We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good Value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Rider Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surf Rider Resort
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This resort was recommended as a timeshare exchange. I was skeptical of the resort from previous reviews and turned out to be pleasantly surprised. The property was well located in Lauderdale-by-the-Sea in the midst of many newer flashier properities. Though this resort was a bit dated by design, it was very clean and adequate for our needs. At half the cost of beach-zone exchanges, it was a good value. It is a urban setting so if you are expecting a pristine, high class environment you might want to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: ask for a ground floor unit if you dont want to haul luggage up the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vlegore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    20
    13
    2
    7
See reviews for
31
13
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The resort has an olympic size pool. The manager is very nice and helpful. All of the staff wanted our stay to be pleasant. The people staying there are also very friendly. They had pot luck dinners once a week and it was very good. I would recommend anyone to stay there and enjoy south Florida. It is also right across the street from the ocean. The buildings had been freshly painted and the rooms are being remodeled. The quiet atmosphere is also great. Don't miss a chance to enjoy this resort.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north offer more sun. All of the rooms are large. A/C is available in all units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerald2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We have stayed at this place for 20 years. It hasn't changed a bit (though I think they are getting new furniture is most of the rooms sometime this year 2013). It has always been very clean. The units are a good size with a half bath in the main living area and a full bathroom with bathtub/shower in the master bedroom area. There is a small yet perfectly usable kitchen stocked with everything you would need except the food. The Pool area is quite large with a hot tub. The staff is very nice and helpful. They do a once a week towel exchange (on Wednesdays). There is no daily maid service. There are no services on site...like a restaurant or bar. It is also located directly across the street from the beach. Its 5 minutes walk at the most. The beach is very nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brooke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

So first of all it is NOT in Pompano Beach, it is in Lauderdale By The Sea. What's the difference? We saw three arrests happening in the nearby low rent hovels on the main drag in the first 36 hours we were there.

RCI does it again! The building itself looks like a cheap Motel. Once you drag your bags up the stairs (no elevators), and get in the room, it's not bad. The employees were nice enough. The room itself is large and clean. There was one and one-half baths, that was nice. The kitchen was okay, and it was stocked well enough I guess.

However, once you lay on the bed, you're world changes. It was the hardest bed I have ever been on. In fact the floor was more comfortable. That's where my wife spent her 2nd and 3rd nights.

The kitchen was riddled with ants. Little tiny ants. You have enough towels for two, but no more. There is a towel exchange on Wednesdays from 10 am to 12 pm. The pool and hot tub were fine.

The timeshare presentation at the pool, which I did not attend, but heard clearly through my windows, was about as low budget as you get, but at least it was only one one day and no one hassled us by phone or notes to buy their timeshares. They were $1000.00 if that's any indication of the level of comfort we're talking about.

Anyway, we relocated to the Marriot midweek. Finally we got a decent sleep. Lauderdale by the Sea has nothing to offer. Pompano is not much better. In fact we're done with Ft. Lauderdale all together. It was nice while it lasted, but is seems to have gone down hill over the years. Los Olas BLVD is still awesome as is their restaurants. Singer Island anyone?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elmcitytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pompano Beach hotels

Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Our one bedroom unit was large, easily could accommodate 4 adults, since there was a drop down (Murphy) bed in the large living room, and a full bath plus half bath. The bed was queen size and comfortable. Kitchen equipment was high quality. The pool was quite large and clean. It seemed to be heated, although in late October, I wished it were a little warmer in the mornings.

Howard, the front desk person, was very helpful to us and definitely wanted to help in any way he could.

I would recommend this resort for those who want a comfortable place to stay while exploring the area. This is not a fancy or high energy place, but suited us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1939MidwestLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

RCI approved-kind of makes me question RCI's guidelines! Hotel was out dated, basic and dingy!
It was a sad looking hotel and the room although spacious needed major updates!! It was so outdated that I felt I went back in time reminding me when I vacationed with my parents as a young teenager 25 years ago!!!! Beach was across a busy street- needing to walk through an uncomfortable long path between buildings leading to an isolated area which is the beach.
We purposly stayed as minimal as possible in the room due to its depressing state. A few positive points would be that we slept well in good thick and sturdy mattresses including the Murphy bed. Washer and dryer in room were a plus (although we had to pay 1,50$ per usage each) it was well worth it. The hotel had an elevator which made it easier to lug heavier items. Its pool was big and quite clean. The loumge chairs and tables were plentiful and in real good condition. A BBQ area was provided as well as an ice machine. Nice basic intimate touches.

Room Tip: Wherever your room is situated, the view is blah. There is nothing beautiful to see except for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TerriF41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Very good resort, clean and close to the beach. Howard is still the main man but every person in the staff is always ready to help.

Room Tip: There are rooms with good balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carlosarbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pompano Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort in Pompano Beach, Florida
2.4 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
La Costa Beach Club Resort
La Costa Beach Club Resort
#14 of 37 in Pompano Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
#3 of 37 in Pompano Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,196 reviews
2.0 mi away
Wyndham Sea Gardens
Wyndham Sea Gardens
#15 of 37 in Pompano Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 586 reviews
0.9 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#13 of 37 in Pompano Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Rider Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Rider Resort

Property: Surf Rider Resort
Address: 1441 S Ocean Blvd, Pompano Beach, FL 33062-7305
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Pompano Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Surf Rider Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Rider Resort By Evrentals Hotel Pompano Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing