We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, rocky beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We were supposed to stay at this Residence Inn for a week, but decided to check out 2 days earlier and moved to the much better Fort Lauderdale Beach (close from Pompano Beach, but really different). My husband has a Marriott Platinum status and after reading some positive reviews (from guests who received a free upgrade), we thought we would also get an upgrade, but it did not happen, which was our first disappointment. Our room was OK, with just a partial ocean view and one bedroom, pools were nice, though always crowded, breakfast OK too, nothing special. Staff (reception) was nice, valet parking attendants not very friendly, and breakfast staff NOT nice at all. One of the reasons we checked out earlier was because of the rocky beach. We and our kids just did not feel like swimming in the ocean, which we love, not only due to lots of seaweeds but especially because of the impressive amount of rocks. If you are not wearing swimming shoes, you will certainly get your feet hurt or even slip when trying to bathe in the sea. We do not recommend Pompano Beach and are not coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlbaBrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

AlbaBrito,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your family staying with us. Like any other beach area, our beach will exhibit a rocky surface when there is rough current caused by an offshore storm. It is unfortunate that this was the case at the time of your stay. Pompano Beach is absolutely gorgeous and a great travel destination. We invite you to come and stay with us again for a more positive experience.

Regards,
Jennifer Johnson, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

424 - 430 of 591 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

Only stayed for two nights but did like the hotel. Pool nice and spacious. Had to go down a few times to get shampoo and conditioner as it wasn't provided but the man (don't know his name but he had dark hair and stubble) at the front desk was always very helpful. Didn't like the pillows provided, too large for my liking. Also the boiler made a loud noise in the night, found it quite hard to get to sleep because of this but it went after a while. Friendly staff. Advise people if they want to get a seat for breakfast, get there early because it fills up pretty quickly and there were some families who had to wait around for tables. All that being said, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Sandra P,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us on TripAdvisor. We’re glad you chose to stay with us and had a pleasant visit. I appreciate your compliments about our staff as they work hard to service our guests in a friendly, efficient manner. We hope you will return and visit our wonderful hotel and surrounding area.

Regards,
Jennifer Johnson, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We had a great ocean front view. It's right on the water! Comfy beds and a full sized fridge = yay! Ok, so the continental breakfast wasn't fantastic, but everything else was great!
Would definitely recommend it!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AlphaGam70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

AlphaGam70,

Thank you for taking a moment and writing about your stay with us on TripAdvisor. We’re so very pleased to hear you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed our comfy beds, spacious rooms, and ocean views. We appreciate your recommendation to other viewers and hope your comments will be helpful to future travelers. Please come and stay with us again at Residence Inn.

Sincerely,
Jennifer Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I stayed at this hotel while attending my aunt's funeral, actually my family and I had about 5 rooms in total and we all had nothing but good things to say about the hotel. We arrived at different times of the day and and we all got the types of of rooms we requested. The close proximity to the beach was a great distraction for everyone and the hotel's pool and hot tub was also great. My only complaint would be how small the breakfast area was, my family alone could have filled the breakfast area, but being on the beach, we were able to go outside and have breakfast. I would stay with them again if I am ever in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulesKiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

JulesKiran,

Thank you for taking a moment and writing about your stay with us at Residence Inn. We’re pleased that you and your family chose to stay with us, but sorry that it was due to such circumstance as your Aunt’s funeral. If we added to your comfort in any way, we’re grateful. Please come and stay with us again. You are always welcome.

Yours truly,
Jennifer Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Here for a wedding. This room was huge! It's perfect for if you're staying for a couple of days. There is a full size refrigerator and stove. There is also a huge tub that is separate from the shower. The balcony was the cherry on top! The room had an ocean view and it's literally right on the beach! The staff is very friendly!
The only down side is that no rooms have king beds, they are all queen beds. Also, there isn't much to do around the hotel, so you'll need a car. Also, the outside of the rooms could use some work, but once inside the room, it's great!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SARAH D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

SARAH D,

We’re glad to have had you stay with us while in town for your special wedding event. We appreciate your compliments about our facility and staff. We would like to have you stay with us again at Residence Inn.

Sincerely,
Jennifer Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I just recently visited the Pompano Beach Area and I had a wonderful stay in this hotel. The hotel itself was very upscale and a great place for vacation. The pools are great and the view was incredible. Our suite had everything we needed, including a full kitchen and they were very clean and spacious. The staff was professional and helpful, but very down to earth and friendly as well. I have stayed in this hotel in the past, and there were a lot of new improvements that made our stay memorable. We were very impressed and will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the view! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ted R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Ted R,

Thank you for staying with us while visiting the Pompano Beach area. It makes us happy to hear that you and your family had a wonderful stay with us and felt our staff was friendly. We do have amazing views here so I’m sure your posting will inspire others to come and stay with us. Please bring your family again the next time you’re in Pompano Beach.

Sincerely,
Jennifer Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Yes, there are honest hotel workers at the Residence Inn at Pompano Beach--EVELYN. She secured my purse, containing my wallet and cash, and returned it to me intact. Nothing was missing.
This Residence Inn is beachfront with a fully modern kitchen and washer/dryer set. Housekeeping ran the dishwasher daily. Our room had a large shower (separate tub), and tasteful furnishings. The bed was perfect for me. Clean with a full breakfast menu (oatmeal, too). The location was ideal. We went to the beach, casino, racetrack, and lesiure dining. I enjoyed several Spa specials. We drove into Ft. Lauderdale down US1 to see the nice hotels, and shops. We will return to this Residence Inn. Next time we will go deep sea fishing (it rained).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Dear Ja: Thank you for writing a glowing review of our Pompano Beach hotel! I appreciate your commendation of Evelyn, we’ll be sure to recognize her great work. All of your nice feedback showcases some of the best features of our property. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip!

Sincerely,
Jennifer Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pompano Beach
0.1 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort
#4 of 38 in Pompano Beach
641 reviews
3.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Deerfield Beach - Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Costa Beach Club Resort
La Costa Beach Club Resort
#10 of 38 in Pompano Beach
179 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
#3 of 38 in Pompano Beach
1,378 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront

Address: 1350 N Ocean Blvd, Pompano Beach, FL 33062-3423 (Formerly Ocean Sands Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pompano Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pompano Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range: $146 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Florida beach vacation awaits you at Residence Inn by Marriott Ft. Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront hotel located directly on the Atlantic Ocean! Experience majestic sunsets from your private balcony in a spacious suite with fully equipped kitchen. Relax by our two sparkling swimming pools. Our Florida beach hotel blends together the best of any Stay-cation by offering stylish accommodations, delectable beachfront dining- - all tied together with genuine hospitality. Our friendly staff is ready to help you experience the best of what you want from your oceanfront stay, whether it's rejuvenating, relaxing or experiencing exciting activities! We're ideally located just minutes to Deerfield Beach, Ft. Lauderdale, Delray Beach and Boca Raton! Among Florida beach hotels, Residence Inn by Marriott Ft. Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront hotel stands above the rest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront Hotel
Ocean Sands Hotel
Ocean Sands Resort Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing