We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place but leaves you wanting more” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place but leaves you wanting more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Nice, clean room. Well stocked with dishes, full fridge, dishwasher, small washer and dryer, comfy beds, right on the beach. Two small pools and a small hot tub. Nice gym. Super nice beach service -- guy wheels up on a four wheeler and brings nice chairs for free and rent cabanas and umbrellas for very reasonable rates. Free hot breakfast buffet. Have to use valet for all parking. Nice place and nice staff but lacks restaurants, a tiki bar (any bar or food service at pool) and is not walking distance to anything.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luvtraveling4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Luvtraveling4,
Thank you for your review. We're glad you stayed with us at Residence Inn. I'm glad you enjoyed our clean, comfortable, and well equipped suites as well as our beach service. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Jennifer A. Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    184
    60
    29
    39
See reviews for
255
120
22
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Just left after spending 7 days here with my family of 4. Marriott Rewards Gold Member but paid for the stay. Price was reasonable especially during the travel season. Room was very nice, Full Fridge, 2 burner stove, microwave, dishes sitting area with table. Room was clean, good view of the ocean, separate are for Shower and sink, which when you have 4 in a room is a benefit. Really was very happy with room. Breakfast incl. never a problem finding a spot to sit. I used the steam room in the men's locker room twice, need to get them SPA to open it. I did not use the SPA otherwise. 2 smaller pools one heated, one not; never were too crowded. Outside hottub was nice. Workout room had a couple of treadmills, good amount of decent shape cybex machines, little old but workable and dumbbells up to 50lbs. I even used the grill to cook a couple of lunches for the family. Took quite awhile for them to get it out for me, but then it was left out for the remainder of the stay. Beach was always in great shape, no charge for chairs. If you wanted cushions/ umbrella's there were extra but reasonable. Beach was not overly crowded. Have a couple of beach volleyball courts, get a ball from the place you rent the chairs. Really the beach was excellent.
Service from both from the hotel staff was great. They were friendly, cheerful and helpful.

So what was missing :
1) They have a restaurant and a bar area but the bar is small and inside. No tiki bar or real service by the pool. Did not eat at the restaurant. Would have been a nice plus on a couple of occasions. We did go to tiki bar at the next property over for a couple of coacktails and lunch one day ( food there was good also).

2) The location is very quiet, which is some cases is a plus. We were not looking for a late night party scene or spring break sort of fest but it was missing a kind of a resort feel. Besides the place next door, which also had a decent inside bar. Nothing is within reasonable walking distance. So if you are looking for a very quiet place to hit the beach, you'll love it. For us it was just a bit too quiet of an area. Mostly was the town itself. Big retirees community.

We did enjoy our stay here, and I would recommend the hotel. However we will not likely be returning. Not because of anything bad about the hotel, just the area was too sedate for a family with two teenage boys.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
David S,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you and your family staying with us at Residence Inn. I'm glad you liked our property and found our suites clean and spacious. I hope you were able to make great family memories and enjoy your time together. We hope you will join us again.
Sincerely,
Jennifer Johnson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, MA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Wevstayed here for 5 nights on points and really enjoyed our stay. The friendly service was great. The complimentary breakfast was a step or two above a Springhill suites. It varied daily icluding hot cold, fruit etc. The lady in charge of breakfast truly understands and epitomizes customer service. She's a keeper. The rooms are showing their age but always clean. Two pools and a hot tub were just the right size and temp. There is no self parking but the valet guys and gals were great. The hotel is in a quiet area of Pompano so you can't really walk anywhere. I recommend this hotel

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shem01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
shem01,
Thank you for your review. We're glad you stayed with us at Residence Inn. I'm pleased you liked our property, friendly staff, and complimentary breakfast. I hope you had a wonderful and relaxing time in Pompano! Please make plans to visit us again.
Sincerely,
Jennifer Johnson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
137 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Here are my usual pros/cons:

Pros:
- The hotel is right on the beach and most room has full or partial oceanview
- Breakfast is typical or better full breakfast with waffles and a mixture of cold pastries/fruits
- Place is spotless clean with large fridge mini kitchen etc.
- Bathroom is large with separate shower toiler area.

Cons:
- Valet parking is mandatory $20/day
- Beach is your typical large semi crowded Florida beach and not very intimate

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ucipass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
ucipass,
Thank you for your review about your stay with us at Residence Inn. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us, and we're glad to have had you as our guests. I'm pleased you liked our property, breakfast, and suites. I hope you enjoyed your time at the beach as well as your time in Pompano. Please come and visit us again.
Sincerely,
Jennifer Johnson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, CA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I just returned from a stay at this property. To start, this Residence Inn is ON the beach, you walk out the back door and are a short walk to the beach, no streets to cross. For me, that was a big plus. The patio is more than adequate if there are only one or two of you in the room, and I enjoyed being able to see the sunrise and the sunset from there. The room was fine, not the fanciest Residence Inn I've stayed at, but everything was nice, clean, linens were good quality, one bed out of the two was fine (the other a little too hard for me). The TV mounted on the wall is capable of being angled to watch TV from bed, or from the couch in the room.
Housekeeping staff was very quiet, friendly and helpful. The front desk staff was always extremely helpful, friendly and was, by far, one of the most accommodating, nicest of any hotel I've ever stayed at.
The valet staff was always professional, almost all of them were extremely friendly with one exception - and that person was never rude or less than professional, they were just not as outgoing and friendly as the rest of the staff.
Yes, there is renovation going on next door, but nothing loud and it wasn't objectionable. The music from the Tiki Bar next door was loud, obnoxiously so, IF you are on the walkway to your room (outside), but more offensive was the singing which was bad. I doubt you can honestly blame the hotel for the neighbors lack of taste or talent, however. You also can't hear the Tiki Bar in your room, so it wasn't a problem.
The Spa has excellent services at very reasonable rates, I was sorry I wasn't able to take advantage of them.
All in all, one of the nicest hotels in the area that I've stayed, and I am planning on staying there on my next trip to the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sassafrasss393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
sassafrasss393,
Thank you for taking time out of your busy day and writing a review about your stay with us at Residence Inn. We're delighted to hear from you and learn of your pleasant stay with us. I'm glad you enjoyed the wonderful views and beach. It's great to hear, too, that you enjoyed our friendly and professional staff. I hope you'll visit us again and next time relax at The Spa.
Sincerely,
Jennifer Johnson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 4-night stay at the Residence Inn. What a great place! The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Our flight home was delayed because of the weather so we asked for a late check-out on our last day and they said it was no problem.
We had a 2 queen bed studio which was bigger then any hotel room we have ever had anywhere. The studio has a full-size refrigerator, a microwave, a coffeemaker, a 2 burner stove top and a sink. I also noticed a toaster up in the closet with a set of dishes for 4. There is also silverware and a couple cooking pans. The TV is a big-screen and there is a sofa and an easy chair as well as a small table and three chairs. The balcony is small but adequate with 2 chairs and a small table. The bathroom has a tub and a separate shower. There is also free wifi.
The hotel itself has a wonderful (complimentary) breakfast with both hot and cold items. There are 2 pools and a hot tub. There is a small area with 2 computers - we printed off our return boarding passes there.
The hotel is truly oceanfront. To get to the beach you walk out the back of the hotel over a short boardwalk and there you are. You get free towels from the front desk and free lounge chairs on the beach. The cabanas are $19/day and umbrellas are $10/day.
There is a great restaurant called Oceano Bistro in the hotel. We had lunch there the day we arrived and liked the grouper sandwiches so much we had them for dinner the last night we were there.
There is no self parking available - you have to valet park and the cost is $19/day. We had no problem getting our car whenever we needed it - the valet on duty all five days we were there was very sweet. Don't know if there would be a longer wait if the hotel was busier.
The absolute only negatives I could say about this hotel are that the closet is small and only had 3 hangers and the tile floor in the bathroom area gets slippery. You need to put towels down.
I really think this place has all the bases covered. I don't know what else a guest could need. We will definitely return for another visit.

Room Tip: High floor rooms have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retired605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
retired605,
Thank you for your kind review. We're delighted to have had you and your husband stay with us while vacationing to the Pompano Beach area. I'm glad you liked our hotel and enjoyed our spacious, comfortable suites. It's great to hear that this was a nice vacation spot for you and you plan to return. We certainly hope that you do as we look forward to seeing you both again.
Sincerely,
Jennifer A. Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swampscott, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Don't know why they bothered to put beds in the room...they were soooo hard I might as well have slept on the floor. Tiki bar at hotel to the left SO loud at night, then jackhammers at hotel being renovated to the right all during the day = not peaceful. Cannot complain about cleanliness, but the furniture was stained..probably pet stains. Breakfast was fine. Front desk staff rude. Air conditioning unit in locked closet right next to the beds so loud that we had to turn it off. The location and beach are nice, if you can stand the rest of it. We checked out early.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamaboo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
mamaboo2,
Thank you for sharing a review about your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize that we were unable to provide you with the exceptional stay you've come to expect from us. The little details definitely do make a trip and we regret we missed the mark during your trip. Your feedback provides many areas that we can work on in order to improve our guest experience. We appreciate your feedback on these areas and hope you will return and see our improvements. Thank you again.
Sincerely,
Jennifer Johnson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pompano Beach
0.1 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
4.6 mi away
Wyndham Deerfield Beach Resort
Wyndham Deerfield Beach Resort
#1 of 18 in Deerfield Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,283 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Costa Beach Club Resort
La Costa Beach Club Resort
#13 of 36 in Pompano Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort in Pompano Beach, Florida
1.9 mi away
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
#2 of 36 in Pompano Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront

Property: Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront
Address: 1350 North Ocean Boulevard, Pompano Beach, FL 33062 (Formerly Ocean Sands Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pompano Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pompano Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Florida beach vacation awaits you at Residence Inn by Marriott Ft. Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront hotel located directly on the Atlantic Ocean! Experience majestic sunsets from your private balcony in a spacious suite with fully equipped kitchen. Relax by our two sparkling swimming pools. Our Florida beach hotel blends together the best of any Stay-cation by offering stylish accommodations, delectable beachfront dining- - all tied together with genuine hospitality. Our friendly staff is ready to help you experience the best of what you want from your oceanfront stay, whether it's rejuvenating, relaxing or experiencing exciting activities! We're ideally located just minutes to Deerfield Beach, Ft. Lauderdale, Delray Beach and Boca Raton! Among Florida beach hotels, Residence Inn by Marriott Ft. Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront hotel stands above the rest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront Hotel
Ocean Sands Hotel
Ocean Sands Resort Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing