We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can find better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You can find better”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed from 12/29/2011-01/5/2012
Not the Marriott I used to know

Pros:
The room (9th floor) was spacious, with large windows and nice view. Close to downtown, but you need a car. Nearby small Mall. Direct access to the beach.

Cons:
The service was average. Small Swimming Pool. Scarcity of towels. The breakfast is average. The elevators tend to break down frequently. No activity for kids.

If I have to go back, I would book a room in one of the hotels near Las Olas.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ezzine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, Director of Hotel Operations at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 18, 2016
I do apologize that your previous stay with us wasn't an amazing one. We'd love to make it up to you and have your next stay with us as near to perfection as it can be. The Residence Inn Pompano Beach is wrapping up an extensive renovation project in early 2017 and the hotel is even more amazing than before. If you return to the area, please consider us your "newest" home away from home in the Pompano Beach/Fort Lauderdale area. We'd love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    193
    68
    30
    40
See reviews for
278
128
22
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northeast Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

On the ocean with the beach at your back door. Rooms are unique to the Residence Inn brand as this was formerly a privately owned health & fitness resort recently taken over by Marriott. The front desk staff, Kathy & Gilbert, are outstanding in customer consciousness and their efforts to make their guests happy. A noticeable problem was the shortage of staff: many guests had long waits for rooms after check in time because rooms weren't ready, housekeeping was sub-par for a Marriott in our room and from numerous complaints that we overheard, our room was short on supplies and towels, and pool towels were scarcely available. During our week's stay the breakfast service was spotty (probably due to short staff as the management and front desk personnel often had to help with service), coffee was always running out, and on several days the food selections and condiments were either completely missing or were extremely limited. Has the potential to be one of the best of the Residence Inn brand if the back room problems can be corrected.

Room Tip: Rooms above the 5th floor and ending in 08, 09, 10, 11 & 12 offer the best ocean views. Some gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, Director of Hotel Operations at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 18, 2016
I do apologize that your previous stay with us wasn't an amazing one. We'd love to make it up to you and have your next stay with us as near to perfection as it can be. The Residence Inn Pompano Beach is wrapping up an extensive renovation project in early 2017 and the hotel is even more amazing than before. If you return to the area, please consider us your "newest" home away from home in the Pompano Beach/Fort Lauderdale area. We'd love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport,ct.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Spent the CHRISTMAS HOLIDAYS here with my Family. Lovely Marriott Resort property on the ocean that is Family Oriented and self contained----- Spa, Large Fitness center, restaurant on site, Spacious rooms(full kitchen) with wonderful sea views from the balcony,wholesome complimentary buffet breakfast with a full array of food including eggs , cereal,waffles , yogurt, juices, and very good coffee, complimentary newspaper,private beach with complimentary towels and beach chairs/loungers, rental equipment such as jet skis, para sailing,two pools and a hotub, large fitness center with a variety of equipment, efficient valet parking (daily fee) and good location as between Ft Lauderdale and Boca Raton.Enjoyed morning strolling with my 9 month grandson on Pomapno Beach sidewalks parralleing the ocean and the large pier extending out to the ocean.Thanks to the general manager Malverne Williamson and Ida/Kristy at the front desk for their assistance in making this one of the best holidays that my Family experienced!

Room Tip: higher floors with rooms closer to the ocean side for sea views e.g. room numbers ending in the hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bragh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, Director of Hotel Operations at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 18, 2016
The Residence Inn Pompano Beach is wrapping up an extensive renovation project in early 2017 and the hotel is even more amazing than before. If you return to the area, please consider us your "newest" home away from home in the Pompano Beach/Fort Lauderdale area. We'd love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

This was the standard high quality Residence Inn experience that business travelers appreciate. The hotel is a bit dated and motel style with the room doors opening out onto an open air walkway. Everything was well maintained, however. The room was comfortable and with my high floor (7th) I didn't hear any street noise. I had expected to have problems sleeping when I saw the motel style design but my room was very quiet. A higher floor with a higher room number in the last two digits puts your room closer to the beach for a better view.

The valet parking was not really necessary when I was there since the hotel was not full and a bit of a pain to have to tip every time you get your car. The beach front location was really nice but recent storms had made the beaches full of sea weed and floatsam, but this of course is not Marriott's fault.

Breakfast was good, though Residence Inn has the same terrible coffee wherever you go. It was over a mile to the nearest Dunkin Donuts. Unlike other Residence Inns this one did not have round the clock free coffee and tea in the lobby. They also did not clearly mark where the manager's evening reception was held. It is usually in the breakfast area in most Residence Inns but I could not find it in this one even though it was clearly on the schedule. This was a disappointment since it is usually a good light meal with a nice cold beer, which is an extra good value.

A good stay with excellent Marriott quality. They honored federal government per diem rates, which I appreciated.

Room Tip: If you ask for a room on a higher floor (7th and up) with a higher number in the last two digits you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancisUrquhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, Director of Hotel Operations at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 18, 2016
I do apologize that your previous stay with us wasn't an amazing one. We'd love to make it up to you and have your next stay with us as near to perfection as it can be. The Residence Inn Pompano Beach is wrapping up an extensive renovation project in early 2017 and the hotel is even more amazing than before. If you return to the area, please consider us your "newest" home away from home in the Pompano Beach/Fort Lauderdale area. We'd love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Stayed three nights at the Residence Inn and had a wonderful visit. Gilbert greeted us kindly when we arrived and the entire staff was accommodating and friendly. Valet car service, on the ocean with a restaurant, spa and gym right on premises. Conveniently located between Ft. Lauderdale and Boca Raton. Most rooms have an ocean view and the comfort and cleanliness is second to none. Though the property is clearly older, the upkeep makes it worth a visit. Full kitchen and other amenities for a traveling family make it a great choice.

Room Tip: Ask for the south facing side for maximum sun on your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David4advice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, Director of Hotel Operations at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 18, 2016
The Residence Inn Pompano Beach is wrapping up an extensive renovation project in early 2017 and the hotel is even more amazing than before. If you return to the area, please consider us your "newest" home away from home in the Pompano Beach/Fort Lauderdale area. We'd love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

The good:
-Beachfront so good location
-Large rooms and nicely laid out
-Friendly staff
-Large fitness center

The not as good:
-Must drive a long way to get decent (Starbucks quality) coffee
-Breakfast is Ok but nothing special
-Fitness center equipment is old and rickety (rusted out - broken)
-Must pay daily for parking

Overall, it's a pretty good place but has a few minor issues.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Netedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, Director of Hotel Operatins at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 18, 2016
I do apologize that your previous stay with us wasn't an amazing one. We'd love to make it up to you and have your next stay with us as near to perfection as it can be. The Residence Inn Pompano Beach is wrapping up an extensive renovation project in early 2017 and the hotel is even more amazing than before. If you return to the area, please consider us your "newest" home away from home in the Pompano Beach/Fort Lauderdale area. We'd love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, PA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

My experience in extended stay properties is pretty limited, but I must say, this property is really nice! The rooms are very spacious, generous even, and the staff here has been nothing but nice.

The pool is nice, the internet is free, and the breakfast and lounge are nice. The food is lackluster, but I wasn't really expecting much. (Here's a tip from a road warrior...don't eat in the hotels - there is a world of choice out there!)

Overall, I would highly recommend this property!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, Director of Hotel Operations at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 18, 2016
The Residence Inn Pompano Beach is wrapping up an extensive renovation project in early 2017 and the hotel is even more amazing than before. If you return to the area, please consider us your "newest" home away from home in the Pompano Beach/Fort Lauderdale area. We'd love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pompano Beach
0.1 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
3.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Deerfield Beach - Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort
#4 of 38 in Pompano Beach
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Costa Beach Club Resort
La Costa Beach Club Resort
#10 of 38 in Pompano Beach
176 reviews
4.6 mi away
Wyndham Deerfield Beach Resort
Wyndham Deerfield Beach Resort
#1 of 18 in Deerfield Beach
2,403 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
#3 of 38 in Pompano Beach
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront

Property: Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront
Address: 1350 N Ocean Blvd, Pompano Beach, FL 33062-3423 (Formerly Ocean Sands Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pompano Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pompano Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Florida beach vacation awaits you at Residence Inn by Marriott Ft. Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront hotel located directly on the Atlantic Ocean! Experience majestic sunsets from your private balcony in a spacious suite with fully equipped kitchen. Relax by our two sparkling swimming pools. Our Florida beach hotel blends together the best of any Stay-cation by offering stylish accommodations, delectable beachfront dining- - all tied together with genuine hospitality. Our friendly staff is ready to help you experience the best of what you want from your oceanfront stay, whether it's rejuvenating, relaxing or experiencing exciting activities! We're ideally located just minutes to Deerfield Beach, Ft. Lauderdale, Delray Beach and Boca Raton! Among Florida beach hotels, Residence Inn by Marriott Ft. Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront hotel stands above the rest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront Hotel
Ocean Sands Hotel
Ocean Sands Resort Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing