We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Comfortable, clean, large rooms.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surf Rider Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surf Rider Resort
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean, large rooms.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Our one bedroom unit was large, easily could accommodate 4 adults, since there was a drop down (Murphy) bed in the large living room, and a full bath plus half bath. The bed was queen size and comfortable. Kitchen equipment was high quality. The pool was quite large and clean. It seemed to be heated, although in late October, I wished it were a little warmer in the mornings.

Howard, the front desk person, was very helpful to us and definitely wanted to help in any way he could.

I would recommend this resort for those who want a comfortable place to stay while exploring the area. This is not a fancy or high energy place, but suited us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1939MidwestLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    21
    13
    2
    7
See reviews for
31
13
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

RCI approved-kind of makes me question RCI's guidelines! Hotel was out dated, basic and dingy!
It was a sad looking hotel and the room although spacious needed major updates!! It was so outdated that I felt I went back in time reminding me when I vacationed with my parents as a young teenager 25 years ago!!!! Beach was across a busy street- needing to walk through an uncomfortable long path between buildings leading to an isolated area which is the beach.
We purposly stayed as minimal as possible in the room due to its depressing state. A few positive points would be that we slept well in good thick and sturdy mattresses including the Murphy bed. Washer and dryer in room were a plus (although we had to pay 1,50$ per usage each) it was well worth it. The hotel had an elevator which made it easier to lug heavier items. Its pool was big and quite clean. The loumge chairs and tables were plentiful and in real good condition. A BBQ area was provided as well as an ice machine. Nice basic intimate touches.

Room Tip: Wherever your room is situated, the view is blah. There is nothing beautiful to see except for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TerriF41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pompano Beach hotels

Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

Very good resort, clean and close to the beach. Howard is still the main man but every person in the staff is always ready to help.

Room Tip: There are rooms with good balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carlosarbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgis, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

We used points to stay at this resort during spring break. Check in was quick and easy. We had a 1 bedroom on the 3rd floor that opened to the parking lot. The unit was nice and large and gave our family lots of room to move around including our two teenagers (boy 16 and girl 14). One and a half baths were very helpful. Unit included a master bedroom and a hide-a-bed in living room. Although the hide-a-bed was technically big enough for both teenagers, they felt more comfortable with one sleeping the couch. The unit was very clean and well furnished. The only problem we had all week was the blow dryer quit working towards the end of the week. The front desk was told, but it wasn't replaced while we were there. The resort does have wi-fi, but the signal was a little slow at times and sometimes was hit or miss. Pool is very large and clean and shuffleboard courts were used quite often. The beach is a short walk across the road and was fairly clean and quiet. There is not a lot within walking distance of the resort, but quite a bit to do within a mile or so either way (Atlantic Ave. to the north and Commercial Ave. to the South). Staff was pleasant and helpful and checkout was a breeze. All in all a nice relaxing week at a resort that is very nice. I almost downgraded the resort to very good because of the wi-fi issue, but decided that in the overall scheme of things it was a fairly minor problem.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank coachvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

A family trip using our time share exchange. Pool has a god zise and it is clean. Access to the beach is OK usinga path between two towers. A Code for the door's path is given during check-in.
We got two bethroons 1 1/2 bathrooms.with laundry inside (need coins?).
Major problem was with cable tv signal. No signal (in our apartment only) for two days until a helpful guy came monday.
A disgusting note warning a $40 penalty if you do not check-out by 10 am.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank marqluisdMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

The apartment was well equipped and roomy. The whole site was clean & staff were helpful. The beach is just across the road with clean white sand.
There is a bus service goes past but a car is better as nothing close by. They do not have a restaurant on site. Ft Lauderdale by the Sea is about a mile & a half away with plenty of places to eat.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Smartmart1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

I stayed here May 7-14 with some friends. We are all young guys in our teens/early 20s. For us, this place was perfect because it was a basic resort and we got a cheap rate through my grandparent's timeshare. The beach access is very convenient being right across the street. Also, there is a bus stop right in front of the resort, which was helpful for us since my brother took our car with him to the Keys for a few days. This resort has a very nice pool with an 8-9' deep end (nice!) and it has 2 shuffleboard courts and a tennis court. We had a one bedroom condo and it was extremely roomy. Even with the murphy bed down, there was still plenty of room to move around, and we fit a full size air mattress on the bedroom floor without a problem. The murphy bed is a very nice feature. The staff was super friendly. What we didn't like was that the whole living room has a tile floor. Also, everything inside seems outdated. But since we were a group of young guys, we weren't looking for frills so it wasn't a big deal! They did not have wi-fi at this resort. Also, we killed 10 cockroaches in our room during our week at this resort - not a big deal to us (this IS in south Florida!), but some people might have a problem with this. Also, our room did not have a patio. Only a few rooms had patios or balconies. Despite the negatives, everyone staying at the resort seemed to be having a great time hanging out at the pool! We definitely enjoyed our stay! I would recommend this resort to anyone who is looking for a cheap vacation with no frills. The pool and beach are nice and if you are like me, you will spend most of your time there anyway. And definitely take a day trip to go snorkeling at John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park in Key Largo!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sal42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pompano Beach
2.5 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort in Pompano Beach, Florida
2.5 mi away
Ocean Manor Resort Hotel
Ocean Manor Resort Hotel
#26 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
#2 of 36 in Pompano Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
0.9 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#15 of 36 in Pompano Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
2.0 mi away
Wyndham Sea Gardens
Wyndham Sea Gardens
#16 of 36 in Pompano Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Rider Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Rider Resort

Property: Surf Rider Resort
Address: 1441 S Ocean Blvd, Pompano Beach, FL 33062
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Pompano Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Surf Rider Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Surf Rider Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Rider Resort By Evrentals Hotel Pompano Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing