Here are some of our favorite restaurants: Calypso(seafood), Sicilian Oven(pizza, pasta, salads, etc) , J Marks, Shiska (Lebanese).

My one negative is that the pullout couch is definitely not comfortable..even the kids couldn't find a comfortable spot. The other beds were fine.

Room Tip: Any room is fine, but the high ones as close to the ocean are better. High floor, oceanfront is bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaiser13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
kaiser13,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at Residence Inn. We're delighted to hear from you, and we appreciate you and your family staying with us. I'm glad to hear that you enjoy our hotel and the Pompano Beach area for your family vacation. I appreciate you highlighting some of our terrific Associates, and I'll make sure to give them a special commendation for their outstanding work. We enjoy your company and hope to see all of you again soon. Safe travels.
Sincerely,
Jennifer A. Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a high rise with elevators, but the beach is just a few steps away!
Pool area is smallish. During peak times, it might be hard to get a chair.
Breakfast was a little crowded, but complimentary. Always coffee available! :) Bistro restaurant had excellent food, with great ocean view.
Parking had to be valet, but if you called ahead, car would be ready.
A quiet hotel, good for relaxing.
We would come back here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Diane H,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at Residence Inn Pompano Beach. We're glad you stayed with us and enjoyed your visit. I'm glad to hear that you had a quiet, relaxing time, and I hope you'll have another opportunity to visit us again.
Sincerely,
Jennifer A. Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pompano Beach
0.1 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
3.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Deerfield Beach - Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort
#4 of 38 in Pompano Beach
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Wyndham Deerfield Beach Resort
Wyndham Deerfield Beach Resort
#1 of 18 in Deerfield Beach
2,377 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Costa Beach Club Resort
La Costa Beach Club Resort
#9 of 38 in Pompano Beach
174 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
#3 of 38 in Pompano Beach
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront

Property: Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront
Address: 1350 N Ocean Blvd, Pompano Beach, FL 33062-3423 (Formerly Ocean Sands Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pompano Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pompano Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Florida beach vacation awaits you at Residence Inn by Marriott Ft. Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront hotel located directly on the Atlantic Ocean! Experience majestic sunsets from your private balcony in a spacious suite with fully equipped kitchen. Relax by our two sparkling swimming pools. Our Florida beach hotel blends together the best of any Stay-cation by offering stylish accommodations, delectable beachfront dining- - all tied together with genuine hospitality. Our friendly staff is ready to help you experience the best of what you want from your oceanfront stay, whether it's rejuvenating, relaxing or experiencing exciting activities! We're ideally located just minutes to Deerfield Beach, Ft. Lauderdale, Delray Beach and Boca Raton! Among Florida beach hotels, Residence Inn by Marriott Ft. Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront hotel stands above the rest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront Hotel
Ocean Sands Hotel
Ocean Sands Resort Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing