We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, excellent service, lousy room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing location, excellent service, lousy room”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The location was unbeatable, on the beach and easy to use. The staff were excellent. The room was terrible. The furniture was old and ready for the dumpster, the bed was not very comfortable. The kitchen had everything you needed but the plates and utensils were all in a plastic container on the floor and very unappetizing. looked like a collection from a garage sale. nothing matched. No windows would open, all sealed shut. For a room charging $125, not worth it. Unless they totally change the furniture and update, we will not go back.

Room Tip: check out the room before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoTravel_Right
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kkaram, Owner at Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your comments. It is a fact that every business can benefit from good and not so good reviews. If we learn from them, we have achieved more success. Please let me say the following:
1) Some of my beds are softer than others. In fact, as many people prefer soft as firm. It is hard to please everyone, but in the future, please let know which firmness you will need and I will personally make sure it gets done.
2) My furniture cannot go in the dumpster ever. I buy furniture to keep forever, therefore I buy only well built, able to take sand and water type furniture. Perhaps you could remind me what look of furniture you would like and I will make sure you have it when you arrive, as most of the rooms are unique. All my guests can suggest any of these things to me and I will bend over backwards to accommodate them.
Thank you for recognizing the location, as this is very unique. There are a lot of hotels on the beach in Florida, but it is rare to find a public beach basically there for the guests of the Ebb Tide. Entertaining us with surfers, walkers, kitesurfing, etc……….. and energy galore. Click on my live webcam on my website and see for yourself. It is our pleasure to share this view with everyone who chooses to come. We will take care of you as our very special friend. You have my guarantee! Kindly, Karen Karam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    173
    41
    15
    15
See reviews for
246
204
42
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We spent a long weekend at Ebb Tide, and it was like a little slice of heaven! The grounds are very well kept, the rooms are super clean, and the management is very friendly, helpful and knowledgable. If you choose to just hang out and relax...this is the place to be. The sparkling pool is a very quiet and laid back place to just chill, and the beach is just steps away. Nothing quite like getting up early in the morning and taking a dip in the ocean! There are plenty of excellent restaurants within walking distance, and a funky little pub is right around the corner. We will definitely be re-visiting this little gem!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weekendwarriors0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chillicothe, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

You cannot ask for a better location than this! Our room was ocean front & clean, the service was great. Who needs to stay at a chain hotel when you can stay at the Ebb Tide. We will be back and suggest this property to friends that are staying in South Florida.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparklecats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I have to say that South Florida is full of "resort" type properties, but this one truly is. I just can't say anything bad about my stay and sure part of it was the beautiful beach. The difference is that the rest of the facility matches the beauty of the beach.

Room Tip: Just talk to reception and they help plan your experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed just one night in September 2012. Our room was Ocean 30. The room was right on the ocean. The rooms are clean and the grounds are well kept. We are often leery of staying at small beach front resorts because the conditions can very so variable. I am confident that this resort is well run and the maintenance and upkeep are a priority. Make no mistake, this is not a large chain resort. It is a 50's resort that has been kept up well. It is not luxurious. It is clean, pleasant and just a nice place to stay. The pool is a basic rectangle, but clean and refreshing. Our unit had a kitchenette, a real bonus if you are staying for more than one night. There are grills on the ground for use. It would be great to cook nice dinners and eat overlooking the ocean. Most rooms seem to have a small table outside the room dedicated to the room. The upper level rooms had an elevated patio that looks great for eating overlooking the ocean. The location of this resort is excellent. The Walgreens is right there, a couple restaurants and a liquor store. What more do you need? We will be looking for another opportunity to go back and will tell friends and family to try it out instead of going to chain.

Room Tip: Look at the pictures on the website. Each is unique. The upper level ones have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachTravelerMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at the ebbtide the end of May and once again had a great stay! We have been staying there now since 2007. This trip we brought friends who had an awesome time as well! The resort location is great....right on the beach, next to shopping, food and of course the awesome Briny Pub just over the street...Karen and her staff are excellent, very accommodating and hospitable. We could travel anywhere in the world...but nothing beats the comfort and friendliness we are shown at the Ebbtide. We are already booked to go again in November for a week and we can't wait!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloriawhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Thank you once again for a fantastic time.
I will never stay anywhere else in Florida
3 kids to stay with when I visit but I'll always end up back here.
The grounds are beautiful. Right on the beach.
Rooms and grounds are spotless.
Susan the manager is incredible to deal with a fantastic person.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stomp43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pompano Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Coral Tides Resort and Beach Club
Coral Tides Resort and Beach Clu...
#21 of 38 in Pompano Beach
65 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pelican By The Sea Motel
Pelican By The Sea Motel
#11 of 38 in Pompano Beach
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
#3 of 38 in Pompano Beach
1,343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach
1.4 mi away
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort

Property: Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort
Address: 312 Briny Ave, Pompano Beach, FL 33062-5804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pompano Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pompano Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a heated fresh water pool and thatched tiki huts, our amenities provide you with ample areas, public or private to enjoy the beautiful south Florida atmosphere. Ebb Tide Resort is located on a beautiful pristine 200 feet of one of the most beautiful sandy beaches in the world. Centrally located to shopping, sporting activities and world renowned south Florida attractions, the resort is also walking distance to food stores, pharmacies, and some of the finest restaurants and pubs. Stay with us in our lovely boutique style resort and feel the ocean breezes. Let the Ebb Tide Resort be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort In Pompano Beach, Florida Hotel Pompano Beach
Ebb Tide Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing