We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Surf Rider Resort
Nearby Hotels
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachcomber Resort and Villas(Pompano Beach)(Great Value!)
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Palms On Ocean(Pompano Beach)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Steps Suites(Pompano Beach)(Great Value!)
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shores Resort(Pompano Beach)(Great Value!)
$99
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort(Pompano Beach)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Cove Motel(Pompano Beach)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Horse Motel(Pompano Beach)(Great Value!)
$85
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveler rating
22
29
14
3
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
29
14
3
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmurphy bedhalf bathwalk in closetliving roomnice stayacross the streetone bedroom unitrent beach chairsfront deskdressing areacleaned dailynice patiogreat poolgood sizehot tubfirst floorwasher dryer
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 76 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We've been staying at the comfortable, 50 unit Surf Rider Resort, actually in Lauderdale- By-The Sea, for the last several Februarys and couldn't be happier. First, the location is perfect with beach access across the street and just a short drive or walk to shopping, restaurants etc. The resort has a very large, heated pool with lots of lounges and is surrounded on three sides, so on a cool, breezy days you are comfortable sitting out and on a warmer day the beautiful, un-crowded beach is steps away. The grounds are beautifully kept with an large outdoor BBQ and some 1st floor units have patios. Howard & Amanda at the front desk are very friendly & helpful and will book excursions for you & and there are weekly activities where all are welcome. The resort has been renovated this Fall with all new furniture, bedroom carpeting and draperies and the kitchen was redone just a few years ago. A washer/dryer in each unit and 1 & 1/2 bath is a great addition, as is the very thick and comfortable queen sized Murphy bed in the LR. Our 1 BR unit has a fully stocked kitchen with dishwasher & garbage disposal. Renting at Surf Rider is a great value as compared to other large, high end resorts.

Room Tip: There is an elevator in this 3 fl resort, but some 1st floor units have patios and coming and going is very convenient.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank yearounders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We have been going to this resort for almost 10 years. The Surf Rider has clean , comfortable accomodation and the pool is the best! The recent renovations have made a big difference-especially the kitchen! Always great to use the spotless BBQ which is cleaned daily. The resort is just across the street from the beach and close to shopping and entertainment venues. The front desk is very helpful. Howard has been there for many years and only he could get parents, grandparents and children to their cruise port without a hitch. He did it all!

If you are looking for clean , comfortable family friendly accomodation, this is the place!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Petra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Let me start off by saying two things: 1) My parents have owned a timeshare here for 25 years, so I cannot review the dollar value/rental cost and 2) if you are looking for an upscale, 5-star, glam hotel to rest your head, this is not the place.

Having said all that, my husband and I just spent a week in the timeshare unit and we had a blast. Check-in was quick and easy, and the staff was very helpful and pleasant. We had a one bedroom unit with a Murphy bed in the living room, so it sleeps 4 total. In 25 years, the upholstery on the furniture and the bedspread have not been changed - cleaned, for sure, but not updated. They might want to get on that. Outside of that, everything else is pretty updated: flat screen tv's in both living room and bedroom, tile floors, dishwasher, microwave, etc. The thing I love about timeshares is that you can "move-in" and be at home for the week. Everything is provided from cookware to bed linens. We knew we didn't want to spend a lot of money eating out, so the first stop after check-in was to the Publix just down the street...and the liquor store of course. Great food & wine selections. We cooked most of our meals in, though we did grill on the bbq out by the pool a couple of days. As I said, we weren't looking to spend a whole lot of money eating out, so it worked out perfectly for us.

Directly across the street is a private beach to which all guests have access...it's a little hidden path in between the buildings, but once you go through you end up on a beautiful beach that never seemed to be crowded no matter what time we went. I had forgotten that the water is still a bit turquoise around these parts, so it made for a lovely view. When we weren't at the beach, we were at the pool, which is a pretty good size, and also never seemed to be that crowded.

Surf Rider is about a 5 minute drive from the Ft. Lauderdale area, 45 minutes to Miami, and about 4 hrs from Key West. We didn't hit Miami this time around, but we made the drive to Key West for a day trip and it was totally worth it! If you want to stay local, there are a bunch of restaurants, museums, and shops in a 10 mile radius that should keep you occupied. Though there are buses that run right by the resort, if you can swing a rental car, you will be better off and glad you did.

Overall, we had a great time. It served our purposes just fine and we're already making plans for next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank GypsyButterfly79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This unit #115 was exchanged for another time share week. The ratan furniture was "tired" and could use updating. The tile floors were great ! The carpet was old and really needed to be replaced. Our unit had 1 BR, Murphy bed and 1 1/2 baths with a full kitchen and lots of accessories. It was a great location for me and the kids. We mostly just slept there and the beds were comfortable. The courtyard and pool were really nice. It looks like they were beginning to renovate the building so far mostly on the outside. Across the street was a private enterance to the beach..nice! The location was good close to Lauderdale by the Sea with lots of things to do in the area.
I must say that "Howard" the front desk / concierge was "awsome". Howard assisted with age appropriate places for the kids and hot spots in the area. Having kids of his own he was very knowledgable of what to do and went over above and beyond to make sure all our needs were met. (There were many!) "Howie your the best"! Customer service that can't be beat !!! I have to thank John too for helping the kids open the coconuts..the hard way!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 2013Marianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

we stayed for a week, private access to beach across the street, clean room (one bedroom) dated decor, but renovated, tiles from entrance, kitchen, living room and bathroom, furnished kitchen with dishwasher, toaster blender. big pool, nice staff, welcome breakfast free Tuesday, free hotdogs Wednesday. the only downside is the bedroom and walk in closet has carpet, and bedroom smell, water damage on the side of the floor in the walkin closet, but other than that had a good stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jules k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews